SkillPath Corporate Strategies Reviews

Updated August 30, 2015
41 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
1.8
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jack Cave
4 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. It is what you make of it

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    health benefits, time off, unlimited earning potential

    Cons

    Some management concerns, but it is what you make of it!


  2. Contract Trainer

    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    You can fill up your schedule albeit with a super low daily rate - less than $200 a day after they nickel and dime your paltry per diem rate.

    Cons

    This is the absolute sweatshop for trainers - most of their trainers are total hacks and on their last leg of their sad careers. SkillPath's material is so out of date and embarrassing to present - which is why you have to spend days (yes days) revamping their presentations so you do not get humiliated when presenting it. Their daily rate is pathetic and when you factor in all your prep time you are in minimum wage territory (no joke). Then they want you to sell these 1980s textbooks that anyone can find online for 1/2 the price..... Stay clear of this place!!

    Advice to Management

    When choosing to save a nickel or the well-being of their contractors, SP will choose the nickel every time. Run-down motels, and nickel & dimeing your per diem (they subtract parking fees and do not reimburse for any tolls or bridges) will quickly make you realize what a bad choice you made joining this boiler room of training services...


  3. Regional Account Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Regional Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath Corporate Strategies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is close to home. If you can put up with all the BS that goes on and being treated poorly, then the benefits are good, too.

    Cons

    Other than that, THIS PLACE SUCKS! Seriously, don't believe ANY positive reviews. Those all have to be written by recruiters or something, because everyone i work with HATES THE SALES MANAGEMENT and HAS ZERO RESPECT FOR THE CEO.

    Advice to Management

    Management here doesn't listen and apparently the CEO doesn't either. It's better just to skip this hell hole and get a job elsewhere.

    SkillPath Corporate Strategies Response

    Aug 12, 2015 – Administrator

    If you are currently employed, you should speak with your manager about any issues you are having, perhaps we can change your mindset! We recently offered a half day of in-house training on one our ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Reconsider

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The benefits are great. Medical and dental and vision insuranc, cafeteria plan paid time off 401k matching and bonus opportunity

    Cons

    You will be working among some of the most unhappy unfulfilled people you have ever known in your life and will work very hard to maintaining a positive outlook

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management. Skillpath Corporate Strategies is a very profitable company and there will always be fresh meat to replace burned out unappreciated employees with. Keep up the great work.


  6. Helpful (2)

    Take a Closer Look

    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Administrator in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Administrator in Kansas City, MO
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    In light of some poor reviews on this site, we feel that it is fair to clear up some misconceptions with accurate, factual data. • We have been in business for 26 years, and we recently acquired our largest competitor in the training industry. SkillPath is now the largest nationally recognized training company in the U.S. • We are always seeking top sales performers to add to our team. With this growth also comes turnover—very common for sales organizations. • These reviews are not reflective of how most of the Sales Professionals here view this position, but rather the few Reps that could not do the job or show up for work. • Our retention is more impressive than our turnover and something that should be noted on this site. Here are the FACTS: o A third of our sales team has been here between 1-3 years. o Currently, a third of our sales team has been here for more than 5 years. This is virtually unheard of in sales! o Our most tenured sales reps have been with the company for 10, 12, 17, and 19 years. These are the actual years our most tenured Reps have been here. • A big factor of this tenure is due to their incredible earnings we see them successfully achieving every year. Here are the FACTS: o Year one average earnings: $47K o Year 5 average earnings: $76K o Average earnings of all reps over 5 years: $121K • We believe thoroughly in internal training and have one of the best new hire training programs that spans three weeks of classroom time, hands-on application, and evaluation of each person that joins our team. Our goal through this new hire training is to set people up for future success on our sales team.

    Cons

    As we continue to grow as a company, changes will happen. We strive every day to overcome challenges and acknowledge areas that we can improve upon.

    Advice to Management

    With regards to feedback on this site, we know there’s always room for improvement, and we do value our employees. Our employees are what make this company great and will continue to be for many years to come. We hope that you will take these facts in to consideration as you consider SkillPath as a future employer. Current employees are welcome to address any concerns at any time, as there is always an open door policy at SkillPath.


  7. Overworked underpaid

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Mission, KS
    Former Employee - Trainer in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Control over your schedule. Frequent flyer miles. Get some experience and make some good contacts.

    Cons

    Don't let the salary estimates on here for you. This will never be a full-time job and he would die if you did it full-time. Even part-time is completely exhausting and an absolute burn out job. Management treats the contract trainers like a nuisance and an inconvenience even though we are the only thing that makes their business valuable. They claim to be a cutting edge training company but are completely behind technologically speaking. The only reason they get the business they do is because their product is cheap and there's not a lot of other competition. If you decide to contract with them go in and get some experience and get out as fast as you can.

    Advice to Management

    As many other reviewer's have stated, you may want to consider attending some of your own management classes.


  8. Helpful (1)

    Terrible.....run away!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SkillPath Corporate Strategies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nothing..... They say the benefits are great, but most hired on will never know.

    Cons

    We were told after being hired that they only expected to keep 1-2 people from training out of 20!!! That is an unethical way to operate, even when you mask it around 'sales positions are tough'.

    Advice to Management

    Scrap your current business model. Sites like Glass Door brings light to how you operate.

    SkillPath Corporate Strategies Response

    Jun 15, 2015 – Administrator

    We are sorry you had a bad experience, it sounds like this wasn't a great fit. We try very hard to identify talented individuals in our screening process and clearly you were one of those ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    Account manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefit, you can come to work dressed anyway you want and I mean anyway you want. Employees are nice

    Cons

    Trainers aren't very experienced. High turnover. You will get burnout real quick trainers think they are really good ,but they are not

    Advice to Management

    Get trainers that no how to develope account managers not just rush them through the training program maybe have some type of dress code


  10. Helpful (3)

    SkillPath?? More like SkillPath of Destruction

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SkillPath Corporate Strategies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Get to wear anything you want, good benefits if you can last 90 days, good sales training which I can use elsewhere.

    Cons

    Management is fake, tell you that you are doing excellent, improving, and you have what it takes to be successful. If you come across a HUGE opportunity for revenue they will take the account away from you and tell you that you're not ready to handle the account, how is someone suppose to learn??The culture there is real weird, nobody talks to the newbies cause they know there is a 99% chance they will get fired and they seem selfish and don't want to be a mentor. Unless you drink the kool-aid you won't make it. Don't ever give your opinion on something cause you're labelled as having a bad attitude. I was terminated just under 6 months, how convenient. The contract you sign the first day states that under 6 months if they feel you're not a good fit then your employment will be terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Ask to take some Management courses to help yourselves


  11. Helpful (3)

    Steer Clear Of This Company

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at SkillPath Corporate Strategies full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to share.

    Cons

    Management is absolutely secretive and power hungry. Turnover in this organization is extremely high. There is no regard for employees and the pay is low.

    Advice to Management

    They would not listen so I will not bother giving advice.



Showing 41 of 46 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.