Smucker

www.smuckers.com
Employer Engaged

Smucker Reviews

Updated February 27, 2015
Updated February 27, 2015
86 Reviews
3.9
86 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard K. Smucker
32 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Smucker offers a nice work/life balance and good benefits (in 5 reviews)

  • Great benefits and perks for employees (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • Orrville is in the middle of no where (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    People are at the center

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orrville, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orrville, OH

    I have been working at Smucker full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Care for the individual employee, career growth opportunities

    Cons

    Not all managers are the same across the company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great family-oriented company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Smucker full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company, great people! The company focuses on its employees and their families. They also make for a constructive and positive work environment. Overall, a fun and competitive work place.

    Cons

    The company headquarters are located in a remote location that is quite far from large cities. This is a difficult situation if you are out of town or not used to rural locations.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Smucker Response

    Feb 13, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    Thank you for sharing your review. We believe the highest quality people produce the highest quality products and services. We are glad to have you as part of our team!

  3.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Grocery Sales Representative in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Grocery Sales Representative in Akron, OH

    I have been working at Smucker full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Smucker's has a great atmosphere. The people and facility are amazing. I loved working in sales because there is so much room for growth. Great benefits and generous pay.

    Cons

    Orville is in the middle of nowhere. My position required more traveling than I would have liked.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Break down the bureaucracy and redundant levels of hierarchy.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    One of Memphis best companies to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Memphis, TN

    I worked at Smucker full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay for the area, a lot of overtime, good company to work for if you are a hard worker

    Cons

    I really have nothing bad to say about this company for the 3yrs I worked there

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
  6.  

    Great company and family culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst

    I have been working at Smucker full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The corporate culture of Smucker's is great! Very family oriented and always supportive. They value their employees and always look to hire from within. Based on your field, you can relocate to multiple locations. They pay is great as an intern and as a full time employee.

    Cons

    I work in a remote location away from corporate at one of the manufacturing plants, and the Smucker culture is hard to maintain 100% when you are far away the main office. Management at my location can easily stray away from the core company values and become very negative.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Corporate/Management should reach out more to manufacturing plants and ensure that they follow the "Smucker way". Look at your managers and really analyze if they are true leaders that can motivate a workforce, versus a tyrant delegating duties.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Smucker Response

    Feb 13, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We're happy to hear about the positive aspects of your employment and are always looking for improvement opportunities. Your review will be ... More

  7.  

    Good first intro into the working world, not somewhere I want to spend my career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Intern in Orrville, OH
    Former Intern - Intern in Orrville, OH

    I worked at Smucker as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good experience. Networking. Family-friendly (summer trip to Cedar Point for all employees and immediate family.)

    Cons

    Working as an intern, I felt I was not really a welcomed member of the team. Like an outsider that's only there for a short period of time and no promising future with the company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Allow the internship to be viewed more as an open door into full-time employment, not just a place to gain experience and leave.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Smucker Response

    Feb 13, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We strongly believe each employee makes a difference, and strive to create an inclusive environment to strengthen our Company and enable every ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    The people I work with are like family and they treat me like I'm part of their family.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Orrville, OH
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Orrville, OH

    I have been working at Smucker

    Pros

    Summer Hours allow you the freedom to take time to spend with your family and not use up vacation time. Fellow workers truly care about one another.

    Cons

    Compensation seems to be a little out dated. New employees are often hired in at more than current employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The workload needs to be more evenly distributed. Take a look at what people are doing on a day to day basis and reevaluate.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Smucker Response

    Jan 30, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    We thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and are glad to hear about the positive aspects of your position as well as areas where we can improve. Your comments will be shared internally.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best job I've had

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Smucker

    Pros

    Good culture with good people.

    Cons

    Very conservative, but working to become more flexible.

    Smucker Response

    Jan 30, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    Thank you for your feedback and your dedication to The J.M. Smucker Company. We're happy to hear you enjoy your employment with our Company!

  10.  

    Review as an intern.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Orrville, OH
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Orrville, OH

    I have been working at Smucker as an intern (more than a year)

    Pros

    The employees and leadership are very friendly and for the most part can communicate on a first name basis. If you are unsure on something as long as you are giving it a go they will help you as much as they can especially when you first start there.

    Cons

    I am an intern and as such I do not have much opportunity for advancement even though I have been the most qualified for the position.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Smucker Response

    Jan 30, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    Thanks for sharing your review. We firmly believe that every employee makes a difference. We strive to create an inclusive environment to strengthen our Company and enable every employee to reach ... More

  11.  

    Technical Leader

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Smucker

    Pros

    Work is self driven and recognized

    Cons

    Communication is lacking. Departments are silos with little cross talk

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Smucker Response

    Jan 30, 2015Corporate Communications Representative

    We appreciate your review! Your feedback plays an important role in our continued efforts to enrich our employee experience.

Smucker Photos

Smucker Company Store
Peanut, Peanut Butter and Jelly!

+ Add Photo

Work at Smucker? Share Your Experiences

Smucker

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.