The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 28, 2014
Updated August 28, 2014
4,830 Reviews

3.3
4,830 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot Chairman and CEO Frank Blake
Frank Blake
3,034 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • They are one of few companies today that provide part time employees with benefits (in 209 reviews)

  • There were some good benefits for part-timers, such as a discount on your cell phone bill (in 190 reviews)


Cons
  • No work/life balance, so be ready to not see your love ones how you might like to (in 135 reviews)

  • Now they mostly hire only part time that offers very little in the way of benifits (in 241 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Safe Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Inventory Analyst  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Inventory Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to have a stable job, work to life balance is a positive since workload is manageable. Room for lateral movement to new departments once you're in the company.

    Cons

    Fair amount of turnover due to dissatisfied employees. Compensation is not on par with comparable jobs, this contributes to the high turnover. Most company values appear to just be surface level and not ingrained in the culture.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 21, 2014Client Partner

    We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core values that we stress within our organization. We ... More

  2.  

    Great experience. Very friendly and fast interview process

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist  in  Fort Wayne, IN
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist in Fort Wayne, IN

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, friendly and welcoming staff.

    Cons

    Lots of computer training equals long days and tired eyes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  3.  

    Nice for students.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Nice, friendly co-workers and complete training.

    Cons

    Wasn't there long enough to know about promotions.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 21, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Sales Associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate  in  Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Austin, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the willingness to work with my schedule as student in college. Fair amount of hours given, and they gave me a lot of info on my products that I used to be a knowledgable worker. Decent starting pay and ability for small bonuses.

    Cons

    Just issues that you would find at everywhere. I had issues with my department head being upset that I would help costumers in other departments. Nothing major.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More

  6.  

    It's been great for me.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you work hard it will be recognized and promotions will become available.

    Cons

    You have to go with the flow like any retail job. If you cannot multitask and help more than one customer at a time, then this company is not for you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The managers at my store do an excellent job. If anything, I would ask them to push more documentation for the people who do not perform.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a ... More

  7.  

    Great

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier  in  Oroville, CA
    Former Employee - Cashier in Oroville, CA

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company really takes care of its associates

    Cons

    Management changes too frequently which affects performance revies

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.

  8.  

    Fair place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor  in  Kansas City Suburban Acreage, MO
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Kansas City Suburban Acreage, MO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Success sharing, good people, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Yearly raises aren't much, so if you get hired in low, it takes a while to get a decent wage, potentially high stress,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay department supervisors what they deserve. They do it all

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience at The Home Depot. Keep up the great work taking care of our customers!

  9.  

    The Home Depot is a fantastic place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier  in  Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier in Wilkes-Barre, PA

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay range is reasonable. There are opportunities for some advancements. If you are full time you receive great benefits.

    Cons

    There was truly nothing bad about working at The Home Depot.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The management was great. They treated everyone fairly and added many perks to the job.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  10.  

    Minimum wage just ISN'T enough.....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Head Cashier  in  Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store to always seem in order; everybody who worked there knew what every customer was looking for, in which aisle, and our associates knew that customers come FIRST!

    Cons

    I can't really say anything referring to the "cons" because honestly, there weren't any... Every only one was so friendly... and easy to work with, I can not complain (other than raises lol)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Just to mind other associates own personal business; especially if the associate let things "confidential", be spread about, so unprofessional

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 18, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to customer service.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great experience in retail.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Very supporting staff. Employees have great customer service values. If you have the great attitude you can move up fast to a supervisory role.

    Cons

    The salary is so low that employees come and go constantly. If you're a part-timer you have no benefits. Hardly any weekends or holidays off. You better have a good Sugar Daddy to take care of you because you won't make it on this salary.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Raise your starting salaries! Bring back some fringe benefits. You will have a hard time retaining employees.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Worked for The Home Depot? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.