Supermedia Reviews

Updated June 29, 2015
327 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
2.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
167 Ratings

Pros
  • Benefits are good, although they used to be better (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • You sell Yellow Pages Advertising (in 41 reviews)

  • The disconnect between upper management and employees kept widening to the point where the bottom line overtook the value of individual employees (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

327 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. OK

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Good Training, flexible schedule, paid expenses

    Cons

    Poor management, bad leads, layoffs


  2. Contractor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Employees are friendly to new comers

    Cons

    Very very chaotic political environment

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 18, 2015Employee

    Hi - Thank you for your time provided to the company and for voicing your feedback. -Ed


  3. Enjoyed Every Minute!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    The company was fully dedicated to the latest web technology and web marketing techniques. Worked with incredibly intelligent, highly qualified people. GREAT benefits!

    Cons

    Numerous co-workers were RIF'ed over time.

    Supermedia Response

    May 26, 2015Employee

    Hi - We certainly feel that we offer the best products on the market and our employees are second to none! Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. -Ed


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good money if you can sell

    Cons

    Bad management, bad product

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 8, 2015Employee

    Hi - Thank you for providing your feedback. -Ed


  6. Site tech

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood Ranch, FL

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Decent benefits, the employees are the only thing that makes it tolerable to go to work

    Cons

    too many mergers - they lost track of the original company value and vision. more of a selling out or being bought out.

    Advice to Management

    they are now DexMedia. Even worse.

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 23, 2015Employee

    Hi- Thank you for your 10+ years of service to the company. We appreciate your feedback. -Ed


  7. Media Consultant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefits with good opportunity to grow if you played their game. I liked working with customers in presenting solutions that helped their business grow.

    Cons

    The company didn't care about it customers or employees. Upper Management only cared if you sold print products to companies that weren't savvy enough to demand more internet products. Upper Management also created a hostile environment forcing meetings after 5 and on Saturday mornings if you didn't sell the right products.

    Advice to Management

    You have a better chance of success if you focus your efforts on providing better customer service treat your employees with sincere respect.

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 2, 2015Employee

    Thank you for your service and feedback. -Ed


  8. Change is Good

    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Under long overdue and hopefully capable new management. The firm has jettisoned unnecessary and overpaid personnel, which should allow improved cash flows and a renewed focus on client-centered activity.

    Cons

    Centralized sales offices have been paired down to a few telephone call centers located, in many cases, far away from the SMBs the company intends to serve. Most local sales offices have been closed with sales reps working from home. Ongoing coaching and training will be minimal, moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to streamline the operation, focus on the client and their measurable results, and look for opportunities to exploit the growth the growth of mobile technologies.

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate your 10+ years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback. -Ed


  9. Offshoring, Bankruptcy, down-sizing, limits employee potential

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Teammates were good to work with

    Cons

    Career growth/advancement opportunities were few and far between

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 6, 2015Dex Media Corporate

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  10. I've been with the company almost 14 years the first 8 years were wonderful we worked hard but were paid well .

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    If you are a hunter and are good at finding new business this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    working from home now not going to an office is very different lonely and very hard

    Advice to Management

    too late to go back to print now

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 2, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 10 + years of dedicated service. Keep up the great work and we look forward to a brighter future together. -Ed


  11. Good time management space

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Good time management space. Good benefits

    Cons

    No real leadership and direction is all over the place

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- Thank you very much for your time and service provided to Dex Media and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed



Showing 327 of 332 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.