The Home Depot

www.homedepot.com
Employer Engaged

The Home Depot Reviews in Houston, TX

Updated February 25, 2015
Updated February 25, 2015
121 Reviews
3.2
121 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
121 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 254 reviews)

  • It has a good benefits package with a chance to obtain 7% bonus if you have a good review (in 225 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 170 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 282 reviews)

More Highlights

121 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Fun working environment along with a solid learning experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cashier in Katy, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Katy, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    They have great customer service along with a large virility or tools and equipment needed for customers to get in and get out happy.

    Cons

    Not too many cons with this company. I'd have to say prices on bigger equipment is alittle pricy but over all I'm not complaining

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  2.  

    company that can only make you to survive, no future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    this big box retailer is step stone for the one with no education and doesn't speak English.
    decent wages, better than most of the retailers

    Cons

    unfair treatment to different associates. zero brain cell, sick, lazy and low self esteem individuals are the basic requirements for being promoted
    managers or assistants managers are at high risks of getting fired for any "you name it" reason

    honestly, some associates can have party every second, some associates work worst than working in a farm

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    supervisers and managers military management in the big box orange compound

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  3.  

    The Home Improvement Co.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Katy, TX
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Katy, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers who eventually become friends. If you love retail, this is the company to work for. Every 6 months all employees get a bonus (if that store fulfilled it's. Obligations, that is). With this company you can move up the ranks very quickly.

    Cons

    With every business there is a good side and there is a bad side. Same with this company. The politics can be frustrating. You can move up the ranks very quickly, but the training of individuals on how to be a leader and how to lead is seriously lacking. The precious company I came from when I moved out of state made sure their leaders were properly trained to manage. No employee discount.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The corporate body need to hire an independent company to teach managers of ALL levels how to be managers and how to interact with their people.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Feb 24, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great place to work, but a little frustrating at times

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cashier in Galveston, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Galveston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, lots of maneuverability within the company, never a chance to be bored with your job, always something new to learn

    Cons

    HR personel don't always pay attention to your availability, and some ASM's have tendency to sweep things under the rug if they're inconvenient to deal with…

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jan 23, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More

  6.  

    Great people to work with, horrible company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Benefits. ... are really good.

    Cons

    Corporate after store level. Just a number

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    Multitasking is a must during face paced prime time hours

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    empowered to make sales
    great christmas party
    rewarding customer service opportunites

    Cons

    scheduling for part time workers
    busy times of day can be overwhelming
    often understaffed

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    all associates should need to be trained in at least one special skill, many times special services are unavailable

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jan 9, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all ... More

  8.  

    Enjoyable company overall to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good perks and good hours,

    Cons

    If you're ok with the pay its a great place. Be careful they fire people for very little.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jan 9, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  9.  

    Just a part time job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Conroe, TX
    Former Employee - Cashier in Conroe, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Success Share if your store performed well

    Cons

    There are no cons that i can think of

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    pay all employees more across the board

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Jan 5, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good place to work, will work with your schedule most of the time

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Specialty Department Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Specialty Department Supervisor in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to work with on the your schedule most of the time, but that changes weekly
    Depending on area, easy customer base
    Very relaxed
    Extremely customer oriented

    Cons

    High turnover so its a constant battle to maintain decent employees
    Pay could be alot better
    Due to the high turnover I had to put my college degree on hold because the schedules were changing so rapidly week to week at one point I was the only supervisor/MOD in the store some days working 12 hour shifts

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up with local competition hourly pay, Great place to work but compared to other retail stores which are alot less stressful the pay is horrible.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Dec 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  11.  

    People leave leaders, not companies

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities; great pay; AWESOME benefits

    Cons

    field/store and corporate disconnect on company vision; the great intent of corporate programs for employee retention is miscommunicated at the field level -- at least in my market for 13 years now; horrible work/life balance at the store level

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    re-evaluate work/life balance; come see for yourselves what assistant managers really go through.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Dec 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

Work at The Home Depot? Share Your Experiences

The Home Depot

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.