The Home Depot

  www.homedepot.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.2 4,571 reviews

81% Approve of the CEO

The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake

Frank Blake

(2,888 ratings)

62% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits(in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill(in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to(in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits(in 241 reviews)

4,571 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in

     

    Good place to work

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    Prosdecent wage
    good job for young people

    Consold grumpy co-workers
    weren't many cons really

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 8, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    sales

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) Pitts, PA

    Prosfun fast pace great team
    holiday long hours
    i worked black friday from 6am till 8pm

    Consnone no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Cashier

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsBosses were great, work enviorment was ok.

    ConsNone much, liked working here

    Advice to Senior ManagementKeep on keeping on

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.
  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Good Company

    Intern (Former Employee) Atlanta, GA

    ProsFriendly, Communication, work atmosphere, lots of learning,

    ConsNot much room for growth, pay

    Advice to Senior ManagementBe more involved

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your internship with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Good, Could be better.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsOlder associates are very knowledgeable, Great philosophy on dealing with people (associates and customers alike)

    ConsTHIS MAY ONLY APPLY TO MY STORE, BUT: I think promotions should be considered on the basis of merit and not solely because management likes you. While I understand personality and networking go a long way, I also believe that hard-working people who consistently produce results should be given the opportunity to lead. This should be basic management 101, however that's not always the case... We have had management promote associates who have little to no prior experience and have also been with the less than a year in a single department. How can these associates fully understand the business for this short amount of time?

    Advice to Senior ManagementTrain store management to look for the associates who spend time being productive rather than conversing about the office gossip with other managers. Also build a drive to look for associate that have relevant experience and possibly degrees in relevant fields of study. These associates are fresh and ready to be molded into Orange-Blooded Warriors!

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 3, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Good company but I had a bad manager

    Sales Associate (Former Employee) Lubbock, TX

    ProsA good company. They have this program where they help you out if you are sick or something. Good culture.

    ConsThe management is in full control. I had a bad manager who would bully me and pick on me. Their was nothing I could do.

    Advice to Senior ManagementYou should control the sales department heads. Sometimes they are unfair. Treat everyone well.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 8, 2014

    Thank you for your review. In the same way that The Home Depot’s products help people build homes and projects, the eight core values we uphold help us build a strong business and culture. Our nearly ... More
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great job, not a career.

    Merchandise Department Supervisor (Current Employee) Sacramento, CA

    ProsGraet sales experience, aquired alot of home renevation knowledge. Apportunities to grow and share the company's success.

    ConsWorking with home depot requires extreme dedication to your job. Work-life balance is definitly scales down to work if you are in any managerial position. The company hires anyone with or without experience even people with no work ethics.

    Advice to Senior ManagementDiscontinue FAST program ( work shif scheduel that requires full availability ) because this program leaves employees with no life time.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. Keep up the great work!
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Strong but demanding company

    Specialty Sales Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) West Palm Beach, FL

    ProsGreat culture with focus on employees. Extremely stable company that is not affected by the economy. Excellent benefits with good pay and fair bonus structure

    ConsDifficult work-life balance as an ASM can be worked as many hours as needed.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. We are happy to hear you are having a ... More
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    The Home Depot gives great service.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsIt is a descent place of work.

    ConsPicking up on heavy objects

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 9, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.

     

    Treat their employees good

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsThey give pretty good benefits and if you're one of the good employees the management treat you well and with respect.

    ConsNone that I can think of. I love my experience there.

    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review

    Jul 14, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.