St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

www.stjude.org

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews

Updated February 23, 2015
Updated February 23, 2015
99 Reviews
4.4
99 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
9 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They offer great benefits and several employee perks (in 6 reviews)

  • Great place to work, great science, great facilities (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Human resources department is very fair and balances out these disparities in style of working among departments as much as possible (in 3 reviews)

  • Demanding work schedule and long hours (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

     

    The most rewarding place I have worked in my 30 year employment history with 6 different employers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The mission of the organization, the wornderful benefits but most importantly, the appreciation I feel daily from the top management, patients and my colleagues, make this the most amazing and rewarding place I have ever worked. There are many training and advancement opportunities for those who want to keep their skills sharp or obtain more credentials.

    Cons

    Some employees who have never worked elsewhere, take for granted so many of the benefits and positive aspects of working here. I have been here for 7 years and still feel so grateful to be a part of this institution.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue your interest in making employees feel appreciated and in giving us what we need to do our jobs well. Rock on!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Feb 18, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you very much for your review and wonderful things you wrote about the hospital! We are excited to see that SJCRH is something you are passionate about that we have done a good job making you ... More

  2.  

    Amazing place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    The people are great, the work is challenging and they really take care of you here. If I was just filling out spreadsheets all day, this would still be a great place to work because of the people you interactive with here and the type of work you are doing (saving lives and curing cancer) but we are actually on the cutting edge of science and technology, so the work is challenging, fulfilling, and fun. I actually look forward to coming to work in the morning :)

    Cons

    I really have nothing bad to say. I have been sitting here thinking about a con for a few minutes and really can't come up with anything.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep on rocking.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Feb 25, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear that you enjoy the challenging work but you are right, no matter what work is being done, it's rewarding because it contributes to our mission and that's what ... More

  3.  

    Great Environment and excellent benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    I have grown tremendously in my research-based position with the help of St. Jude. As a researcher, the core facilities (Light and Electron Microscopy, Preclinical Imaging, Flow cytometry, peptide production, sequencing, microarray technology, custom vector production, pathology, and the list goes on) are excellent in their efficiency and in particular the core facility directors can be very hands on depending on the needs of the investigator.

    Cons

    The promotion pathway is a bit unclear to me.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continuing to improve employee benefits will continue to attract the most competitive candidates.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 31, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that you are enjoying your time with St. Jude. Please contact the HR department and someone would be happy to discuss the promotional process with you. We ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program in Memphis, TN
    Former Intern - Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program in Memphis, TN

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital as an intern (less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent summer internship experience for anyone considering a career in the fields of cancer research or medicine. Every member of the faculty and staff genuinely cares and is focused on the health and well-being of the children and their families. Despite the gravity of illnesses of the children, the hospital is filled with hope and joy, as any child should experience.

    Cons

    The only con would be that this is a summer internship experience, and full time research assistant positions are difficult to come by.

    Recommends

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your response! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at St. Jude and were able to contribute to our mission. Good luck in your future endeavors.

  6.  

    Great Place To Work!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    St. Jude is an incredible place to work! I have never worked anywhere like SJCRH. The hospital is extremely passionate about the work it does everyday. I don't work directly with the patients but the organization has done great job making me feel as though my work is helping the mission. Benefits are excellent and my work/life balance is superb. We have a gym at the hospital there are a lot of other things to help me enjoy my time there. I highly recommend!!

    Cons

    Decisions aren't alway made in a timely matter. Other minor things but nothing serious.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    100% paid health insurance would be nice! Our health benefits are really nice but if you want to be on par with some of the best in the world, this would be a great way to start.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    We really appreciate your review! Thanks for all of the hard work. Thank you for listing some pros and cons. We take everything you wrote seriously and will continue to examine any areas for needed ... More

  7.  

    Best place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very good working environment. Good benefits. I have been working in St. Jude since 2003. I enjoy working in my laboratory.

    Cons

    I don't think there are any cons.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 14, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and thank you for 10+ years of service!!

  8.  

    It's awesome place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Lab Specialist in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    provide work friendly. Emphasizing work-life balance. good benefits.

    Cons

    no bonus, job stability is related with research fund.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 8, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate the work you do.

  9.  

    I have learned a great deal and had the privilege of working with many talented, experienced professionals.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist GMP Manufacturing in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist GMP Manufacturing in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Good hours. Decent salary. Good experience. Independence.

    Cons

    There are no major cons I can think of.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you are enjoying your time at St. Jude.

  10.  

    Best place to work!

    Former Employee - Graduate Student
    Former Employee - Graduate Student

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

    Pros

    I worked here for a graduate assistantship. I loved every minute. The staff at SJ really focuses on the care of the children and management does a great deal to show the employees how special they are and how much they are needed. Great place.

    Cons

    Some people have problems seeing children ill, if you are one of those people, I'd pick another employer. There are areas where you can work that will limit your experience with that though.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for your review! We agree, St. Jude is a great place to work!

  11.  

    great place to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    research resources and great environment

    Cons

    no negative so far as I saw

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    no

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jan 26, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for the response. Our Research Associates are an integral part of what we do everyday! Thanks for all you do.

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Photos

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.