The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.2 4,535 reviews

81% Approve of the CEO

The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake

Frank Blake

(2,876 ratings)

62% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits(in 205 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill(in 189 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to(in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits(in 240 reviews)

4,535 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great place if you are willing to work hard.

    Anonymous (Current Employee)

    ProsAdvancement opportunities for anyone willing to do the work.

    ConsConstant unnecessary changes and no employee discounts on products.

    Advice to Senior ManagementChanges should be thought through before implementing instead of after the fact.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your review. Our associates are key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected, their contributions are valued and they have ... More
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great job, not a career.

    Merchandise Department Supervisor (Current Employee) Sacramento, CA

    ProsGraet sales experience, aquired alot of home renevation knowledge. Apportunities to grow and share the company's success.

    ConsWorking with home depot requires extreme dedication to your job. Work-life balance is definitly scales down to work if you are in any managerial position. The company hires anyone with or without experience even people with no work ethics.

    Advice to Senior ManagementDiscontinue FAST program ( work shif scheduel that requires full availability ) because this program leaves employees with no life time.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. Keep up the great work!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Good, Could be better.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsOlder associates are very knowledgeable, Great philosophy on dealing with people (associates and customers alike)

    ConsTHIS MAY ONLY APPLY TO MY STORE, BUT: I think promotions should be considered on the basis of merit and not solely because management likes you. While I understand personality and networking go a long way, I also believe that hard-working people who consistently produce results should be given the opportunity to lead. This should be basic management 101, however that's not always the case... We have had management promote associates who have little to no prior experience and have also been with the less than a year in a single department. How can these associates fully understand the business for this short amount of time?

    Advice to Senior ManagementTrain store management to look for the associates who spend time being productive rather than conversing about the office gossip with other managers. Also build a drive to look for associate that have relevant experience and possibly degrees in relevant fields of study. These associates are fresh and ready to be molded into Orange-Blooded Warriors!

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Cashier

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsBosses were great, work enviorment was ok.

    ConsNone much, liked working here

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep on keeping on

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Good Company

    Intern (Former Employee) Atlanta, GA

    ProsFriendly, Communication, work atmosphere, lots of learning,

    ConsNot much room for growth, pay

    Advice to Senior ManagementBe more involved

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your internship with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    Not a bad company as long as you work hard

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    Prosdecent pay hours are good

    Consshort staffed over worked

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Home Depot

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat place to work management is fair and has a great value system that benefits associates and customers.

    ConsHours can be demanding on personal life.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities

     

    Very friendly, inviting environment.

    Cashier (Current Employee) Lawrence, KS

    ProsGood pay, great company values, work with grey people

    ConsIt can be hot sometimes

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    good

    Sales Associate (Former Employee) San Jose, CA

    Prospeople are nice and helpful and it is a good atmosphere to work in for person looking to move up and build a career over time that one could advance and grow in

    Consgets really busy at times but that is a good thing to make the day go by quickly. Be nice if they had more training done from within to learn more and advance within the company

    Advice to Senior Managementmore training from within

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    don't get paid enough

    Garden Associate (Current Employee) Lawton, OK

    ProsI like the company benefits

    Conslack of appreciation from department heads and management.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.