Samsung Austin Semiconductor

  www.samsung.com
  www.samsung.com

Samsung Austin Semiconductor Reviews in Austin, TX

Updated December 13, 2014
Updated December 13, 2014
242 Reviews
2.7
242 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Youngwook ("YW") Park
14 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • This company provides opportunities to learn and grow and it has great pay and benefits (in 19 reviews)

  • Good Benefits and it takes a lot of mistakes to get terminated if you are well-liked by management (in 26 reviews)


Cons
  • Work/Life balance is a challenge in certain departments and areas (in 37 reviews)

  • Groups can become short staffed which means you will be working long hours until positions are filled (in 22 reviews)

More Highlights

190 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Stay on the good side of management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Training Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Training Coordinator in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    fast paced, good money, hard work

    Cons

    If your on the bad side of your supervisor, they will find a reason to let you go

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Samsung Austin Semiconductor Response

    Nov 24, 2014Talent Acquisition Leader

    We are glad to hear that you enjoy the fast-pace, good money and hard work at SAS! We are working on and hope that you can develop more open communication and trust with your supervisor. We value ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Puppet Master Meets His End !

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good $. and that's why I cant leave, yet.
    Great Tools

    Cons

    Long Hours No Work Life Balance.
    Poor Culture

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Last year You got rid of the Puppets this year the Puppet Master

    Thank you for a great Present !

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    Great company to build a detail hands on experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Provide an opportunity to learn real stuff with hardwork.
    Over time compensation is reasonable.
    Will be huge foundation for your engineering career.

    Cons

    Leadership change too frequently.
    Too much dependency on mother company.
    Work life balance is not guaranteed.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    NA

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Samsung Austin Semiconductor Response

    Nov 24, 2014Talent Acquisition Leader

    Thank you for your time and service at SAS. We are sad that you have taken your engineering career elsewhere. You are right to point out that this operation provides good hard work with real ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    If you are Human, Run away.......

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Equipment Engineer in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Equipment Engineer in Austin, TX

    I worked at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Clean, beautiful campus. Subsidized cafeteria. Gym. Austin.

    Cons

    Micromanaged by Korean Uber Gods. If you are US native your voice does'nt matter. Advice, if you are young out of college....do NOT be lured by these people.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Sever L10/11/12/13/14/15/16 S1. Let SAS succeed based on TRUE merit. Copy exact is unrealistic. US innovation is the future.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Falling Quickly

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great health benefits. Good quarterly bonuses. Great location to Austin.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations from management. Quantity is always over quality no matter what they preach. Very small pay raises between promotions. Very few promotions. One promotion about every 4 - 6 years if you are lucky. Very unorganized & constant changes to maintenance procedures. Undefined rolls for team members which management fails to address. High turnover rate of team members both engineering & maintenance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fix all of the above cons or your ratings will continue to plummet.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Samsung Austin Semiconductor Response

    Nov 24, 2014Talent Acquisition Leader

    We have had a challenging year, introducing new technology that will change the way people use their mobile devices. Your profile shows you as a current employee and we hope you stick it out with us ... More

  7.  

    Cutting edge, fast pace, great benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineering in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineering in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    One of the front runners in the semiconductor industry! Fast pace allows us to compete in a tough global market. Benefits are out of this world! Engineering teams have a lot of great minds working for them.

    Cons

    Many decisions about our production mix are made overseas and they vary frequently. Difficult to maintain momentum in any direction when the priorities keep changing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Salaries are a little low to compete with other technical industries within the Austin area.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Samsung Austin Semiconductor Response

    Nov 24, 2014Talent Acquisition Leader

    Thank you for your enthusiasm and dedication!

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    Process technician

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, starting pay. Shift differentials for night and off shifts. Compressed work week. PTO is ample and available. OT options.

    Cons

    industry conditions are cyclical, currently resulting in little money to spread to personnel.
    Very little advancement even for high performers due to annual review structure. This is standard in the industry and it is customary to move between companies in order to obtain pay raises. No acknowledgement or reward for loyalty or performance.
    Intense task saturation in some areas of the process. Like being an Air Traffic Controller with the recognition of a fry cook.
    Consequence, rather than praise-driven environment. "Do a million things right, do one one wrong you're gone"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    more 24 hour amenities for a 24 hour operation
    more personnel support
    provide more frequent opportunities to advance.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 5 people found this helpful  

    it's brutal

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer I in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineer I in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Really I don't know. There's a cafeteria and gym, sure that's something. Then there's all these company-wide initiatives that never trickle down to the average employee. Most hardworking individuals never are allowed the time to partake in. PR really, you create so many events to do but people want to go home to their families, not come in on their one day off to clean up a park.

    Cons

    Lateral movements discouraged.
    Performance review forces bell curve and you may one day undeservingly be on the chopping block.
    Work never ends.
    No recognition for a job well done.
    No acknowledgement from senior management.
    There are groups that get away with much goofing off with very little responbility.
    Some departments are always left cleaning up someone else's mess.
    The job is only about one thing: firefighting; that is dropping whatever you're doing and doing the next thing immediately and working over time until it's done so it can happen again next week.
    You'll be paged all hours day or night.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop posting fake 4&5 star reviews, you are only making things worse. Sept 20, 2014 review by "CMP eng tech" is fake.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    It's been great!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Samsung Austin Semiconductor full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    As many have mentioned, pay, bonuses, benefits (health insurance, 401k, etc.) are all excellent. On site gym and cafeteria $$$ to spend to buy your lunch is good too. The community invovlement that the organization has is important to me, and I have enjoyed helping out where I can. They started a womens group this year too, where the women of Samsung can get together and network and talk which has been great.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is a challenge in certain departments and areas. People work long hours. But most everyone can take PTO when needed or wanted. I have concerns over management in my area....new manager does not know how to manage people. Was a good engineer, but bad manager.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Train your managers earlier - maybe before they become managers. Communicate better to those of us on the floor...we want to know what is going on.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Samsung is a great company to work for . The only thing I was not satisfied with was the lay off from battling Apple

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - CMP Equipment Engineering Tech in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - CMP Equipment Engineering Tech in Austin, TX

    I worked at Samsung Austin Semiconductor as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    I did not find any problem with talking with people because I was an Engineer Technician.

    Cons

    There are a great deal of Security.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management should never let their company cause a conflict with a customer as big as Apple .

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Samsung Austin Semiconductor Photos

Work at Samsung Austin Semiconductor? Share Your Experiences

Samsung Austin Semiconductor

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.