The Home Depot Reviews in Houston, TX

Updated October 14, 2014
Updated October 14, 2014
5,157 Reviews
3.3
5,157 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake
Frank Blake
3,214 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 236 reviews)

  • It has a good benefits package with a chance to obtain 7% bonus if you have a good review (in 213 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 158 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 272 reviews)

More Highlights

103 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    love my working at Home Depot. Work hard and be rewarded.

    Current Employee - Office/Store Support in Alvin, TX
    Current Employee - Office/Store Support in Alvin, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    great position, involving dynamic work and duties. never bored

    Cons

    none. i love my job.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    be vigilant in identifying both great and poor performances.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    Good entry level job.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bilingual Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Bilingual Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, work life

    Cons

    Management plays favorites, don't respect religious practices make u go to work no matter what, small raises, no commission, sweatshop

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Respect employees religious beliefs and practices instead of making break beliefs by coming to work forcefully

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Sales Specialist

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Specialty Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Gain home improvement experience

    Cons

    The management at some stores are incompetent and disrespectful

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk, greet and communicate with all employees. Saying "hello" and "how are you doing" goes a long way.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    great place to work and learn

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    there is fun activities to do with customers

    Cons

    once in a while is stresful

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    put more attention to pages

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Oct 7, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  6.  

    General Warehouse Associate,

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Associate of the Month meals. Good Values. Always up to date with company changes. Promotions can happen here with hard word.

    Cons

    They don't follow their own values, benefits are expensive, they will cut hours for their own good. Supervisors are not trained properly

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

  7.  

    Lack Luster

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Pro Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Pro Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good pay for no college degree

    Cons

    Customers are demanding
    Managers are even more demanding
    You may be asked to push credit on people who don't want or need it
    Lowes will hire you when you finally quit

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Train your managers to treat their employees with more dignity and respect.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  8.  

    Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Sales in Houston, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hours, culture ,free coffee, success sharing, fun

    Cons

    compensation, benefits, stress, late nights, unfair workloads,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    scheduluing

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    There is constant job training and the company is big about safety.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Porter, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Porter, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    there are many different department opportunities.

    Cons

    the pay scale is a bit low,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    share the logic with employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 30, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  10.  

    Fine

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Asdf in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Asdf in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good place to work after highschool

    Cons

    could have better pay for the amount of work

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    talk to the employees more

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Oct 1, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More

  11.  

    Based on management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Humble, TX
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Humble, TX

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Home Depot is definitely an Equal Opportunity Employer when it comes to hiring people of all ages for their non-supervisory positions.
    Schedules are very flexible.

    Cons

    constant change in policies, somewhat bad scheduling based on forecast. There are constant gaps in the schedules because Home Depot is very flexible in working with others outside schedules.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take a better look at who you hire for HR and ensure that they treat the workers with respect. Make sure no one is being belittled.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Oct 1, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More

Work at The Home Depot? Share Your Experiences

The Home Depot

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.