The Home Depot Reviews

Updated September 1, 2015
7979 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
924 Ratings

Pros
  • The pay allows part time workers to survive at below poverty levels (in 254 reviews)

  • Good benefits (we wil see what the new BCBS plan holds) (in 225 reviews)

Cons
  • days per week - So bad work/life balance (in 170 reviews)

  • benifits are minimal for part time employees (in 282 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

7,979 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (74)

    Changed my opinion about retailing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Home Depot has a solid moral compass. They aren't about sacrificing their ethics for the sake of a sale, which I love. They also hire a diverse group of people and give a lot back to the community. They offer a lot of benefits and little treats for their employees. Although they push their associates to meet quota, they're realistic about what can and can't be accomplished.

    Cons

    Home Depot has two different sides to it. Store associates and those of us considered "store support" who are payed by the vendors but work in the stores 100% of the time. I constantly hear about how store associates are stressed out by management and their hours are being rearranged a lot, cut, and they often are stretched thin due to lack of full staffing. "Store support" associates who do merchandising have it better than those who work in specific departments. However, you never really gain knowledge unless you have the time to look things up and read packaging.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting associates based off of favoritism.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More


  2. Stocker

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Pay could be better for entry level employees

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More


  3. head cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    loveddddddd the people im actually very sad that i left. the only reason i left was because i had a huge family emergency.if i could have i would have stayed. they have great benefits and they do care about their employees.

    Cons

    not enough pay wish you could get more hours bonus sucks not much cons

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Tool Tech

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    There are a lot of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Boring and slow during colder seasons

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  6. Review

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Delivery Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Easy work schedule. Worked with me while I attended School Full-time.

    Cons

    It's retail and management tends to have different visions and hard to communicate one outcome.

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your 3 years at The Home Depot.


  7. Retail Sales Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate
    Current Employee - Sales Associate
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    It would be nice if medical benefits were available for part time employees again.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  8. Hard worker

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very nice Company to work for good people.

    Cons

    Need more money for work being done.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employee that does the work.

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  9. Permanent PT (hoping for FT) Sales Associate - Lawn & Garden Seasonal

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    The management in our Minnesota store is great! The store manager is a supercharged lady who gets in the trenches right alongside us, always had an open office door, encourages ongoing communications with her and the other management staff - I consider myself fortunate to be with the company but even more so in this particular store. Management is locked into certain policies and procedures - and can face the same bottom line as the rest of us if we mess up. If thr mgmt staff makes exceptions to policies, they too can be fired. Just like any of the rest of us. I started in a seasonal capacity in April of this year and by May, could look forward to staying on, in a part time capacity, after the height of the retail gardening season wound down. I know, because I was told, that I was retained because of my previous garden center experience with various nurseries in MN and WI, combined with what management described to me as strong work ethic and genuine concern for customers first. I simply LOVE my job with Home Depot, and am bopeful that it will become full time soon so as a single mom, I don't have to continue working quite so many hours in secondary employment, whixh I must maintain at present to pay my rent, etc. Our store manager is fully aware of my situation, and I know that when the timing is right, and as long as I continue demonstrating my best efforts, Inwill one day realize my wish for full time hours.

    Cons

    What are downsides?

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - training a whole store full of great people the skills of excellence in the work place. Our store, and everyone in it, ROCKS!

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  10. Merchandise Execution Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Execution Associate in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Merchandise Execution Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really laid back team leader and team members. Great place to work with a great salary and as many hours as you could ask for.

    Cons

    Harder work and have to travel from store to store in one district.

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  11. Great place to work!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Department Supervisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Merchandise Department Supervisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of potential to promote within the company, good 401k program with company match, ability to train in multiple departments.

    Cons

    too much online training with not enough hands on training, starting pay was starting to decrease from what it once was.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be thoroughly trained in positions they supervise. Too many times the supervisor of a department knew less than the associates that worked for them.

    The Home Depot Response

    Sep 2, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More



Showing 7,979 of 8,049 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.