The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 4, 2015
7542 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
778 Ratings

Pros
  • The pay allows part time workers to survive at below poverty levels (in 254 reviews)

  • Good benefits (we wil see what the new BCBS plan holds) (in 225 reviews)

Cons
  • days per week - So bad work/life balance (in 170 reviews)

  • benifits are minimal for part time employees (in 282 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

7,542 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (63)

    Changed my opinion about retailing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Loveland, CO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The Home Depot has a solid moral compass. They aren't about sacrificing their ethics for the sake of a sale, which I love. They also hire a diverse group of people and give a lot back to the community. They offer a lot of benefits and little treats for their employees. Although they push their associates to meet quota, they're realistic about what can and can't be accomplished.

    Cons

    Home Depot has two different sides to it. Store associates and those of us considered "store support" who are payed by the vendors but work in the stores 100% of the time. I constantly hear about how store associates are stressed out by management and their hours are being rearranged a lot, cut, and they often are stretched thin due to lack of full staffing. "Store support" associates who do merchandising have it better than those who work in specific departments. However, you never really gain knowledge unless you have the time to look things up and read packaging.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting associates based off of favoritism.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking ... More


  2. Great company to work for

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    The employees are very friendly

    Cons

    Need more full-time positions available

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  3. Freight Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Freight Associate in Rome, GA
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Freight Associate in Rome, GA

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Varied duties, helpful co-workers, management encourages feedback & suggestions.

    Cons

    Part-time with partial benefits and few opportunities for full time employment.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Assistant store manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Worcester, MA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, and feel truly supported from higher levels of management. Opportunity to learn in fun retail setting with great team of associates.

    Cons

    55 hour minimum work week is physically and mentally exhausting often times. Even with fun atmosphere compared to other retail companies this schedule is tough on work/life balance and quality family time

    Advice to Management

    Quickly figure out online sales and stick to it. Very disorganized shipping, receiving, releasing online order system and store level. Too many preventable logistical issues that prevent overall online satisfaction.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.


  6. greeting customers , helping any customer getting loaded , and keeping a eye n area making sure getting great service

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Getting to interact with great customers

    Cons

    at this time there's only two of us.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up great job just pull us in more regularly for Q&A

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  7. Recommend it as a part-time job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwork Specialist in Evansville, IN
    Current Employee - Millwork Specialist in Evansville, IN

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Many benefits for part-time and full time employees including 401k matching. A few paid holidays. Employee recognition and bonus program. Company provides employees with tools to succeed. Training is thorough. Stores host free how-to clinics and community service events.

    Cons

    It is retail so unless you have experience in construction, decor, or management, you will likely start at a pay close to minimum wage. Sometimes difficult to move up because they like hiring supervisors from other home improvement competitors.

    Advice to Management

    There is an employee recognition program that is underutilized. Three of the four stores I worked at barely used the Homer Award program. It is an easy way to boost moral and reward hardworking employees


  8. A decent summer job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Montgomery, IL
    Former Employee - Cashier in Montgomery, IL

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Fine part time work, difficult to change your scheduled availability once hired (arcane employee computer system)

    Cons

    Low chances of upward mobility. Some associates I worked with had been employed with the company for eight years and were still working Part Time.

    Advice to Management

    My store's management team was mostly professional, accessible, and competent in their positions. My advice would be to suggest upper management in the company invest in updating the Point Of Sale System for cashiers as well as the employee computer system used for viewing Benefits, Payroll, and various Human Resources applications.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all ... More


  9. Paint Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Lexington, SC
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Lexington, SC

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment, great people, great benefits for part-time employees.

    Cons

    Having to work weekends was truly the only downside to that job and lower wages.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  10. Good starter job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Expand what you know on work at home projects

    Cons

    No real benefits cuts hours like crazy

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. The Home Depot offers benefits with great coverage and protection for our associates and their families. You can read more about our benefits on our careers website under ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Head Cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Auburn Hills, MI
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Auburn Hills, MI

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Schedule is good pay ok but could be better, benefits are good vacation time is great , the company is a very good company to work for they understand and try to help in anyway needed and they offer a wide range of opportunity

    Cons

    Some of the people coworkers are lazy and management is not the best, it all depends on what store you are at, the pay is ok but you can find better other places and moving up in the company is terrible

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core ... More



Showing 7,542 of 7,606 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.