Talend Reviews

Updated June 18, 2015
69 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.2
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Talend CEO Mike Tuchen
Mike Tuchen
50 Ratings

Pros
  • Pretty great place to be, which is why I left the sure thing at New Relic (in 3 reviews)

  • Interesting and Challenging work opportunities in several areas such as Data Integration, Big Data and Hadoop Integration, Data Quality and MDM (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • work / life balance can be challenging (in 5 reviews)

  • The company has grown very fast and has been challenged the related growing pains (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great Market which is rapidly growing, with a new leadership team which is executing on the opportunity.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Talend full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Big Data is one of the fastest growing markets in technology, and Talend is poised to capture a significant portion of the market. The product is rock solid. The new management team is really trying to establish a growth culture, and seems to be doing all the right things. They are bringing in a bunch of talented folks at the operational management level.

    Cons

    The culture is still evolving as new management team establishes itself. They are really trying to make it a fun place to work. Snacks and weekly lunches are back.....yahoo.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the course. Management and culture change is an evolution not a revolution.

    Talend Response

    Apr 13, 2015Talent Aquisition Manager

    Thanks for the love! :)


  2. Helpful (5)

    Confused leadership

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Talend

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Mostly flexible office working hours

    Cons

    Lack of communication
    Confused, bad management
    Dirty
    Geographically strewn
    Lack of team spirit

    Talend Response

    Jun 19, 2015CEO

    I'm sorry that you didn't have a good experience at Talend. Good luck at your next company.

    - Mike Tuchen, CEO


  3. Exciting and always-on

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Talend full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Variety of work, opportunity to learn and apply

    Cons

    Not very streamlined like mature companies

    Advice to Management

    It is the people who make up a company.

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your comments. I’m glad that you’re having a good experience here at Talend. I agree completely that people are by far the most important thing for our success today and tomorrow ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (6)

    Not typical Silicon Valley Hi-tech company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I worked at Talend full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Nice new office and perks. Delight to work in. Some nice and capable people to work with. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Senior management didn't have positive impact on the company, so that the culture is wired in transition period, a former European company with a CEO who came from east coast. There's no R&D in Silicon Valley and too much emphasis on Sales and Marketing, which make the long term outlook uncertain. Low employee retention rate.

    Advice to Management

    Connect and talk more frequently with your people about your outlook and actions. Care your people and boost morale.

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thanks for your comments. As the CEO from the east coast (go Pats, good luck in the first 4 games this season without #12) I’m not sure I understand the comment about too much emphasis on sales ... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    A diluted start-up with confused leadership! It will do nothing for your career.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Talend full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They have a nice new office. Unfortunately, half the office space will be subleased to another company due to poor budgeting and or incoming revenue.

    Cons

    Newer technologies are coming to market and their lack of product innovation will inhibit their growth. More people are leaving than coming. Customer's are unhappy with the lack of support. Data is very poor so the leadership is blindly guiding the company. Treat people poorly and very political.

    Advice to Management

    Clear strategy and good culture will drive performance. Find it soon!

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry you didn’t have a better experience here at Talend. Best of luck in your new company. Our business is actually exploding right now (+78% growth in Q1 for ... More


  7. Helpful (9)

    Great Products, Company is Growing, Culture could be better...

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Talend full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    - Majority of people are friendly. They make working at Talend fun!
    - The reviews about the new management is true. Could be good or bad... however you want to spin it.
    - They are still very start-up ish in the sense they are trying to figure out what works and what does not. Sometime interesting to find out how to better improve process.

    Cons

    Culture. Plain and simple. The person they have in charge has everyone fooled that everything is under control. I work in the Redwood office, and can only speak for that location, and for the past 6 months, things have changed drastically and it all stems down to this person. This person has worked very closely to many of the dept heads for more of a political gain and support, rather than figuring how to maintain a happy, healthy environment. Speculations across the floor has everyone on edge about this person. HR manager left due to personality difference. The recruiting coordinator was let go to hire 2 friends in the Phillipines. And rather than resolving issues head on, like many other startups who expect executives to "wear multiple hats", issues are delegated to the office manager and payroll admin, all the while this is the definition to "triage".

