Silverado

www.silveradocare.com

Silverado Reviews

Updated February 27, 2015
Updated February 27, 2015
71 Reviews
3.5
71 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Silverado President, Chairman & CEO Loren B. Shook
Loren B. Shook
44 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • you get the opportunity to make a difference every time you go to work (in 6 reviews)

  • The atmosphere with the kids and pets is incredible (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • The only word that perfectly describes the Home Office atmosphere is (in 3 reviews)

  • Upper management with no knowledge of marketing becomes involved in the sale process (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Former Manager - Silverado Lake Zurich

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Former Manager in Lake Zurich, IL
    Former Employee - Former Manager in Lake Zurich, IL

    I worked at Silverado full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Although my employment was very brief, I have to state that it was the most enjoyable working environment that I have encountered in 35 years of Healthcare Management, the last 20 in Senior and Long Term Care communities. The Regional V.P. of Operations is one of the best I have had the opportunity to work for and they have a great Leadership team of dept. heads. Without a doubt the front line staff is great....caregivers do a fantastic job and the R.N.s are superb! A very warm, inviting family feel and an open door to family, friends, children and pets! They offer far and away better care for their residents compared to Assisted Living communities which as a "side line" also offer Memory Care.

    Cons

    I had the opportunity to work for Loren Shook 25 years ago as Director of Finance for CPC Streamwood Hospital. At the time I felt the training was the best and the leadership team equally so. The same values guide him and the executive officers with the overseeing of Silverado. I would only offer one suggestion....as my Mother (who was inflicted with Alzheimer's for 9 years) use to tell me growing up...."there are 3 sides to every story...she said, he said and the truth!" Unfortunately, in my case (and maybe others) the "he said" story was never heard and "the truth" was not arrived at. The only place I have ever worked where a complete investigation of all parties was not done.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Do not jump to quick decisions based upon one side of the story. A man's impeccable record for 35 years has been tarnished in his eyes by this action. I have been involved in many similar situations during my career. I always gave all sides the opportunity to have their say before making a decision....and in many cases (including zero tolerance) it did not lead to termination. Also, I would look closely at the policy of not discharging a resident if he/she engaged in some similar activity. Other major Senior Living corporations do not draw a distinction between occurrences whether an employee or a resident. You will be opening yourself up to wrongful termination and the possibility of media attention and the fact the associate can always file a police report as some have done in other A.L./M.C. communities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We are so glad to hear that your tenure at Silverado was such a positive experience. Thank you for recognizing the Regional VP of Operations, along with the amazing team at our community in Lake ... More

  2.  

    I learned a lot. However, I was highly underpaid and overworked

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - CNA in Encinitas, CA
    Current Employee - CNA in Encinitas, CA

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    It is overall a fun place to work. I strongly bonded with my coworkers and residents. Most family members are appreciative of your work and most nurses are just dolls. Overall everyone that work directly with residents are very dedicated to their job and try their best. Working with Alzheimer's is a huge experience. You can bring your kids or pets to work.

    Cons

    Management is the biggest problem with the place. They were very closed to suggestion and approach about problems. The pay is the lowest in the market and the job is the hardest. You will not get paid enough to do your job. Period. The ratio resident per caregiver is not very realistic compared to the difficulty of the job due to the nature of the disease they are "specialized" in and what they expect from the caregiver. You do not have room to grow in the company at all

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management seriously need to get evaluated. The amount of people coming and going is absurd. They do not listen to our suggestion and dismiss everything as "bad attitude" or "not made for the job". They have been losing great caregiver because they simply can't relate and appreciate their employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Corporate office employees are wonderful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Corporate employees are the to help but they are located in California . They do not know what truly goes on in each office

    Cons

    VP is in California and he does not listen to the problems concerning bad management .

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Come to Houston more often and talk to employees and clients to hear what is really going on not just what the staffing coordinators & administrators report

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thanks for recognizing the Home Office associates! We all work hard to provide support to our associates in the field.

    The Human Resources team would love the opportunity to learn more about
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    They were Wonderful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Great training, fun, friendly, nice people

    Cons

    It was Pretty far drive

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thanks for being a part of the Silverado family and helping to serve our residents, patients and clients. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us.

    If you ever wish to rejoin the
    ... More

  6.  

    FEAR IS GREATER THAN LOVE HERE

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administravie in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Administravie in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Many hard working people in this company. Most are experienced and skilled at what they do.

    Cons

    Do not trust any Upper Management

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get a clue.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  7.  

    Great Place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    co-workers were friendly
    salary
    benefits
    nice management
    very helpful

    Cons

    some of the co-workers were unprofessional

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    As a caregiver at Silverado, we know you had the passion and commitment to serve our residents. Thank you for being a part of our team.

    If you have any suggestions on how we can continue to make
    ... More

  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    Love is not Greater than Fear

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    Working with family members and residents.

    Cons

    Training is geared towards Silverado standards, regardless of the State requirements. However, when something happens it is your fault, even though that's how you were trained.
    They preach Love is Greater than Fear and Transparency, however, if you ask a question or say something that Management does not like you lose your job. If 'numbers' are not up to par, your days are numbered. Everyone was always in Fear of being fired.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Practice what you preach!!
    I was a true believer of Silverado and their mission, now I would never recommend them to anyone whether as an employee or resident.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Thank you for your comments. At Silverado, we provide education and training based on the state regulations, along with Silverado standards and guiding operating philosophy. We strive to offer ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Started off a great place but soon changed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Silverado

    Pros

    decent benefits and pay. lots of food and activiites

    Cons

    caters too much to demanding unreasonable family members. You never do good a job to them and when a small mistake is made its held against you to the point where you no longer enjoy working for them

    Silverado Response

    Feb 12, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We have the privilege of serving those diagnosed with dementia and other memory-impaired diseases. Many families come to Silverado in crisis and it is our honor to serve them and their loved ones ... More

  10. 3 people found this helpful  

    Happy to be a Nurse at Silverado

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - LVN Charge Nurse in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Silverado full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the environment- very comfortable, personable, and you truly feel like a family.

    The residents are what wake me up every morning and keep me coming back.

    This company truly values their team members from laundry to activities to nursing staff. Everyone is important.

    Non biased upper management--Which is huge. Favoritism is not played here.

    Opinions and concerns voiced are respected and considered for future implementation.

    Cons

    Very high paced and heavy work load but definitely manageable.

    Internal messages such as day residents, employee events, facility events, etc. not properly channneled in which all employees are informed.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ensure all team members (regardless of rank or position) are informed and encouraged to attend events that pertain to them

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    We are happy that you are a nurse at Silverado. We are proud to be the first assisted living to provide 24-hour licensed nursing care at all of our communities.

    Thank you for sharing your
    ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Pay is low and work demanding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Silverado

    Pros

    Animals and some good people

    Cons

    Demands exceed pay. No work/life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay more and turnover wouldn't be so high

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Silverado Response

    Jan 13, 2015Sr. Director of Employee Relations and Recruiting

    Serving those with dementia and other memory-impairing conditions takes a special person. We are constantly reviewing the pay for each of our markets and find that we are paying above the industry ... More

Work at Silverado? Share Your Experiences

Silverado

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.