Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated March 20, 2015
190 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.2
190 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sleep Number by Select Comfort President & CEO Shelly Ibach
Shelly Ibach
94 Ratings

Pros
  • Great product with great concept and innovative product (in 20 reviews)

  • My roommate calls Sleep Number the "apple" of the bed industry (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Horrible upper management starting with District Managers (in 16 reviews)

  • Most District Managers are out of touch and can destroy you and your store if they want (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Temecula, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Temecula, CA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. They care about their people and management is there to help you succeed. Excellent benefits, 401K match and results driven.

    Cons

    When its slow you need to keep yourself occupied.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None. Never had a bad manager. Still hold many of them in close regard.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 27, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for posting your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Sleep Number!

  2. Absolutely fantastic! Dedicated company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sleep Associate in Redondo Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Sleep Associate in Redondo Beach, CA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, very detailed training, great staff across every store in Southern California area. They hire serious sales driven people. You MUST be driven by commission sales. I was one of the youngest employees for quite a few cities around my store at 25 yrs. old at the time. They hire very experienced employees. Low hourly but it is definitely made up if you are a good sales person. The company cares about you and want you to succeed. Great structure.

    Cons

    Due to commission based sales, some days you will stay longer to provide service to the customer and close the deal. Meetings are once a month and you have drive to another store (unless you're lucky and its yours) you do get paid mileage but then you work the remaining entire 8 hour shift for that day. You must be able to go from 0-60 at a moments notice. One minute its dead for hours the next you have 5 people in the store.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    My Manager was fantastic! Wonderful fair guy and all the managers are well informed and can delegate accordingly. He has since been promoted. Room for growth exists!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for posting your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our culture and values. We truly appreciate our hard working sales force and all that you do for our customers!

  3. 1 person found this helpful

    Great Job Overall

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Professional
    Current Employee - Sales Professional

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time

    Pros

    Good income potential. Nice product. Loyal customers. Excellent LOCAL management.

    Cons

    Corporate BS runs rampant. They want your soul. The district manager couldn't sell a bed to save their own life.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let the local managers tell you what works; not the other way around.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 20, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for posting your feedback on your concerns within our retail field. Your feedback will be shared with the proper retail partners. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further please ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Incredible opportunity from sales professional on up!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    As a store manager I've been able to recruit and train a highly motivated, well compensated team. They all have nice new cars, great homes and lives. I support my family, am active in my church and children's schools. How many retail managers can actually say the have a quality life away from the store? I can!

    Cons

    Vital to be good at managing money. Income is great, but not the same each month. Highs and Lows, some controlled with how much you put into it, some, like all retail, not in your control.

    It only works if you work it...
    If you don't believe in following a corporate plan, policies and procedures, don't bother. :)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the amazing leaps in technology and customer service.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that you and your team are enjoying the benefits of being Sleep Number brand ambassadors! We thank you for all of your ... More

  6. Ballooning sales goals

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional
    Former Employee - Sales Professional

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Easier sale as customers are extremely loyal and much of sales are to the installed base and referrals. The majority of the product line is very comfortable and well received by customers

    Cons

    Company overstates warranty, quality of sheets and constantly raises the sales goal bar without logical reasons. Pricing jumps from a modest price of $999 to $5000 very quickly.

    Home delivery is mostly a 3rd party and very unreliable

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Shed your ego and take input from employees. They are your best and least expensive consultants. Many management decisions are just awful or misguided. Recognize that in the theoretical marketing world, every idea is a good idea.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Mar 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We certainly appreciate your feedback and do our best to communicate the terms of our warranty as well as reasoning behind sales goals. Your ... More

  7. Wonderful Product, Wonderful People, Wonderful Company to be a part of!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people--Customers and co-workers. This company is large, but feels like a small community. This company is full of talented wonderful people all the way from sales professionals to Shelly Ibach. The products is amazing and I love hearing how better sleep can affect one's life in such a positive way! Sleep Number is continually making positive changes to improve the customer experience and I feel that feedback is often well received.

    Cons

    Hours are sometimes long as a manager. Three person stores can be difficult to operate and work in.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work! I am so proud to work for this company. Continue to reward and value those who put the work in.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 26, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the corporate culture and innovation that we all share as Sleep Number brand ambassadors ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful

    good job but some unfair policy's

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    it is a good product very expensive so if you make a sale its a pretty big deal beds start at $1000 decent pay and hours.

    Cons

    the weirdest thing is they have 20 minute up rotation so if you are working with a couple people you may never get a customer and the other people may have 2 3 or 4 customers and you havent got to help anyone it is stupid and very unfair. I have worked saturdays when 10 people came in to the store and i didnt get to wait on anyone because of the stupid 20 minute thing. I have talked with other commission sales people and they dont even believe me when i tell them about this stupid 20 minute up rule. it all is luck of the draw how can you not take turns and just be fair about it. it creates animosity amongst the employees clock watching it is just so stupid to bad otherwise it is a pretty good job.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    get rid of this old rule and be fair to your employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 19, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on the up rotation. We are always evolving and improving our policies and processes in the stores and this feedback is incredibly valuable. I will make sure to ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful

    Great product, bad leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Niles, IL
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Niles, IL

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Awesome scheduling and environment. Great product and sales experience

    Cons

    Terrible micro management and under qualified / ineffective district / regional managers

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Allow your employees to be more independent, only hire people qualified for upper-managements

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for providing the feedback on your experience with Sleep Number. We appreciate the input that you have provided regarding management and will be sharing this with the appropriate parties.

  10. Innovative, forward thinking company - top performers all around!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Pros

    High expectations with high rewards - if you are someone with solid interpersonal skills that truly loves our products then the sky is the limit career wise! This is not a SALES career, this is a career where you can change people's lives by solving their sleep problems (bed, bedding, pillows, etc). This is a very personal, highly rewarding career.

    Cons

    Retail hours - but that is not something that was a surprise. Everyone is told about the various hours needed before coming on board.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I would enjoy more store to store or region to region communication. Sometimes you get lost in your own four walls and it's always welcome to hear what others are doing that could be used in my own store.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 13, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We truly appreciate all that you do to create the ultimate experience for our customers! We appreciate your feedback as well on the communication piece between stores and regions and will share this ... More

  11. This Company improves lives!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good Company with a drive to make things better and to always be striving to offer people a way to improve their quality of life through better sleep. The passion and cohesiveness of this company to work together to achieve sales and operational goals is fantastic. The culture of this company is unique and store, district, and region, are very competitive. It is a great place to work, especially when you are a true believer in all the product offered.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are long hours due to big holiday sales but it is well worth it in the end. No complaints about compensation. There is always a contest offered of an incentive to help motivate you to drive sales. Internal promotions are based on performance and your ability to work well with all team members.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There has been a tremendous amount of success along the way. I think it is smart to invest more time into actually identifying what is driving business and why. There is a great deal of opportunity to find and internally promote the best candidates instead of the most popular. I encourage the management team to always invest the time to discover or learn the right answers. Stay on the path to go from Good to Great!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Feb 6, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your time with Sleep Number and felt the drive that we have to improve lives!

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Photos

Work at Sleep Number by Select Comfort? Share Your Experiences

Sleep Number by Select Comfort

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.