Texas Instruments

  www.ti.com
  www.ti.com

Texas Instruments Reviews

Updated December 16, 2014
Updated December 16, 2014
1,221 Reviews
3.7
1,221 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Texas Instruments Chairman, President, and CEO Rich Templeton
Rich Templeton
767 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great work/life balance (of course depends on the type of role you are in) (in 130 reviews)

  • Nice campus, you may have a relaxed work environment, depending on your boss (in 69 reviews)


Cons
  • Work life balance is difficult to have when the job demands are more than the people to complete the job (in 41 reviews)

  • Entitlement mentality towards uncompensated labor from middle and upper management (in 28 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Fantastic Early Career Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Process Engineer
    Current Employee - Process Engineer

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hard-working culture, Given as much responsibility as you can handle, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Work-life balance, some aspects of culture

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay attention to new research regarding compensation, results oriented work environments, and proactive vs. reactive management styles. The company is doing a lot of things right - but there's always room for improvement when it comes to managing people. Focus on doing what we do best, and treat our people like the amazing hard workers they are and we will continue to outgrow the market. Focus on fear-based management and other styles from 20 years ago and we'll go under in no-time flat.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    A fair experience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analog Design Engineer
    Current Employee - Analog Design Engineer

    I have been working at Texas Instruments

    Pros

    Very good place to learn and understand the flow of chip designing, packaging, testing. Fairly good design tools available. Fairly good work-life balance and good recognition from midlevel managers. Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    I did not find too many cons. Reorganizations due to merging business units disturbs the calm and comfort, but this is likely to happen at other places as well.
    Abysmal cafeterias.
    Leadership is fair.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    good company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior IC Designer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Senior IC Designer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    good benefit and match program

    Cons

    hire more new grads not experienced

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Texas Instruments Response

    Dec 9, 2014Worldwide Recruiting Leader

    Thank you for posting and congratulations on 10+ years with TI!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great work, great people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    So many people of all ages to socialize with.

    The work is also great and low stress.

    Cons

    Rotation programs leave you with very little say of where you end up.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Texas Instruments Response

    Dec 3, 2014Worldwide Recruiting Leader

    Thanks for posting, and sharing your thoughts on the rotation program. It's always valuable to hear from our employees!

  6.  

    Good company to learn your ropes

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Engineer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Brilliant minds, fast paced work environment (of course, depends on your position and team), lots to learn. Good compensation.

    Cons

    Depending on your team, you may or may not get visibility with upper management for your contributions/success. I have been lucky to have good, ambitious supervisors but know of others who are not so lucky.
    Travel to customer sites is usually restricted to upper echelons of management. Frequent restructuring while understandable financially, can tend to demotivate employees if the reasons are not clearly and crisply specified.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communicate more frequently with your employees.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Texas Instruments Response

    Dec 9, 2014Worldwide Recruiting Leader

    We appreciate you taking the time to post and offering insight. It's always valuable to hear from our employees!

  7.  

    Engineering vs Non-technical.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Engineer
    Current Employee - Product Engineer

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time

    Pros

    Product engineering(PE) is where the number 1 picks of engineering graduates go. Recently they hire the best graduates from schools for this position but only IF a position is available.
    Very challenging environment. A lot of technical trainings. In turn, a big expectation from you.
    Continuous learning.
    TI is the best semicon industry(see the records). Not the best salary though.

    Cons

    Other groups does not seem to know your job. they think you are doing nothing at all.
    They have little respect for engineering groups(not just PE).
    Non engineering groups are not very supporting and are very demanding. They seem to think that we should support them, but in fact should be the other way around.
    No unity. Very divided.
    Poor work life balance(shifting schedules)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Advise other groups to have more respect to engineering groups. After all, engineering is the core of innovation and progress. Concentrate more on your technical employees...

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Great company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great compensation - salary, medical, 401k, ESPP, options, bonus for high performers.

    Cons

    Great place for new college grads.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Texas Instruments Response

    Dec 9, 2014Worldwide Recruiting Leader

    Thank you for sharing - we appreciate hearing from our employees - current and past.

  9.  

    A great company, with good benefits and big on safety.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Texas Instruments

    Pros

    I love my days off, I'm working three days on and four off then four on and three off.

    Cons

    The twelve hour shifts takes some getting used to.

    Approves of CEO

    Texas Instruments Response

    Dec 9, 2014Worldwide Recruiting Leader

    Thank you for posting - it's great to hear first-hand from TIers, especially when it comes to safety and schedules.

  10.  

    More interested in share price than anything else

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Planner in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Planner in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and global exposure. Very few managers are decent and care about employee growth. Others (and most of them) just screw employees so that they look good in front of their management.

    Cons

    Care only about the share price, not interested in investing in R&D. Too siloed and no one seems to care about each other. Just doing good work is not enough. Have to please a lot of incompetent people to keep yourself employed. Not a place for creative thinking anymore.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Employees are human. Treat them as such.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
  11.  

    Ok to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Texas Instruments full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Mostly employee orientated until your group/division is seen as not relevant.

    Cons

    Top heavy and driven by upper management that are little more than bean counters. No regard to innovation or staying abreast of technology.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Change!!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Texas Instruments? Share Your Experiences

Texas Instruments

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.