    Advice to Management

    People want a product and leadership they can believe in and a harmonious place to work. If Talend's management does not live up to the standard or pedastool we once placed you at, that is of great disservice to all of the employees. I did not mind this in the beginning while people gossiped but when our new benefits are not being handled correctly due to poor management and willingness to "get your hands dirty", that's a problem. Let's put it this way - if the head of POPS were to leave, talend would still be able to manage because of the great people who are currently managing certain tasks. But if those people were to leave, this manager would be completely lost. Food for thought...

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. I agree that we made a couple mistakes last year, but as you know we've course corrected. I'm very excited about the team we have in place now.

    Mike Tuchen, CEO


  8. Helpful (3)

    surprised to read about politics and culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Talend full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I have been working here several years and have seen a few changes. in particular the investment in culture and attention into people. this is not fair to attack the ones who especially care about employee's work environment. If you have to be personal, don't use an anonymous forum. tell it directly.

    Cons

    work hard everyday and repeat :-)

    Advice to Management

    you're doing the right things. keep going

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your comments. I’m glad that you’re happy here at Talend. I completely agree with you that it’s far better to be direct and candid.

    Mike Tuchen, CEO


  9. Helpful (2)

    Great times ahead for a phenomenal company!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR

    I have been working at Talend full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Talend's time has come - great products, great partners, great customers. The company has gone through a tremendous amount of change the past two years but from someone who has experienced it first hand, I feel we now have the RIGHT leadership team in place across all organizations. Change is hard sometimes and there can be confusion but we are now poised to execute on all fronts starting with an amazing CEO, extremely competent Sales management team, and a strong HR organization (led by a very competent leader who BTW was personally instrumental in making this year's Quota club the best ever! - Thank you for all of the personal dedication and attention!)

    Bottom line: Joining Talend would be one of the best decisions you could make.

    Cons

    There are still some infrastructure and processes which need to come up to speed as a result of so many changes (personnel thru applications) BUT these have been acknowledged and are being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop your internal resources and provide them with a focused career path which leverages their experience and knowledge of Talend.

    Talend Response

    Apr 13, 2015Talent Aquisition Manager

    The time is now! :) thanks for the positivity...! :)


  10. Helpful (10)

    Confused C-level Management

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Talend

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Product, people outside of senior management

    Cons

    Culture has eroded and is highly political especially since there is a huge problem with keeping any Senior Management for at least a year, it has become a revolving door and the employees feel like there is not room for growth if they keep getting a new boss every six months. Leadership is not desirable, it seems like a fake it till you make it team. The HR (oh excuse me I mean POPS AKA People Operations) has gotten considerably worse since they brought someone in to run it that is rude, entitled and inappropriate...seriously you invited yourself with no agenda to the Sales Quota Club that was extremely poor form. It used to feel like the employees were cared about but that is gone.

    Advice to Management

    Know what it is you want and stop making poor choices in hiring your senior management team it comes across to the employees that you are confused and don't know what you are doing, people have lost confidence and many are looking to go elsewhere. It is really sad because the product is amazing and the company can do amazing things but your leadership feels like you are playing games and since the Founders are gone the company is slowly losing it's purpose and meaning. I suggest you give us an outlet where we can feel comfortable sharing our feedback or we would not have to result in sharing it publicly here. Revamp your HR and bring the human aspect back in. Please put someone in charge that actually cares (not just order ikea furniture for an office that is mostly empty aka glorified interior designer).

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. You were clearly frustrated when you wrote this note and for that I’m sorry. Change is often uncomfortable and stressful and we certainly experienced a number of shifts ... More


  11. Helpful (8)

    Not the great company it once was

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Talend full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -New office and some great colleagues
    -Solid product
    -Flexible work schedule

    Cons

    -Lack of culture...trying to manufacture a hip silicon valley startup vibe when it isn't Talend's true identity.
    -Large amount of turnover - people have been leaving or getting let go left and right, and morale has plummeted because of this.
    -Compensation is not competitive with other tech companies in the area.
    -Catered lunches and snacks were taken away.

    Advice to Management

    Need performance feedback more than once per year. One year of work is an eternity in the bay area.

    Talend Response

    May 19, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry you your experience at Talend got worse as we went through a number of team changes last year. I agree with you and believe it’s critical to the company to ... More



Showing 69 of 72 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.