The Home Depot Reviews

Updated July 28, 2015
7463 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
746 Ratings

Pros
  • The pay allows part time workers to survive at below poverty levels (in 254 reviews)

  • Good benefits (we wil see what the new BCBS plan holds) (in 225 reviews)

Cons
  • days per week - So bad work/life balance (in 170 reviews)

  • benifits are minimal for part time employees (in 282 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

7,463 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (62)

    Changed my opinion about retailing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The Home Depot has a solid moral compass. They aren't about sacrificing their ethics for the sake of a sale, which I love. They also hire a diverse group of people and give a lot back to the community. They offer a lot of benefits and little treats for their employees. Although they push their associates to meet quota, they're realistic about what can and can't be accomplished.

    Cons

    Home Depot has two different sides to it. Store associates and those of us considered "store support" who are payed by the vendors but work in the stores 100% of the time. I constantly hear about how store associates are stressed out by management and their hours are being rearranged a lot, cut, and they often are stretched thin due to lack of full staffing. "Store support" associates who do merchandising have it better than those who work in specific departments. However, you never really gain knowledge unless you have the time to look things up and read packaging.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting associates based off of favoritism.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    assistant store manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    awesome company to work for. Really takes care of the people

    Cons

    the schedule is not very good.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  3. Helpful (1)

    Great place to start a career.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Akron, OH

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, advancement opportunity, everything they do is in an effort to make the customer and associate experience as good as possible. Great benefits. 401k, tuition reimbursement, profit sharing, stock purchases at 15% discount, bonus payouts for salaried mgrs are exceptional.

    Cons

    Store hours shifts typically start as early as 5am and go as late as 11pm. Work enviroment can be stressful at times. Need to invest in having more associates on the floor. Stores are getting old and need updated.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more associates. If you want to be the #1 customer service retailer in the world make sure the stores have enough bodies on the floor to execute your mission.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Assistant Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY

    I worked at The Home Depot (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Starting pay rate scheduling Bonus Benefits Promotions

    Cons

    None for me enjoyed my experience with the management team for noticing my work

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  6. Great place for a person in college

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules and great people

    Cons

    Minimum hours during non peak seasons

    Advice to Management

    Continue to cultivate accommodating atmosphere

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 30, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  7. Good Experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It allowed me to gain more experience working in customer service.

    Cons

    Wish I could've got more hours.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  8. Greeter/ Cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Auction Supervisor/Shift Supervisor in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Lead Auction Supervisor/Shift Supervisor in Memphis, TN

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I got to see people I had not seen in many years. I got to make new acquaintances that said , my smile made their day.

    Cons

    Working near the entrance in the winter could be uncomfortable if not dressed properly. Working every weekend was a bit of a challenge as well.

    Advice to Management

    As a greeter, the turnover rate wouldn't be so high if there was rotation of weekends in place. It was a position that many employees didn't enjoy.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  9. Front End Supervisor

    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Company cares about employees, conversely, employees are generally passionate about their jobs. Pay decent for a retailer, coworkers are pretty great for the most part. Bonuses good if you are a supervisor. Relatively easy to get time off if needed so long as its not in the middle of spring insanity. Pretty easy to move up and learn different positions.

    Cons

    Hours are obviously terrible, its retail after all. Each store is vastly different in how it is managed and operated.

    Advice to Management

    Would be nice if each store was equal and expectations were the same at each.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  10. cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Cashier in Brooklyn, NY
    Current Employee - Cashier in Brooklyn, NY

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Overall great company good place to advance and great benefits family like setting

    Cons

    The customers can get very rude as in any other retail environment

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 30, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  11. Helpful (1)

    MET Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Salem, OR
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Salem, OR

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The work was always different and presenting a new set of challenges for each night. That diversity meant you were constantly learning something new about how to set up and install things, which will come in handy down the road.

    Cons

    After the 4th store of the same projects as the previous 3, it does tend to get old, especially because of the lack of care given to the equipment you have to use (beams being bent to extremes/dented, lack of tools, etc.). When we were offered training for power equipment (forklifts, pallet jacks, etc) we almost never got approved to actually do it because "we already have people qualified for that on this team" despite them not always being there and possibly wanting to move to different teams/job titles that would require said training.

    Advice to Management

    Don't have unrealistic expectations about how many projects your team can do in a night when many of them require 100+ hours of work put in. Also, don't assume that your associates know everything, and don't get frustrated at their dedication to finishing a project that took longer than estimated so it would be done correctly and not abandoned and passed on to the next guy.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 30, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.



Showing 7,463 of 7,574 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.