ShaneCo

www.shaneco.com

ShaneCo Reviews

Updated January 23, 2015
Updated January 23, 2015
52 Reviews
3.7
52 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ShaneCo Executive Chairman & President Tom Shane & Rordan Shane
Tom Shane & Rordan Shane
17 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Work environment is nice, lots of light, and they make an effort to keep it feeling fresh (in 4 reviews)

  • Shane Company sells the best values every day (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • In other words, no kind of work-life balance (in 3 reviews)

  • Retail hours but it's a retail store so that makes sense (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at ShaneCo full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Family oriented company that values their workers. There is a lot of training available and easy to move up in the company if you choose to do so. If you don't, there is no pay ceiling. The management has an open door policy which makes it easy to communicate. You get 2 weeks of vacation and more if you stay with the company after 5 years and so on. I have met Tom Shane himself a couple times and he is very easy to talk to! Benefits are great!

    Cons

    You work weekends and are very busy during the holidays, but they make up for it with pay, benefits, and bonuses.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Sales associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at ShaneCo full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Free cookies and the knowledge you get from training over jewelry. You also get to meet new people Thats about it from my 2 month experience.

    Cons

    Micro managing to the fullest with negative feedback almost everytime, they will drive you deep into the ground and then expect you to perform better after they have verbally destroyed you. Very secretive, shady management. Profanity usage from all management nonstop. Will drop you like a dime without any notice or warning what so ever. They act like your friend and that they like you but really this is all an ACT. They let me go bc "I wasnt a good fit" I worked hard and did everything they asked of me but in the end it bit me in the butt.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your employees with respect. At least give them a warning before you just kick them out of the front door for no reason. Stop with the negative feedback constantly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Jan 19, 2015VP of Human Resources

    I am very sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you had hoped for. It appears you must have started a a very busy time of year which is certainly a stressful time to be learning. Our ... More

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Diamond Consultant

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ShaneCo

    Pros

    EVERYTHING! Managenent team is amazing. Shane co really does care about their employees. Pay is good.

    Cons

    Holliday hours are a bit overwelming

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None! Keep up the good work

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    No Better Employer Out There!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant

    I worked at ShaneCo full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The integrity and ethical standards with which they function and encourage in their employees.

    Cons

    Great benefits, great growth potential. The only negative is the fact they are a retail chain so the hours are a little crazy. Compared to other retail companies, their hours are MUCH better!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 20, 2014VP of Human Resources

    We are glad you enjoyed it here! Thanks for telling others.

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    One of the Best Retail Careers Available

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Kennesaw, GA
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Kennesaw, GA

    I have been working at ShaneCo full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The Shane Company provides an exceptional professional experience and incredible opportunities for its employees. One of the most exciting benefits of working for the company is the opportunities to come. I was promoted within a year and I have received a wealth of support from every facet (no pun intended) of our family. From our top executives to our newest employees, I have never experienced the level of availability and transparency that I have experienced during my tenure with the shane company. I am sure that you have heard this before but if you are truly looking for a company that you can be a part of and grow with come join us at the Shane Company!

    Cons

    The only concern I can mention would be that it is vital to maintain a healthy work/life balance while working retail hours. This is the biggest challenge but through honest communication it is easy to manage here.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to grow in our current direction and beyond while encouraging the team to maintain a healthy work/life balance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 20, 2014VP of Human Resources

    We are glad you are enjoying your experience here!

  7. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great company to work for, but unless you don't mind retail hours its a great job to have.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Saint Paul, MN
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Saint Paul, MN

    I worked at ShaneCo full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Shane Co does not pay on commission, but the extra bonus is always a good thing for a job well done.

    Cons

    Retail hours are hard to work with, especially during the holidays. But employees are normally given two days off a week, but very rarely would those days be on the weekend.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management is great, for the most part, they are great leaders.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 20, 2014VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    ShaneCo IT Department

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at ShaneCo full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The people are great, for the most part.
    The company cares about morale and does nice things like employee breakfasts, pot lucks, contests, and the like.
    The employee discount is lovely.
    A lot of people have great intentions and are fun to work with and learn from.
    Can switch positions as business needs dictate, which is great for learning and for resume material.

    Cons

    Extremely unstable. IT Management fires people at the drop of a hat, so you can never cross someone or make any mistakes, or you are out of there.
    Not nearly enough vacation time offered; below curve on that and sick time.
    People are usually hired as contractors first, so no benefits or time off for six months, then you have to be a regular employee for another six months to be allowed to take time off, so no days off for an entire year for most new hires. That is difficult.
    Turnover is scarily high.
    A lot of yelling, some verbal abuse, all of which is tolerated.
    No external training offered or paid for.
    Pay scale is considerably lower than comparable businesses in the area.
    Health insurance plan is truly terrible.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop firing good people. Stop with the abuse. Work to keep good employees; they are very valuable. Pay according to what the standards are for this area. Increase benefits.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 30, 2014VP of Human Resources

    Thank you for pointing out all the great things we are working on with morale and the overall environment for all of us, as well as the career opportunities that being able to cross-train and switch ... More

  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Retail job with tough schedule and tons of favoritism.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Denver, CO

    I have been working at ShaneCo full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Sales associates not on commission.

    Cons

    Long hours, they will keep you there hours after the store closes if there's a customer in the building, very difficult to get a raise, bonuses are unattainable, they preach about it being a non commissioned, low pressure sales environment but they come down very hard on you for not making sales goals

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    treat everyone the same!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 20, 2014VP of Human Resources

    It is true that sometimes our customers are still shopping when our official closing time comes and of course we would never want to rush them through such an important purchase as an engagement or ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Decent Place to Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at ShaneCo full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Casual work environment, they treat employees really well and have a fun corporate event planned every month.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great and the people aren't very friendly.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Show more appreciation

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 20, 2014VP of Human Resources

    We are sorry to hear that you did not feel appreciated. As you mention, we do have corporate events planned each month in the home office. We are also working hard with our management team to show ... More

  11.  

    Good sales job for a young, single professional

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Sales Diamond Consultant in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at ShaneCo full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent pay and bonuses/spiffs, good training, fun environment, good merchandise discounts

    Cons

    Horrible hours, be prepared to work every weekend and holiday, say goodbye to your family! Also, it's almost impossible to move up. Sometimes the coaching from management can be a bit too aggressive and goals are at times unrealistic and out of reach.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more flexible with schedule, trust your employees capabilities and don't micromanage.

    Approves of CEO

    ShaneCo Response

    Oct 27, 2014VP of Human Resources

    We are certainly disappointed to hear that you did not feel the schedule worked for you. As a Retailer, we absolutely do have hours that are outside the usual "office environment," and we are open on ... More

Work at ShaneCo? Share Your Experiences

ShaneCo

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.