Sparta Systems Reviews

Updated June 24, 2015
24 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.8
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Eileen Martinson
16 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Great company to work for. You can make a career here

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Engineer in Hamilton, NJ
    Current Employee - Customer Support Engineer in Hamilton, NJ

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great opportunity to sharpen skills and work with great people. Have enjoyed working for the company and located in Hamilton NJ.

    Cons

    Can become monotonous at times working with clients on the same issues day in and day out. I know we are all busy during the day but tier 2 needs to work on how they speak to managed employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management for the most part is great with the exception of Tier 2 at times. I would advise that they speak to team members as they would like to be talked to.


  2. Great place to work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grow. Good work life balance. Great location.

    Cons

    I have no cons so far


  3. Accentuating the Positive

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Jersey in Hamilton Square, NJ
    Current Employee - New Jersey in Hamilton Square, NJ

    I have been working at Sparta Systems (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    This a great company, with great products that I'm fortunate to be a part of. The company creates products with real value. The people are great to work with and are always willing to help you succeed. The company encourages everyone to be innovative. As the company grows, so does the opportunities. The company allows for creative thinking and solutions.

    Cons

    There will always be imperfections. Yea, you get some smart-alecks but there are far more employees who are not. The pieces of the software puzzle are complex, but they are rewarding. There are some instances of micro management but not in a overwhelming way where you want to quit. Just enough to stifle true creativity and it only occurs in isolated areas of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Try to let more the creative juice flow through the talent you hire.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Hamilton, NJ
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Hamilton, NJ

    I worked at Sparta Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Average small company. Fair pay.

    Cons

    Single Product that drastically needs a face lifet to be compettive

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the product. Currently out of the 1990's

    Sparta Systems Response

    Jun 11, 2015

    Thank you for the review. Sparta offers a variety of products and our team works continuously to ensure our products meet the needs of our customers. As a matter of fact this was just announced ... More


  6. a company that stays ahead of the herd

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Middletown, NJ
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Middletown, NJ

    I worked at Sparta Systems (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great team work, new office

    Cons

    job is in Hamilton NJ, a long ride depending on where you live

    Sparta Systems Response

    Jun 11, 2015

    Thank you for your review. Sparta Systems is proud of our team, culture, and work environment!


  7. Sr. Software Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hamilton, NJ
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hamilton, NJ

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They have a great work life balance. I am allowed to WFH when I need to. The benefits are second to none. Close to home. A lot of smart people. Promote innovation. They help you to file patents.

    Cons

    There is some favoritism played by some managers. I feel like there is a lot of tension between the development and Architecture group. They need to work on project scope creep. We will be near the end of the release but not change the release dates.

    Advice to Management

    I think the Management team needs to stick up for the developers and stop micro managing us. I think the development team should be more involved with requirements gathering process. Then they will be able to gauge the amount of work that can be completed not just guess.

    Sparta Systems Response

    May 4, 2015

    Thanks for your review. Your correct, there are a lot of smart people that work for Sparta. We want the best and the brightest on our team!


  8. Excellent company with great management team

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, NJ

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Growing company with committed team Fast paced enviroment strong executive team great culture

    Cons

    make sure the company can continue to grow. continue to build the infrastructure

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Great executive additons

    Sparta Systems Response

    May 4, 2015

    Great to know you like the culture and the additions to the executive team. .Thank you for your review


  9. Wonderful place to work and Happy employees

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hamilton, NJ

    I have been working at Sparta Systems (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Modern workplace, wonderful culture, embraces technology and change, growing and expanding at a good and maintainable pace. Company brings in food every Friday (changing to once a month). People are actually HAPPY to be here. Flexible hours, very casual dress. Self motivated.

    Cons

    Tight working conditions because the company is growing so quickly. Having the two different products is a little confusing. Some employees take the "casual attire" a little too far (I really don't want to see the underwear of a co-worker), but there are only a few that take it to the extreme.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Sparta Systems Response

    May 4, 2015

    Thanks for the review! Since this review we have expanded into new work space and now have ample room to grow!


  10. Nice Company to work for.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Management Great money if your in the right place within the company Good attitude of the employees

    Cons

    Need to move faster in technology delivery Better marketing

    Sparta Systems Response

    Jun 11, 2015

    Thank you for your review. The management at Sparta is second to none. We have an environment that promotes collaboration. Managers are always accessible to their teams as well as individuals ... More


  11. Opportunity to work with great people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sparta Systems full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Team spirit is strong, and almost everyone is approachable and willing to help you. People are hard working but are also fun to work with. Projects are interesting, with great opportunities to learn new technology and increase your knowledge.

    Cons

    Company is growing very quickly, so decisions/direction sometimes seem to change frequently. You need to be open to change and be very adaptable to do well in this environment.

    Advice to Management

    None for now. Generally happy with the direction Management is going.

    Sparta Systems Response

    Jun 11, 2015

    Thank you for your review. It's great to know you can feel the camaraderie. Sparta has a "Spirit Committee" dedicated to promoting team spirit.



Showing 24 of 25 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.