The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews in Atlanta, GA

Updated August 18, 2014
Updated August 18, 2014
4,753 Reviews

3.3
4,753 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake
Frank Blake
2,991 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill (in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 241 reviews)

More Highlights

342 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Safe Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Inventory Analyst  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Inventory Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Great place to have a stable job, work to life balance is a positive since workload is manageable. Room for lateral movement to new departments once you're in the company.

    Cons

    Fair amount of turnover due to dissatisfied employees. Compensation is not on par with comparable jobs, this contributes to the high turnover. Most company values appear to just be surface level and not ingrained in the culture.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    It was a good experience overall

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Relaxed work attire.
    People willing to teach
    Changing roles when possible.
    Stock Program
    Office amenities

    Cons

    Hard to move pay significantly
    There can be cliches

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep putting money into customer service at the stores.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Management doesn't to be able to coordinate across the org, challenges with work-life balance and realistic workload

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Great retail establishment, great mission (empowering people to do their own improvements, improving the living conditions of customers)

    Cons

    department has bad attitude, company culture seems cold, not friendly, impersonal

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Soft skills training, "company culture" indoctrination/initiatives, and brand management need to be going on ALL the time, perpetually. And as far as the culture goes, dust it off and really focus on EACH area of the culture wheel. Let's face it some of those areas are flat out ignored or seem to be in various pockets of the company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Miserable place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance Supervisor  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Finance Supervisor in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say about this company except that there is a Willy's, Starbucks, and Chick Filet close by.

    Cons

    No appreciation shown to employees. Promotions given based on time spent in the office and not actual work. No work life balance or flexibility regarding days off. No employee discounts (Lowes' employees get them and their prices are not more expensive than Home Depot)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Start appreciating the low men on the totem pole. Give an employee discount. Be more accommodating to people for days off during the holidays. Amend the bonus structure.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. In the same way that The Home Depot’s products help people build homes and projects, the eight core values we uphold help us build a strong business and culture. Our nearly ... More

  6.  

    Excellent peers to work for and learn from.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the flexible hours and bonus programs. The culture at The Home Depot is very inviting and engaging. Loved interacting with the customers also.

    Cons

    Based on years of experience and college degree the salary was much lower than expected after 4 years of service. The Home Depot does not grow company from within.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Grow company from within

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 15, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    What started as a great career ended with me being disrespected and "laid off"

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Compliance Research Specialist  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Compliance Research Specialist in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Originally the company was great to work for - the benefits were awesome, raises happened often and were very substantial. I'm still friends with the people I worked with early on in my career, and we all loved the company.

    Cons

    After Bob Nardelli became CEO the company slid drastically from first to worst company to work for or shop in. Having zero retail experience, he was the main reason the stock dropped and sales have never rebounded to the stage before him.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your employees as you want to be treated, and do not lay off people with 16 years experience because they make decent money; utilize their knowledge properly and grow the company in a positive manner.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Our associates are key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected, their contributions are valued and they have ... More

  8.  

    Lack of quality leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - User Experience Architect  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - User Experience Architect in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits. Opportunity to experience corporate BS first hand. Made me a stronger person.

    Cons

    The leadership took really talented people and squashed all the creativity and spirit out of them by micromanaging and lack of empowerment. They treated people as interchangeable productivity resources rather than individuals. It made for mediocre project outcomes and low morale.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Leadership training and team building experiences. Understand and leverage individual talent.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  9.  

    Depending on boss and department, your experience may vary greatly; somewhat chaotic.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Design  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Design in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    (Corporate) Growing company, lots of changes and opportunity to make an impact. There is a strong community outreach component and some nice services in the corporate HQ. In two years employees are vested in profit sharing.

    Cons

    (Corporate) With turnover and hiring freezes, and some processes in limbo or undefined, work can be fairly chaotic. The building is beyond capacity, and some floors have very little personal space for employees; there are few places to even make a personal cell phone call.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The HQ building has surprising instances of disrepair (bathrooms esp) and just seems crowded. Many contractors work here long term but do not seem included in simple ways to feel more part if the team. Who is in charge of what and many policies seem to be a mystery sometimes.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 9, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing. We value our associates and understand that they are the key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they’re respected and that their ... More

  10.  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Friendly, Communication, work atmosphere, lots of learning,

    Cons

    Not much room for growth, pay

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more involved

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 3, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your internship with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  11.  

    Fast-paced, plenty to learn from

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Corp HQ  in  Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Corp HQ in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    If you like a fast-paced work environment with always new things to learn, this is the place for you. If you're looking to take a "cushy corporate job," look elsewhere. That being said, every department is different so you may find a niche area to settle down. Plenty of room for advancement if you work hard and network well.

    Cons

    It's almost impossible to find work-life balance and still be successful in your career here. This company is so successful because they don't settle for paper-pushers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Give a little more work-life balance when possible.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 3, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot and try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.