Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated July 27, 2015
232 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

232 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (8)

    Corruption Within

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Home Delivery Technician
    Former Employee - Home Delivery Technician

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working at Home Delivery was fun and rewarding. I met a lot of great customers and enjoyed being part of improving people's sleep experience. The products, although overpriced, are extremely comfortable.

    Cons

    As an employee, I recieved very little support from management in helping the customer. I wanted to replace defective components for customers and was told not to or not given the parts to effectively do the job. Many customers expressed their dissatisfaction with customer service. Misinformation runs rampant. Between departments you could be told opposite things. Sleep Number seems to care about you up until purchase, then makes it very difficult to get help, repair, or attention. The training I had was terrible. Training programs were being put in place throughout 2014, but focused on new hires, leaving current employees to fall behind. The product itself is inexpensively made and could be sold at a much lower price point. Upon my termination for accidental misuse of company property, they did not return personal items to me. After several attempts to get my stuff back (stuff I had brought from home to improve the customer experience) I was treated rudely, lied to, and threatened.

    Advice to Management

    Hiring processes could use consistency so that you get a quality of employee that is currently lacking. Trust and communication between upper management and the field is sorely absent. Goals were not clearly defined, easily achieved, or shared by the General body of employees.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 16, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. Your review has been shared with the appropriate parties within the organization.


  2. Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The compensation is very good! Management is supportive and the training is very thorough. It is a rewarding job where you can build a relationship with the clients.

    Cons

    May be hard to find work-life balance because of the night and weekend hours that you work, which is typical for a retail position. They will work with you as much as possible though.

    Advice to Management

    Check on employees on a regular basis to make sure they are getting the upport and opportunities for advancement that they desire!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so glad to hear that you are finding your position within Sleep Number to be rewarding and we truly do appreciate the relationships that you are building with our customers. Thank you for the ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    It is a great entry level opportunity!

    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    It is decent pay for entry level, and it's a good place to "get your feet wet" get some experience.

    Cons

    Working in customer service can become like a labryinth! You think you are getting somewhere with promotions to different teams, but in the end you end up "stuck" in customer service. Few make it out of customer service and into different departments.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to get a bonus at Christmas time. It is something to do community events for others, and we have employee's that need help just as much.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 9, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the growth and development of our Customer Service Professionals as well as additional opportunities to support our employees. I ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    Great Product-Great job-Terrible management

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    The product really does sell itself. Got to sell what I loved Great customers

    Cons

    Management was poor You are basically customer service even though you tell them to call customer service themselves if they have a problem from the beginning Cold calling Customers give you way to much personal info Pay

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We value your feedback and have taken this to the appropriate parties.


  6. Helpful (9)

    A severe culture decline over the last few years

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Plymouth, MN
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Plymouth, MN

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    They are an 'out with old in with the new' company these days. Do not try and bring your personality or ideas with you.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the advice and recommendation of the professionals at the management level.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 16, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm sorry if you felt that your ideas and recommendations were not heard or acted on. Should you wish to further discuss your concerns please feel ... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    Sales professional

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like long slow hours .. Slow at times. Not a very hard physical job

    Cons

    Management and upper management CEO. They like to keep you confused on all the sales . They usually have 3 different sales going on at the same time. Causing sales professional to lose their commission

    Advice to Management

    Train store managers how to truly lead , not lead by insulting employees while on the sales floor in front of customers

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am passing your comments about the commission/sales and management concerns to the appropriate teams at the home office. Should you wish to ... More


  8. Helpful (4)

    Employees are treated poorly on the retail front

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Great customer service team for the customer and products are good for the most part.

    Cons

    Management uses negative tactics and fear with employees to boost sales. Very old business model that just angers its employees.... they send nasty emails even if you are performing well and on the top sales lists. No positive feedback or support whatsoever. If you make a mistake on the sales floor, they will dock your pay. (several hundred dollars... not just a small handful) If corp employees or management makes a mistake they don't even apologize. It's unfortunate because most of us love our connection to the customers and make some great relationships. If management would care enough to support their teams, they would probably make twice the money in the end because they would have grateful and happy employees. Most employees have to work very long hours (sometimes 7-8 days straight in certain states around the country where the company can get away with it ... so well over 40 hr work weeks. In the states where the worker has no rights (or very little) .... even though they work over 40 hrs, they are not paid overtime. Many sales floor employees do not get bio breaks on the sales floor when they are busy... most stores are very short staffed. Most employees I have talked to, including myself, are fearful of losing their job if they speak up and share a concern. It's unfortunate that people are still treated so badly here, but what is worse is that they can easily get away with it.

    Advice to Management

    See cons notes. Change the way you practice your internal employee relations.


  9. Simply Wonderful!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Approves of CEO
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great culture. Great work life balance for retail. Top notch Senior Leadership!!!

    Cons

    None that I can think of! Great long term vision and direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014 – Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback!


  10. Helpful (7)

    Poorly run.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Professional
    Former Employee - Sales Professional

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Money can be good at times but usually not. Store was close to my home so travel time was good.

    Cons

    Too many to list. Poor management from top to bottom. Upper management does not care about you or your family. Bottom line is all that matters. If you were lucky enough to hit your goal they just raise it the next month so it's impossible to hit again. Then if you don't hit your goal you get written up, too many write ups and you're fired. You are told that you will get a work schedule a few weeks in advance but usually it's only a few days before that month begins, also the schedule is always subject to change so good luck making plans to do anything. If you have a family especially small children look elsewhere for a job because you will never see them. I had to come home early from being out of town on vacation because my district manager decided last minute to have a meeting and everyone had to be there. Bottom line... This place is not a good place to work unless you like long hours with little payoff and no time for your family.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees. They're not just names on a print out, they are people with lives and families. Pay more for the work they do.


  11. Helpful (3)

    Floater=sewer/inspecter/zipper cell/double serger/coverlets/v-tech/pinner

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floater in Irmo, SC
    Former Employee - Floater in Irmo, SC

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    They dont mind letting you learn to do different things. Act all friendly to your face or while you are letting them make you work 4 or 5 different jobs in one night.

    Cons

    will not pay you what you are worth. will hire new people on and start them off making more money than the workers that have been there 3 years. If you aint in the "Buddy Buddy system" you are going NO WHERE. Supervisors have their pick of who is getting a certain job even before such job is posted and will start training that person before the job is posted, so that when it is posted, Their pick is already qualified for the job.Supervisors should step up and make their own decisions instead of listening to the line leads who are playing the system

    Advice to Management

    Make some major changes at this plant.Make line leads learn every job on their line.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 2, 2015 – Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate your review and are disappointed that you did not have a good experience in our Irmo plant. Your feedback will be further reviewed here at the home office. Thank you again for taking ... More



Showing 232 of 235 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.