St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

www.stjude.org

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews in Memphis, TN

Updated February 22, 2015
Updated February 22, 2015
71 Reviews
4.2
71 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
71 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They offer great benefits and several employee perks (in 6 reviews)

  • Great place to work, great science, great facilities (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Human resources department is very fair and balances out these disparities in style of working among departments as much as possible (in 3 reviews)

  • Demanding work schedule and long hours (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

71 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program in Memphis, TN
    Former Intern - Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program in Memphis, TN

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent summer internship experience for anyone considering a career in the fields of cancer research or medicine. Every member of the faculty and staff genuinely cares and is focused on the health and well-being of the children and their families. Despite the gravity of illnesses of the children, the hospital is filled with hope and joy, as any child should experience.

    Cons

    The only con would be that this is a summer internship experience, and full time research assistant positions are difficult to come by.

    Recommends

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your response! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at St. Jude and were able to contribute to our mission. Good luck in your future endeavors.

  2.  

    Not what I expected

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The salary.

    They do organize events for employees.

    Cons

    Memphis appears to be up and coming, but its not the greatest place to live. Also they literally fly you out right after your interview ends, so it's a blind slate when you start house shopping. That is tricky as the majority of houses near St Jude are not save to live in so navigation is important. But maybe that's the point, they don't want you to stick around even a day to see what you are in for?

    The health insurance makes frequent errors and takes at least 60 days to correct them whIle you get stuck with the bill. Its a big headache almost every time despite there being a St Jude contact point with Cigna.

    MD members are required to publish and generally do so by stripping the scientists who completed the work of proper, and sometimes any, credit. They trade authorship like candy at closed door meetings. If you try to talk to HR about productive strategies to deal with this, as it's a common complaint, instead of being constructive they will rat you out to your supervisors. And you will be bullied into submission. Big message? You are replaceable. Don't like it? Leave. I guess HR didn't like the negative segments of glassdoor reviews as we were told by HR to come fill them out.

    Very poor reward systems, the one in place I know of for research is hardly impartial. Its hard to motivate when you see lazy people being rewarded and hard workers being ignored. Or worse mistreated. Salary incentives are also sub par as even with outstanding reviews you will get nearly the same raise as an employee who is struggling.

    This kind of environment seems to favor people who don't wish to better themselves, but instead try to make others look bad. The rest burn out after about a year or two. Little clicks are created, Ive seen more screaming matches here than I ever did in high school, and it's just a bum deal considering some of us really did come because we believe in the mission statement. Of course the negative science reviews were here when I came and I looked past them believeing that an open and honest discussion prior to work being conducted could help resolve those situations. It doesn't.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If you see that many people seem to share the same opinion of the research environment then why not address it?

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Feb 27, 2015Recruiter

    We hate to hear that any St. Jude employee feels unheard and unappreciated. All of our employees deserve respect, appreciation, and a chance to contribute to our mission while developing themselves ... More

  3.  

    Best place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very good working environment. Good benefits. I have been working in St. Jude since 2003. I enjoy working in my laboratory.

    Cons

    I don't think there are any cons.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 14, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and thank you for 10+ years of service!!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    It's awesome place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    provide work friendly. Emphasizing work-life balance. good benefits.

    Cons

    no bonus, job stability is related with research fund.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 8, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate the work you do.

  6.  

    The mission and money coming into this nonprofit makes this a very rewarding place to work, but still has career limits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Technologist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Technologist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing Technology in the labs
    No shortage of money for research
    Amazing mission statement and feel like I am helping a bigger cause

    Cons

    See lots of money wasted in the research labs
    Promotions are hard to come by, usually done by length of service rather than career development
    Salaries can be lower than similar positions at other companies

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you very much for your review! We truly appreciate all of the time you have spent advancing the mission of St. Jude(you are definitely helping a bigger cause). Hopefully you've heard about ... More

  7.  

    I have learned a great deal and had the privilege of working with many talented, experienced professionals.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist GMP Manufacturing in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist GMP Manufacturing in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good hours. Decent salary. Good experience. Independence.

    Cons

    There are no major cons I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you are enjoying your time at St. Jude.

  8.  

    great place to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    research resources and great environment

    Cons

    no negative so far as I saw

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    no

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for the response. Our Research Associates are an integral part of what we do everyday! Thanks for all you do.

  9.  

    Great Work place…with amazing benefits.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Work place and an amazing mission " Finding cures and saving children".

    Cons

    immediate supervisors need to focus on implementing the projects than finding ways of how not to do it. Very slow execution.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make it little more agile environment , especially in iT projects.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 27, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for the review and the work you are doing in our IT department. Your insight about slow execution is very helpful to hear. We will make sure to pass along and hopefully the new strategic ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Employees who got promoted by Stjude hospital management / or ALSAC board - needs review, investigation, prosecutions.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Information Technology Staff in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Information Technology Staff in Memphis, TN

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    It's a Children's Research Hospital mismanaging donations in millions by public in USA with the blessings of bad management to fool public to give more and more millions of dollars more donations....it's pathetic to see this corruption grow everyday!

    Cons

    Hospital is getting donations by systematic propaganda by current ALSAC, Memphis, TN. However, current hospital management is not reliable according to fellow employee(s) experience over years. Top level is made up of families (can provide names) for decades and they made good employees' contributions to the hospital miserable by violating US labor, compliance, and work place bullying with the blessings of current hospital and HR management staff who are friends for many decades at Stjude - very disgusting to experience.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If corrupted institutions, in my opinion, new young talent must replace the management staff in both institutions. Oldies, you all either go home or prison!...investigation only will determine in a civilized world of your destination!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    its okay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time

    Pros

    The mission of helping sick children is of course a big bonus. Pay is okay. Parking is free. There is a gym.

    Cons

    I am not sure how it is one of the "100 Best Places to Work". Other than the mission, there is nothing too exceptional about working there. Salary and benefits are pretty standard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Image is not everything. Sometimes doing the right thing is more important.

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Photos

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.