Sony Electronics Reviews

Updated July 25, 2015
487 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

487 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Roller coaster with constant layoffs!

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Has good benefits for a company it's size. Unlimited vacation days are great.

    Cons

    The reality of taking all that vacation is not so easy as it sounds. I have had 5 managers in the last year, with all the changes.

    Advice to Management

    Find other places to cut besides the people!


  2. Helpful (1)

    Great people, not so great products lately

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sony Electronics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with, locally as well as across different Sony groups around the world!. Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Limited career growth as the company is constantly re-organizing to be profitable..

    Advice to Management

    Please stop "consolidation" to Tokyo in the name of efficiency. Grow and foster local teams across the globe to be the "champions" in their own markets, like it was several years back. We are building & releasing products that are not competitive in the respective markets (except for a few champion products of course). Predicting from Tokyo about what users will want/like in other parts of the world is not working well for us!! - We need to rebuild "passionate" local teams and empower them to iterate & build successful products that their markets will want/like.


  3. Very good place to work at!.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good work environment. Okay salary (could be a little better).

    Cons

    Company growth can be slow or limited. Required to work on free days if needed without extra pay.

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a former employee.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Sony is dim... Sad story

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    No big work pressure; Detailed sales planning from headquarter.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy; Most employees lack work passion.

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a former employee. We are currently working to engage employees and spark their passion for working here at SEL.


  6. Great experience, solid company, although still a disconnect between Corp. & consumers

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Co-workers are friendly and knowledgeable. Great atmosphere that encourages feedback and challenging the norm. Ideas always welcome. Still has a "small" business feel. Core product lines are still top-notch and of highest build quality. Brand loyalty is second-to-none.

    Cons

    Too often they choose the path of a "follower" instead of a "leader" when it comes to the ever-evolving environment of technology. Not agile enough to keep up with increased competition. Focused too much on "premium" and not enough on "value". Still significant disconnect between Sony R&D and American consumers.

    Advice to Management

    Choose a direction and stick to it. Have courage to admit when products fail and don't continue to come out with 2nd & 3rd generations of same failed product . Quit trying to be just "good" at everything and instead become "great" at a few things. And get the name "Sony" back out there by investing some significant Marketing dollars at informing the public of how great some of our products are and how they can easily integrate into their lives (besides PS4).

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a current employee.


  7. Working with Tokyo for US initiatives? Forget it.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Pros

    Technically amazing and fantastic engineering. Forward thinking and future thinkers.

    Cons

    Japanese culture stifles US contributions. Most upper management is male japanese looking to 'hold on'.

    Advice to Management

    Better marketing

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a former employee.


  8. Wonderful Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Sony Electronics

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Playstation benefits, okay money, dedication

    Cons

    long hours, family, contracted

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a current employee.


  9. Sad for Sony

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Laid Back Enviornment and a working system

    Cons

    Morale, Major Lay-Offs each year

    Advice to Management

    Keep the right people that work hard.

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a former employee.


  10. Mixed

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Mateo, CA
    Former Employee - Director in San Mateo, CA

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment and enjoy the people in the trenches as they give their heart and soul

    Cons

    Very little concern about its employees or their welfare, very disconnected from their user base.

    Sony Electronics Response

    Jan 23, 2015 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as a former employee.


  11. Sales Coordinator

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sony Electronics

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits, and somewhat great stability. You really develop a sense of team and family with co-workers, which makes for a great work environment.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a tough company to work for, because they've got their hand in so many things. Which makes it hard to get things done.



Showing 487 of 519 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.