The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 4, 2015
7541 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

7,541 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Department Supervisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Coral Springs, FL
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Coral Springs, FL

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working for Home depot is awesome. The benefits are awesome and the eye insurance is great. There is many opportunity for growth in the company .

    Cons

    The only down side for me was the price of the health insurance for the whole family

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  2. Assistant Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Bronx, NY

    I worked at The Home Depot (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Starting pay rate scheduling Bonus Benefits Promotions

    Cons

    None for me enjoyed my experience with the management team for noticing my work

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  3. great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Elmsford, NY
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Elmsford, NY

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    There are a lot of benefits to working at the home depot such as tuition reimbursement as well as cell phone discount and profit sharing to name a few

    Cons

    Long hours, not a lot of time to be around holiday events due to the fact that you will be work on most major holidays

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Good Experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It allowed me to gain more experience working in customer service.

    Cons

    Wish I could've got more hours.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  6. Great First Job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    awesome co-worker. everyone had a positive attitude and that made the place very friendly. It seemed great for a first job for high school students who don't mind working and going to school.

    Cons

    The scheduling never stays the same. that makes it hard to have any kind of life or schedule outside of work. They do make some acceptation for students, however other than that...good luck.

    Advice to Management

    Even though you are against a set schedule for what ever reason that may be, adopting one for the sake of your employees, they are people too.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.


  7. Front End Supervisor

    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Company cares about employees, conversely, employees are generally passionate about their jobs. Pay decent for a retailer, coworkers are pretty great for the most part. Bonuses good if you are a supervisor. Relatively easy to get time off if needed so long as its not in the middle of spring insanity. Pretty easy to move up and learn different positions.

    Cons

    Hours are obviously terrible, its retail after all. Each store is vastly different in how it is managed and operated.

    Advice to Management

    Would be nice if each store was equal and expectations were the same at each.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  8. Overall great experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Topeka, KS
    Current Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Topeka, KS

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits and incentives. Overall a great company to work for. Pay is reasonable.

    Cons

    Non climate controlled environment working in the warehouse.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 30, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your time at The Home Depot.


  9. THD

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parking Lot Attendant in Cheyenne, WY
    Former Employee - Parking Lot Attendant in Cheyenne, WY

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The people at THD are one of it's greatest assets. An individual that's customer service driven can and will go far in this company. You can and will develop many good friendships along the way.

    Cons

    An individual seeking to work as I did, as a Lot attendant must be prepared to work hard. There's a lot of heavy lifting involved.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to THD Management team is that their profits would go up if they just had the staffing on those busy days.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


  10. Repetitive Work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Freight Associate in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Pays a lot better than most places I've interacted with or worked at. The supervisors/Assistant Managers are very outgoing and really cool, they don't talk down to you or treat you as if you mean nothing. Employees are very uptempo and everyone greets you by your name.

    Cons

    Some of the Upper Management does not really have a clue as to what they are doing. Seems like every night they are scrambling to come up with a plan or idea as to what should happen with the freight.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people so that each department/position is balanced out with enough workers.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    The Home Depot

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Department Supervisor in San Leandro, CA
    Current Employee - Merchandise Department Supervisor in San Leandro, CA

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    1.There is great opportunity for advancement. 2. Tight knit geoup of people. 3. Encourage employees to go above and beyond for customers and coworkers alike.

    Cons

    1. Understaffed. 2. Lack of alotted time for training besides on boarding.

    The Home Depot Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all ... More



Showing 7,541 of 7,606 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.