The Home Depot Reviews

Updated July 6, 2015
7176 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

7,176 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great Flexibility!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Store Manager was very nice in accommodating the work-family balance.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the pay is very low.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay! Who could possibly survive on $9/hr.


  2. Cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA

    I worked at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Employee discounts extend beyond the store.
    Friendly Co-workers

    Cons

    Pushes you to sign people up for their credit card or membership.
    Pushes you to request people to review your performance.


  3. Bilingual Cashier

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good benefits for part-time employees

    Cons

    not cons to say of them

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Good company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Service Desk Associate in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Success Sharing, fun environment, comfortable uniform

    Cons

    Pay, hours, flexibility, turnover rate

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  6. sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Easy to work when you want to

    Cons

    Managers, customers, vendors, long hours, no promotion

    Advice to Management

    Learn to work

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with ... More


  7. The Home Depot Garden Department

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Colma, CA
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Colma, CA

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work at during college. Very Flexible hours for students. Learn many "do it yourself skills." They also offer benefits and vacation to part time workers

    Cons

    Many competitive co workers that try to "look" better than you when managers are near by. Some managers needs to lessen up their attitudes when communicating with lower employees

    Advice to Management

    Management should host more meetings in store. During meetings, don't only talk about tasks and goals. Management should plan events to make the store bond as a team because communication is key to a good working environment.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group (AACG) to express your concerns.


  8. Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Strong customer service focus
    Decent Benefits
    Great Bonus program

    Cons

    60 hour weeks
    difficult work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Need to support store leaders.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 29, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback and will share this information with ... More


  9. thd

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, room for advancement, gives back to the community. Nice bonus even for hourlies, kept contributing to 401k during great recession, can move to other locations. Closed Christmas.

    Cons

    hours are long for salary, lots of close tonight, open tomorrow (clopens) open too late and too early for some locations, open Sundays, open for Easter.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 30, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. Keep up the great work!


  10. Sales associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good starting pay. They pay for partial amount of your college.

    Cons

    Good hours when in season and crappy hours when not in season

    Advice to Management

    Have fun


  11. Operations associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company willing to train to help associates achieve goals

    Cons

    Non predictable schedule, pay rates

    The Home Depot Response

    Jun 30, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs. Keep up the great work!



Showing 7,176 of 7,239 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.