The Home Depot
3.2 of 5 4,472 reviews
www.homedepot.com Atlanta, GA 5000+ Employees

The Home Depot Reviews in Philadelphia, PA

Updated May 31, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

2.9 61 reviews

                             

85% Approve of the CEO

The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake

Frank Blake

(34 ratings)

48% of employees recommend this company to a friend
61 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    My experience at the Home Depot was very exciting!! I learned about multiple tools'equipment 'and each individuals need

    Sales Associate (Former Employee)
    Philadelphia, PA

    ProsYou Learn fast
    Help people from simple to complex problems
    Good benefits
    Learn how to accomplish goals in small amounts of time
    learn creative ways build

    ConsThe scheduling was a little rough 'but overall a great company!

    Advice to Senior ManagementBetter leadership in schedule rotation.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Jun 4, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great working conditions

    Home Depot Cashier (Current Employee)
    Burlington, NJ

    ProsOverall this is a good company to work for. They care about their employees. There is great opportunities for advancement

    ConsThe training of cashiers could be better. Instead of one hour or five minutes of training there should be at least two weeks of hands on training and head cashiers should help those who do not know how to watch for fake travelers checks.

    Advice to Senior ManagementTraining of employees should be more than five minutes or one hour.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Apr 25, 2014 EditDelete
    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    I really like the interactions with customers.

    Specialty Sales Associate (Former Employee)
    Bensalem, PA

    ProsThe manager was great, it was an excellent learning experience and there was a lot of thorough training.

    ConsSome of the department head were not qualified and didn't do their job we..

    Advice to Senior ManagementThe pay could've been better.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Apr 30, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot.
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Not all that

    Sales Associate (Former Employee)
    Upper Darby, PA

    ProsThe camaraderie among employees was just about the only thing that I looked forward to going in to work. The time-off policies at this location improved when new managers took over - no more questionable holiday practices. As a part-timer, work/life balance was ok. But the scheduling was far too random and at times, unfair.

    ConsLow pay - Home Depot does not pay a living wage. Concrete floors with no padding caused virtually every worker I knew, to have foot, knee or back problems (including me). Very few full-time positions are available here. Disorganized inventory management, and no visible efforts to improve it; database routinely would say we had a product in-store when we did not. This Home Depot location was penny-wise but pound-poor: ie, despite insisting that customer service was the number one focus, there were many many times when an entire department had no one working it. Plus, threw away a lot of brand-new product while accepting returns of items that were broken, very old, etc. Communication is poor because it is one-way: from the top down.

    Advice to Senior ManagementListen to the employees on the floor - they know the problems that directly affect customers and customer service. Communicate better. Stop wasting money by throwing away good product and accepting returns that should be denied. Increase security to reduce shrink that was over $1 million in 2012. Always have AT LEAST one employee in each department- this will reduce shrink and increase sales.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review May 6, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Bitter Sweet

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    Middletown, DE

    ProsThere are various opportunities and pathways. Opportunity to help people.

    ConsDepending upon your store, management can be incompetent and some opportunities are dictated by who likes you.

    Advice to Senior ManagementWe have a code that includes equality towards everyone, please display this with actions.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Mar 26, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your review. In the same way that The Home Depot’s products help people build homes and projects, the eight core values we uphold help us build a strong business and culture. Our nearly ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Overall, AMAZING company to work for! As with any employer, look out for the ones that you upset.

    Asset Protection Manager (Current Employee)
    Phila, PA

    ProsManagement salaries and benefits are great!

    ConsLong mandatory hours for management 55+

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Mar 19, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Great Company........Lazy managers

    Asset Protection Specialist (Current Employee)
    Phila, PA

    ProsI can make my own schedule, great pay, and the company really cares.

    Consnot trained enough. They asked if I was ready and or needed more time.....I said more time and they said no. they will relocate you without giving you a say.

    Advice to Senior ManagementYou should only be in your position if you feel confident to do it. As a manager your job is to manage and motivate your staff. I got a bad taste quickly because my managers wouldn't put the time for myself or new empoloyees

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Mar 26, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    overworked and underpaid, bad software, and redundant processes

    Customer Service Associate (Current Employee)
    Downingtown, PA

    Prosdecent health insurance if you can get full-time work, unsteady hours and no health insurance if you're part time

    Conslow pay, low chances of advancement from certain starting positions

    Advice to Senior Managementplease streamline the software and receiving processes.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Feb 25, 2014 EditDelete
    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Enjoyable and worthwhile as a parttime associate

    Cashier (Current Employee)
    Philadelphia, PA

    Prosfriendly workers, great boss, hours

    Consnone, good for a summer job

    Advice to Senior Managementkeep it up.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    The Home Depot Client Partner responded to this review Feb 7, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot.
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Home depot is a good company to work for.

    Sales Representative (Current Employee)
    Pennsauken, NJ

    ProsYou get a 15% discount on their stock. Also my cell company gave me a discount because I work for Home Depot

    ConsI do not have anything bad to say.

    Advice to Senior Managementplease give us more product knowledge

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

The Home Depot Videos

Loading...

The Home Depot – Why Work for Us?

Our Company When it was founded in 1978 by Bernie Marcus and Arthur Blank, The Home Depot began changing consumers’ perspectives about how they could care for and improve their homes. The Company created the… Full Overview

Provided by employer [?]

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at The Home Depot reviews and ratings in Philadelphia, PA — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for The Home Depot CEO Frank Blake. All 61 reviews posted anonymously by The Home Depot employees.