Smart Meetings Reviews

Updated April 18, 2015
48 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.3
48 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Smart Meetings Founder & Publisher Marin Bright
Marin Bright
38 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (8)

    Awesome company on the move!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director of Sales
    Current Employee - Director of Sales

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very successful and dynamic company. The founders/owners are very hands on and have a lot of passion for their business and their people. They embrace change and new ideas when it fits into the vision and values. They respect, recognize and reward folks that step up, work hard and lead. And while the company has been around for over 13 years, the culture continues to be like a start up with lots of ground floor opportunities for the right people.

    Cons

    If you don't like change, and if you just want to do the minimum and get by, this might not be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to stay open to new ideas and stay true to your values. You've created a real gem with unlimited potential. The new business model that you've embraced has given us great traction and is an awesome vehicle to take us to new levels!

  2. Helpful (8)

    Great time to be at the company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Why I joined Smart Meetings and what I like about it: I have tremendous opportunity to make immediate contributions and make an impact - not only in my job and in my department, but throughout the company. The CEO welcomes and values an entrepreneurial mindset and fresh ideas for marketing, editorial and art, the events, sales. Everyone is encouraged to take initiative and get things done. As the company grows - for example, it is quickly moving to expand its digital media - even more opportunities for creative thinking and innovation have opened up. It’s an exciting time to be here, actually. The CEO is committed to developing the company’s managers and staff into a cohesive team.

    Cons

    The workplace is fast-paced and at times frenetic, but the work is stimulating and challenging.

  3. Helpful (8)

    Can't imagine a better place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Events Coordinator in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Events Coordinator in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people and lots of creative talent. Love working for an industry leader and visionary.

    Cons

    None for me.. Sorry to here some people did not enjoy their time here. I feel blessed to be working with such a great group

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.. You always seem to be open to suggestions and in moving the company in the right direction..

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (8)

    Happy to Come to Work Everyday

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Events in Sausalito, CA
    Former Employee - Events in Sausalito, CA

    I worked at Smart Meetings full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Rewarding Job, you not only get to use your sales skills but see your hard work pay off by attending the event. Great staff to work with and I enjoyed coming to work every day. I have worked in San Francisco for 22 years and I have never enyoyed a job more. The work is reward and safisfaction. This company rewards peoples efforts and values your opinion.

    Cons

    The past employees who are bitter about losing the job of a lifetime and want to take it out on the company. The only Con I can see is in the past couple years we grew too fast and collected some dead weigh on the staff. The company has made an effort to correct that mistake and is building a new team. I am sorry not to be part of that team. I would like to say walking out the door at 5pm is fine if you have finished your work and are at least meeting your goals. Many people that I worked with did not make their goals and the team suffered for it.

    Advice to Management

    Hire Slow, Fire Fast. Get rid of the employees who are negative and lazy. It is annoying to the people who work hard to do their job and meet their goals to be strapped with people who don't care.

    Smart Meetings Response

    Jul 22, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and your constructive feedback. If you would like to add anything further, please reach out to humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  6. Helpful (8)

    Best Job!!! Best Company!!! Best CEO!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Events in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Events in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Small, Creative, environment... Innovators .. You can bring your idea's to the CEO directly! You have opportunity to grow and they look for talent from within. Smart Meetings and all of BBM has a set of guiding values which truly matter to people. I love this place and everyday I feel compelled to do my best for this company. The measure of a Great Company is if you recommend it to a colleague .. I would not hesitate..

    Cons

    Hard Work!! If you are afraid of work, this won't be for you.. If you want to punch a clock or put in face time, not for you. If you have no heart and soul to share, not for you. It is high energy and you could easily be left behind.. But the work is rewarding and I really don't think of these as cons...

    Advice to Management

    Take your time to find the right people who share your values.. Free snacks

    Smart Meetings Response

    Jan 13, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments and to your commitment to our Company! If you would like to share anything further, please reach out to our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  7. Helpful (8)

    Fun, challenging and rewarding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    the atmosphere is built on success, comradery, teamwork and professionalism balanced with levity. no matter you're experience level you are driven to reach higher levels or success and learning new ways to get there.

    Cons

    the days can be long and tedious, but it is work and not a vacation after all, so cons are really open to perception and attitude

    Advice to Management

    keep going with the open and honest dialog and how the overall business is doing so we can continue to adjust and react to keep our customers happy and our future successful

    Smart Meetings Response

    Nov 22, 2013Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you have anything you would like to share, please email our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  8. Helpful (10)

    Extremely Challenged and Happy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I actually like going to work everyday. I do a job I love. One of the best pros is definitely the people. It is a great staff, which makes a big difference. At times, the hours get long and I do face challenges but that is what keeps it interesting. There is a cycle of busy times and the times you aren't as busy, in the end it evens out. If you have an idea to improve the company or to save money, management listens to the idea. There is a team oriented frame of mind for the employees. The CEO cares about the company and supports those who make positive contributions.

    Cons

    Traffic, horrible traffic at times and possibly long commutes, but in the end if you like what you do the cons are tolerable.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Smart Meetings Response

    Nov 22, 2013Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you have anything you would like to share, please email our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  9. Helpful (13)

    Something new every day, an exciting challenge.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Management
    Current Employee - Sales Management

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Smart Meetings is very fast paced, entrepreneurial, and has the best products/services in the industry. Great views of the bay and marina. Gourmet coffee and teas available to employees at no cost to them. A rewarding environment where results and team effort are valued. Stellar customer service, quality products, growing revenue, and top notch content drives the company and its employees.

    Cons

    If you're not used to a fast paced environment, this could be a con for you. Smart Meetings is not a "job", it's where your dedication and hard work will be put to the test as the (at times) heavy work load can be a challenge. If you've worked at start ups before this is not unusual...in fact, it's why many people thrive and prefer this type of environment.

    Smart Meetings Response

    Nov 22, 2013Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you have anything you would like to share, please email our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  10. Helpful (16)

    Awesome!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I felt warmly welcomed here from day one. The staff is very friendly and I've felt that my work is much appreciated. The office is located in a beautiful place and staff members routinely travel to some of the most incredible places in North America. In short, it's been a fantastic place to work.

    Cons

    As with other publications, deadlines and workload sometimes can be challenging, but my managers have displayed a great deal of understanding and flexibility regarding these matters.

    Smart Meetings Response

    Nov 22, 2013Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. If you have anything you would like to share, please email our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

  11. Helpful (16)

    Smart Meetings is a rewarding work enviroment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director of Meetings and Events in Sausalito, CA
    Current Employee - Director of Meetings and Events in Sausalito, CA

    I have been working at Smart Meetings full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I recently moved from Nashville, TN to Sausalito, CA to join the Smart Meetings Team as the Director, Meetings & Events. Smart Meetings is a unique and successful media and events company. We are encouraged to run our daily activities as entrepreneurs making decisions based on best business practices. My last few months have been rewarding and our events team successful. Leadership is dedicated to providing professional development and resources to encourage and increase skill sets. The name of our game is results with dedication to customer service and individual success. The entire staff was recently invited to a corporate suite at the AT&T Stadium to enjoy a Giants Game on Saturday, April 20. I am looking forward to joining my colleagues for some fun down time!

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons of working at Smart Meetings. I made the transition from Nashville to Sausalito and miss a great many of my friends, but that was to be expected. I love living in Northern California

    Smart Meetings Response

    Nov 22, 2013Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. If you have anything you would like to share, please email our HR department at humanresources@smartmeetings.com.

Work at Smart Meetings? Share Your Experiences

Smart Meetings

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.