Stryker

  www.stryker.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Stryker Reviews

Updated August 19, 2014
Updated August 19, 2014
498 Reviews

3.9
498 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Stryker President & CEO Kevin A. Lobo
Kevin A. Lobo
172 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great work life balance, You will find great flexibility to work with no micromanagement (in 32 reviews)

  • Great benefits, nice coworkers, hr is involved with company events etc (in 19 reviews)


Cons
  • Company is still very behind the times when it comes to work/life balance (in 33 reviews)

  • The long hours taking care of account (in 20 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great for Sales Autonomy and Great Compensation

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative

    Pros

    Pretty much a Pass/Fail atmosphere. Hit your quota and you're left alone to run your territory how you choose. Compensation in Sales is excellent. Great products. Creativity in writing your own proposals and working deals is unrivaled. Customer Service and Marketing Support is strong.

    Cons

    You are expected to win every deal, every time. Pressure is high. They tend to hire 90% of the same type of rep. Management opportunities and internal growth options are limited. Struggles with back order and long tenured reps definitely get preferential treatment.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Competitive, driven, results oriented company that strives for excellence in everything they do

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources  in  Kalamazoo, MI
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Kalamazoo, MI

    Pros

    Love this company; great leader in Kevin Lobo; going to new heights under his leadership; strong product portfolio. Company has always pushed me to exceed my comfort zone and allows for autonomy in my job. Strong management that allows for indiividuality and self driven personalities. Good earning potential.

    Cons

    Sometimes we think too straight and narrow and don't allow for all possibilities to be considered.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Great leader in Kevin Lobo; strong benefits, ability to be promoted is strong; internal mobility program is great

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    Kevin Lobo is a great leader that has Stryker on the right track. Our Internal Mobility program allows employees to target specific areas in the company they feel are future areas for growth and ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to launch a career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager  in  Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Raleigh, NC

    Pros

    Management's openness and desire to share the company vision and strategic plan with its employees (i.e. a continued focus on acquisitions in revolutionary medical device companies/technology)
    Above average benefits and great earnings potential
    Great culture and relationships among co-workers

    Cons

    Lack of structure in career development

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the transparency and keep creating that buzz that makes a great culture.
    Focus more on developing internal talent

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    This is a great place to launch a career and we are ramping up our University Recruiting efforts to bring more talented college grads to Stryker. The ability to move laterally or upward is very ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Wonderful place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruiter  in  Portage, MI
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portage, MI

    Pros

    Stryker lets you drive your own career. If you are a performer, you can plan your next move within the company. You are not stuck heading down one career path. We have engineers in HR, finance people turned recruiter, etc.
    401(k) plan is amazing!
    We have such a great team of people who are driven to provide the best, safest products to our customers.

    Cons

    If you can even count this as a con, we are always busy. However, we hire the types of people that thrive in this kind of environment.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Great company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trauma Sales Manager
    Current Employee - Trauma Sales Manager

    Pros

    -Culture, everyone in the company has the same DNA....driven to succeed
    -Provides more selling resources than all competitors
    -Rewards talent, large corporation.....many options for upward mobility
    -Strategic acquisitions, continuing to invest in product development while competitors survey the field

    Cons

    -Large corporation, does not move as quickly as smaller players

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to reward top talent

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    Our culture truly defines who we are! We are driven group of people determined to work with our customers to make healthcare better.

  7.  

    A Great Place to Be

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Manager  in  West, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in West, TX

    Pros

    Great Co-workers, strong growth initiatives, People! Strong conservative culture.

    Cons

    Cross divisional teamwork but getting better

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to be innovative and outward facing toward our customers

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    Ten years is a long time and we appreciate your tenure and accomplishments. Our employees work incredibly well together regardless of which division, group organization they work in. Together we ... More

  8.  

    Love where I work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruiter  in  Kalamazoo, MI
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Kalamazoo, MI

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Autonomy
    driven culture
    professional opportunities
    found great friends
    amenities
    casual friday

    Cons

    if you are interested in moving into another field, sometimes it is difficult to gain the skills in your current role to get you ready, this is only on the occasion.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to stay aggressive and take risks. I love the areas we are addressing and driving to make our organization better. The key is allowing those of us that are extremely passionate the ability to get involved and grow into the role versus wanting us to already have ALL the necessary skills prior. Talent is exceptional here and sometimes we need people to go to bat for us and our abilities as people. I believe we are moving the needle in this area.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Great company, positive environment, family friendly!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Employees take great pride in the company, it's products, and it's mission. I feel proud to be part of such a great company that has such a positive impact in changing peoples lives!

    Cons

    While I enjoy a fast paced environment, sometimes it doesn't leave a lot of room for training successors. Fortunately, in such a team focused environment, there is support for one another to offset.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    A company like no other!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Stryker has a very unique culture – we are a talent based organization that seeks only the best and the brightest! We are a company that goes above and beyond for our surgeons, patients and of course our employees. We are a strengths based organization, so we work diligently with our employees to place them in roles that are the perfect fit with their attributes.

    Cons

    Being such a high growth, face paced company – we run fast and hard. At times, we should do a more thorough autopsy on challenges faced throughout projects to prevent them from happening again – and the outcomes should be shared across divisions to create overall best practices.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Our CEO Kevin Lobo, is approachable, open-minded, highly ethical, engaging and inspiring! He personalizes his speeches to his audience which really creates loyalty and connection for the employees. I hope to see the Group Presidents take note of his style and build that same sense of loyalty and inspiration from the groups they lead.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    Our culture is very unique and we seek and retain the most talented people for our organization. We offer opportunities for our employees to move across divisions, roles and departments to grow ... More

  11.  

    Growing company! Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition

    Pros

    Stryker is a great place to work. The culture is amazing. You get the opportunity to work with great people who challenge you everyday to be better. Great work/life balance. There is a lot of room for growth and an open door policy.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing! We are so excited about the growth happening.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Stryker Response

    Apr 23, 2014Director, TA

    This company is growing....no doubt! Five acquisitions in the past six months is very progressive....too say the least!

Worked for Stryker? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.