The Home Depot

www.homedepot.com
Employer Engaged

The Home Depot Reviews in Chicago, IL

Updated February 8, 2015
Updated February 8, 2015
53 Reviews
3.1
53 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
53 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 254 reviews)

  • It has a good benefits package with a chance to obtain 7% bonus if you have a good review (in 225 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 170 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 282 reviews)

More Highlights

53 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great company to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Special Services Associate in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Special Services Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Awesome benefits. Keep fit. Advance potential. Meet new people. Learn so many new things and fix your "broken" by yourself! Transfer to a new city? - Transfer to a new store!

    Cons

    Working with the public, some customers can be rude! It can be a "Man's world" there!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your associates and back them up!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Dec 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Working for The Home Depot

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Profit sharing, flexible hours, good benefits, 401k, fun people

    Cons

    Pay is very bad, schedule is inconsistent. Promotions are hard to come by, no discounts, medical benifits require screenings to keep costs down, not a career it's a part time job. College degree means nothing as far as worth and pay to this company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay your people more for certain positions and pay a livable wage in general for full time employees. People with degrees should have more opportunities in supervisory roles or be considered for upper management.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Mar 4, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Regular Retai Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Cashier in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Some of the supervisors were true team players and that showed in the tougher times i.e. when employees called in sick.Managers on duty were accessible even for newest of employees.

    Cons

    Too many employees calling in and leaving the team very short-handed on some of the busiest days. This affected employees who came in to work as scheduled.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More action in terms of frequent "call ins" by certain employees. Better reward/incentive program for top sellers.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Good place to learn.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    The chance to learn is there if you want it and you're proactive.

    Cons

    Too much bean counting. Everything is just a number, including the employees. The company has lost sight of the human aspect.

    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  6.  

    Okay place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling if needed, excellent co-workers

    Cons

    Micromanagers everywhere, people promoted who really shouldn't be

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Chill

    The Home Depot Response

    Jan 23, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. Keep up the great work!

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Ok job to get by while your looking for a career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers make this a decent enviroment

    Cons

    low salary, no benefits, managers are only interested in their own career.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire someone that is qualified to be a manager, not your friend

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Feb 3, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    It's a great stepping stone learning experience in the retail sector.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good company goals and vision, leadership varies per store as it has different atmospheres that managers implement. Benefits are okay, they are only good and get better for full time employees and people at the top. Tuition assistance has a cap of 3k per year and only cover 50% of what you paid, which is not a lot.

    Cons

    The starting pay sucks and raises are pathetic! Been working there for over 3 years haven not seen a dollar more since my starting pay. People that move up are not the brightest people, they are mostly brown nosing people. Hard working people are the pets and the backbone of this company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    give more raises and more respect to people that earn their paychecks instead of other people that hardly work or take the job as a joke.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Dec 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Millwork Sales Specialist

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Vacation is competitive with other companies
    Other than that, there is nothing else that I can see as a pro

    Cons

    No work/life balance
    New employees are being hired at minimum wage or just above
    Management for the stores are a bunch of lemmings
    Boasts excellent benefits, however 90% of the great benefits were taken away 10-15 years ago
    The remainder of the benefits are practically useless
    Does not care for their employees
    Any good that is done is purely for PR

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Instead of preaching about how you care for your employees, show it! Offer to pay people a living wage, and you might actually be able to hire worthwhile employees. The corporate greed needs to come to an end. This last hiring season was a complete joke. During an EOC survey, Management told us to look at Wal-Mart, and say "at least we're not as bad as them". My father always taught me to never compare myself to the worst person in the room, you'll only end up being the second worst.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Dec 29, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  10.  

    Not what it use to be.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Has enough supplies for your "do it your-selfer."
    Great for part time!

    Cons

    Lack of tradesmen for professional advice because the pay sucks!
    Poor management in most stores.
    Always cutting hours for the bottom line

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get back to the old way of doing things

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  11.  

    associate

    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    work life balance is good here

    Cons

    changing schedules frequently and too by the book

Work at The Home Depot? Share Your Experiences

The Home Depot

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.