Silverado

www.silveradocare.com

Silverado Reviews

Updated January 20, 2015
Updated January 20, 2015
66 Reviews
3.6
66 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook
Loren B. Shook
41 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • you get the opportunity to make a difference every time you go to work (in 6 reviews)

  • The atmosphere with the kids and pets is incredible (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • The only word that perfectly describes the Home Office atmosphere is (in 3 reviews)

  • Upper management with no knowledge of marketing becomes involved in the sale process (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    co-workers were friendly
    salary
    benefits
    nice management
    very helpful

    Cons

    some of the co-workers were unprofessional

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    Started off a great place but soon changed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    decent benefits and pay. lots of food and activiites

    Cons

    caters too much to demanding unreasonable family members. You never do good a job to them and when a small mistake is made its held against you to the point where you no longer enjoy working for them

  3. 3 people found this helpful  

    Happy to be a Nurse at Silverado

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I love the environment- very comfortable, personable, and you truly feel like a family.

    The residents are what wake me up every morning and keep me coming back.

    This company truly values their team members from laundry to activities to nursing staff. Everyone is important.

    Non biased upper management--Which is huge. Favoritism is not played here.

    Opinions and concerns voiced are respected and considered for future implementation.

    Cons

    Very high paced and heavy work load but definitely manageable.

    Internal messages such as day residents, employee events, facility events, etc. not properly channneled in which all employees are informed.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ensure all team members (regardless of rank or position) are informed and encouraged to attend events that pertain to them

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We are happy that you are a nurse at Silverado. We are proud to be the first assisted living to provide 24-hour licensed nursing care at all of our communities.

    Thank you for sharing your
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    Pay is low and work demanding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado

    Pros

    Animals and some good people

    Cons

    Demands exceed pay. No work/life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay more and turnover wouldn't be so high

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Serving those with dementia and other memory-impairing conditions takes a special person. We are constantly reviewing the pay for each of our markets and find that we are paying above the industry ... More

  6.  

    No Love, all fear

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Residents and families are awesome!

    Cons

    Ceo all the way to community administrators are not trust worthy. They say it is about world class care for 6 grand plus a month for residents to stay there, but it is far from world class. Leadership sets free in staff to not talk to family members or else your job is on the line. They tell everyone to not talk at all to the families with out a leadership team member present.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ceo and corporate needs to make lots of surprise visits into the communities without telling anyone especially regional vp!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    As a former associate, we would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and the region in which you worked. The Home Office teams often visit our communities and locations and find ... More

  7. 5 people found this helpful  

    Does anyone ever ask why the turn over rate at Silverado is over 50%?

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director Level in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Director Level in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Silverado full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The management training is really good. The training team is wonderful. However, the entire HR team below the CAO level is weak and, unfortunately, impotent to curtail the behavior at the top.

    Cons

    70% of the executive staff are mean spirited women that terminate people on the spot for nothing more than a personality conflict, or worse, "just because". The CEO does not mentor these women, instead, he simply lets them run the organization in the manipulative and cruel way they have for several years. The recruiting team submits falsified reviews in an attempt to offset or improve the rating of the company. The OC Register should do a little in-depth investigation in order to uncover the truth about this pathetic management team and stop selecting them as a Top 10 Employer. The contest is based on falsified information and erroneous data. Someday, I hope that the men on the executive staff will stand up to the women and put this organization back on track. Begin by terminating the 70% of the executive staff that deserve to be terminated...you know EXACTLY who they are...

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please, stop running the company through terroristic methods. Appreciate your staff; they are wonderful. It would be nice if the employees felt that they had a home in a safe environment instead of fearfully watching the revolving front door toss incredible people to the curb while wondering when it will be their turn. A truly toxic environment.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for your response. The question you pose has not been asked before because our turnover rate is well below the industry average of 50%.

    Thank you for recognizing our management
    ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Pretty Good Company...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Alhambra, CA
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Alhambra, CA

    I have been working at Silverado part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    It's been six months working here, and I am pretty satisfied. I am a nursing student so I feel it's very important to get this type of experience out in the nursing field.

    -My boss is great! I feel comfortable going to April for questions and concerns and she is always on top of it! I am very grateful to have a boss that's approachable and tries to help me out as best as she could!

    -The atmosphere is pretty welcoming hence it's in a "house like" facility.

    -I love my residents...ahh, my job...I am not going to lie, it's hard work, but it's a great feeling to help others.

    -The Huntington sure loves to eat, and I do tooooo :) ..What can I say, food makes people happy = one big happy community.

