The Fresh Market

  www.thefreshmarket.com
  www.thefreshmarket.com

The Fresh Market Reviews

Updated November 26, 2014
Updated November 26, 2014
435 Reviews
2.5
435 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Fresh Market President and CEO Craig Carlock
Craig Carlock
246 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The best thing about working for them is 20% discount on food (in 54 reviews)

  • Employee discount program is excellent - 20% to start and it goes up with more tenure (in 24 reviews)


Cons
  • Store managers last an average of about a year in my experience (in 31 reviews)

  • Upper Management/Home office have no clue what goes on in stores (in 25 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Being looked over for a postion

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Fresh Market

    Pros

    It's really not a bad place to work.

    Cons

    You can't advance much in this company. You have the experience and knowledge of the job. They look over you for someone that done have any experience or knowledge of the job. But they know someone in management to get the postion. And they are not running it you are. But you're not getting paid they are and I don't think that's fair.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Fresh Market Response

    Nov 12, 2014HR

    We are sorry you feel that career advancement in the company is not what you had anticipated it would be. If feel that you have not been given the ample opportunity to continue your growth within the ... More

  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    I've been working there for most of this year.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Fresh Market part-time

    Pros

    Heads make sure you get the days off you need with no fuss.
    Free coffee.
    The three major holidays off.
    Everyone that works there is pretty much friendly and helpful, including all of the managers.
    20% discount on everything except for alcohol, including sales.
    Work with you to make sure you're happy with your position, ect.
    So far, a positive experience with the people and the job I'm doing.

    Cons

    Hours are random and never the same from week to week making it very difficult to plan anything beyond that week.
    Hours get cut drastically with no explanation or regards to you having to have money to live. I was hired for one amount of hours and ended up with a third of that, forcing me to get a second job and finally transfer to a totally different department that is much more physically demanding.... a job I would have NEVER applied for.
    Then after your hours are severely cut, the same amount of work is still expected of you. Because we all know that less hours with the same amount of work is fine and dandy. You have to kill yourself for a couple of dollars above minimum wage.
    I've heard how things are done at other locations and how horrible the managers are at those locations so I count myself lucky to have the team that I do have.
    I gave it three stars because of the cons part of this review.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    This company wouldn't have such a high turnover rate of employees and would be more successful if they would stop messing with hours, pay more, weed out the dead beats and realize that people are humans and can't do eight hours of work in five hours. I know it's all about "the numbers" but you need to get with the program.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Fresh Market Response

    Nov 12, 2014HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your current experience working at The Fresh Market. We are glad to hear that The Fresh Market has been able to provide a friendly work ... More

  3.  

    I have loved my experience working for the fresh market, great company to work for .

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Fresh Market full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    above average wages, room for growth, supportive management. this company wants to grow its employees into managers.

    Cons

    long hours, rarely get 2 days off in a row.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Meat manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Fresh Market

    Pros

    Benefits and days off. So tired after work had to rest for hours. 6 days a week and no overtime pay.

    Cons

    Run for your life if you can and enjoy the good things in life

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be leaders

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Fresh Market Response

    Nov 12, 2014HR

    Thank you for your review about your experience working at The Fresh Market. We are sorry to hear that the work-life balance in your current role is not in line with what you are expecting from an ... More

  6.  

    Challenging Career Adventure

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Grocery Specialist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - Grocery Specialist in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at The Fresh Market part-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The Food, Benefits, co-workers, Sampling Events

    Cons

    This company is not your ordinary grocery store. For instance, a grocery associate will have to be the receiver, grocery clerk, dairy clerk, frozen clerk, and do inventories. It is a lot for only 4-5 people depending on sales.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They do the best they can because they also have many,many, responsibilities and not enough help.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    It's ok

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Fresh Market

    Pros

    Great food, healthy eating, opens you to knew flavor a and brands.

    Cons

    No communication from management to employees, last minute review on sales and deals (finding things out after the fact)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communicate!! Review upcoming sales with all employees

    No opinion of CEO

    The Fresh Market Response

    Oct 30, 2014HR

    Thank you for your comment in regards to communication concerns at your store. We understand communication is crucial and essential to any company, and we are constantly trying to improve. ~TFM

  8.  

    The fresh market has a recipe that calms all senses.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cashier
    Current Employee - Cashier

    I have been working at The Fresh Market (less than an year)

    Pros

    The moment I step in the door all my senses are at ease. The calming music, the delicious scents, the warm lighting, the smiling faces on both customers and coworkers. It's a very peaceful environment. Of course humans will be human, no one is perfect. But as far as retail goes this is certainly the best retail job I've ever had!

    Cons

    I would like to see more full time positions available, and possibly pto offered to part trimmers. Also hours can fluctuate radically. The location I currently work at is constantly getting hours cut. Not totally sure where that stems from but I know it's stressing my store manager out. As well as making it difficult on everyone else.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    The Fresh Market Response

    Nov 11, 2014HR

    We are glad to hear that The Fresh Market has proven to be a calming place to work for you! Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your experience and I hope we are able to continue ... More

  9.  

    Its ok

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Fresh Market

    Pros

    discount, Friendly co workers, benefits

    Cons

    low pay, no training, not a happy place

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    benefits,

    The Fresh Market Response

    Nov 11, 2014HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience working at The Fresh Market. We appreciate your feedback in regards to compensation, training, and moral. As we continue to grow ... More

  10.  

    Has potential, if they would actually try

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cashier in Johnson City, TN
    Current Employee - Cashier in Johnson City, TN

    I have been working at The Fresh Market part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Mostly friendly employees
    20% discount
    Easy job, not very demanding
    Willing to work with school schedules (most of the time)
    You can request off as long as it's not during the holidays

    Cons

    Management never does anything. They all huddle together and talk instead of doing real work. The managers often gossip and say disrespectful things about their female employees and customers.
    At my particular store, the actual front end manager never does anything. One of the assistant front end managers makes the schedule and thinks that she is God. If she's mad at you, she cuts your hours. Many employees and customers have had problems with her and her attitude, but nothing has been done to solve them.
    It took four months for the manager to put my yearly raise in the computer.
    They give little to no training for new employees and expect them to know exactly what to do.
    Schedules are never consistent. This makes planning things more than a week in advance very difficult. For example, one employee had to reschedule an important doctor's appointment four times because the assistant FEM wouldn't give her the day off that she requested.
    Front end managers will fuss at you for not doing something (such as standing at the end of your register) and then wander around the store doing nothing.
    Customers at this store are often snobby rich people (because they're the only ones who can afford the food) that ask stupid questions and have no regard for the employees.
    Employees who don't do their jobs are not punished and management just lowers their expectations for that employee.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop slacking and get it together.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  11.  

    Assistant Store Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Hendersonville, NC
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Hendersonville, NC

    I worked at The Fresh Market full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Customers and food were high quality. It was nice to sell something you believed to be the highest of quality.

    Cons

    This small time backwoods good ole boy operation is still ran like it has 10 stores instead of well over 100. If you are looking for fairness, integrity and a human resource team to protect the rights of employees, keep on looking elsewhere. Promotions go to whomever the Regional Manager favors as a pet project rather than those who consistently perform well above standard. No sick days, pay is well below industry standard, employees are just numbers and support from the main office is non-existent.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Promote people who will take the company to the next level, rather than who attended your last private bbq. Get a new HR team, maybe one who attended college and can read.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at The Fresh Market? Share Your Experiences

The Fresh Market

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.