    -Staff is all very friendly, I am the youngest one so I believe I adjusted to everybody quiet well...

    Cons

    -I am a part timer, so ...I kinda don't have weekends to myself. (my life goes on though...)

    -I have about 3-4 years of caregiving/CNA experience and I started off at the lowest/"starting" pay. It just makes me curious how much experience do you really need to have to start off a bit higher (I am at 10.50). . . (I am not complaining though, I am very grateful)

    I've been told to by a resident's family that silverado "markets" out to resident's family that their loved one will always have a ratio of 7:1. False. it's either 4:1, 3:1, or 2:1. I work PMs, and I don't think we need that many caregivers on the floor, however, 1 or 2 floaters would be nice. I only say that because yes, we work as a team, however we each have our own groups of residents to take care of, so floaters standing by (it least for the last half of our shift) would be very helpful to keep the whole team on track of schedule.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    -We need floaters on the floor to keep our schedules on track.
    -The pay could be slightly higher for people with a couple years experience. In general, we do get hit, slapped, come in contact with sicknesses, open wounds and bodily fluids putting ourselves at risk everyday...
    -I'd like to see some type of policy for us caregiver's protection against violent residents. I feel pressured when it comes to dealing with violent residents. I've been told before, "being afraid isn't an excuse, I don't wanna hear that..."

    ...that kind of offended me, what about my safety?

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for sharing your story. We are happy to hear that you have such a wonderful and supportive team at the Huntington. And thank you for recognizing our amazing staffing ratios. We do this ... More

  9. 4 people found this helpful  

    This Company is BS STAY AWAY

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Absolutely none, can't think of one good thing about this company. Which is pretty sad

    Cons

    Corporate and upper mgmt are horrible it's like working for the mafia if your not "Up to their PAR" slaughtered and thrown to the wolves. Even if you are the best you can be doesn't matter if someone doesn't like you in this company they will sabotage you and make sure you never move up and that your life is a living hell. No one trains you the San Diego office is run by a witch and we voiced that opinion and nothing was done VP took her side and we lost good people. Hostile office and company may you realize your mistakes before it's too late.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Wouldn't even waste my time with advice because your response to this review is freaking joke. CLEAN HOUSE IN CORPORATE. UNTIL THEN GO APPLY SOMEWHERE YOU WILL BE APPRECIATED!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for posting. I am sorry to hear that after three years of continued service, you feel this way.

    As you know there have been some recent changes in your service line and office
    ... More

  10. 5 people found this helpful  

    They don't practice what they preach.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Silverado full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The residents are amazing. Most of them are kind and appreciative. Families are in tough situations and as a Silverado associate we had the opportunity to make it better.

    Cons

    As a member of Leadership I was frustrated and fired after only three months. There is a lot of lip service to the 'Silverado Standards', 52 written guidelines to the culture that the founders want to maintain, but it is just that - lip service. Associates get upset with Leadership, but Leadership has their hands tied. They say you can be honest and genuine but honesty got me fired.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Support the Communities by hiring more competent Administrators. Don't retaliate when you hear something you need to, but don't want to, hear. Train the associates before expecting them to know the 'culture'.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate that you recognize how truly amazing our residents and their families are.

    While I cannot speak to your specific experience or
    ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Definitely one of the better companies

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Caregiver
    Current Employee - Caregiver

    I have been working at Silverado full-time

    Pros

    -you get the opportunity to make a difference every time you go to work
    -if you're an animal lover it's great to have resident pets around
    -management seems to actually care about its employees
    -seems like they promote from within
    -can bring your pets or kids to work if they aren't a distraction
    -pay is slightly higher than other companies
    -if you're patient and kind this can be a very rewarding job
    -they often take steps to accommodate employees like adjusting schedules, shifts, etc
    -love the motto and how residents are expected to be treated with dignity and love
    -challenging

    Cons

    -hours can be inconsistent
    -the culture, at least the location I work at, can be very political and catty. There are many cliques and it's exhausting to have to try to navigate all of it and adjust to some coworker's attitudes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    This is a challenging job that requires team work and although work politics can not always be controlled, SEVERAL coworkers have said that the gossip and unpleasant personalities have made them consider leaving. If this continues unchecked, the people who only work at Silverado because it's the highest paying job they could find are going to pressure away many of the people who actually align with the company's values.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Oct 27, 2014Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for promoting and supporting Silverado. We are glad that you recognize that we make a difference every day and that as a company, we really do value our associates.

    Our culture is what
    ... More

Work at Silverado? Share Your Experiences

Silverado

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.