The Home Depot Reviews

Updated August 31, 2015
7945 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

7,945 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. To help with friendly customer service and speedy check out and do all that was ask of me 100%

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Wichita Falls, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Wichita Falls, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Seems like a great place to work and friendly customers and friendly sales associate s

    Cons

    Lots of energy to do what's expected of me it seems like home Depot would be a great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    Hope I will get to work for ya I will do my very best

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback!


  2. Principal Systems Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work for world's largest home improvement company known for working white American workers into poor health and unemployment line.

    Cons

    Unless you are from India or minority, you get minimal pay, discriminated against, and abused until you get fired.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the minority focused management team who are creating a hostile work environment costing the company a fortune.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and ... More


  3. Helpful (3)

    Paint Sales Associate

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot about home improvement

    Cons

    Pay is low, and you can't go up in the latter unless you do some brown nosing.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people for their working skills and not by how far they can stick their noses up your arse

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 11, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Assistant Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    good salary good opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    no consistency among stores, work life balance

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 21, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.


  6. Review

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Hours can be long at times but this is dependent the group you work for

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  7. The Home Depot (THD)

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flooring & Wall Specialist in Leesburg, VA
    Current Employee - Flooring & Wall Specialist in Leesburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great focus on customer service and satisfaction. They have some good employee recognition programs in place. THD helps the community, and it's employees with support programs. Plenty of discount programs and reward programs for employees.

    Cons

    Advancement takes longer then most careers. The company writes off more money in penny losses and throws product away when it could take a smaller write off and donate millions more to needy organizations. Salary needs to be comparable to the area and coast of living Loudun County is the one of the wealthiest counties in the US, but they pay less then the local Wegman's. This is why staff turnover is so high.

    Advice to Management

    Look to your people more for their skills background and capitalize on it. Pay according to training knowledge level. There are team members who learn all skills and are paid the same rate as those who know much less and perform even less.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and ... More


  8. helping customer with questions what flooring would be best for their project

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flooring Specialist/Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Flooring Specialist/Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Home Depot is great to their employees.

    Cons

    At times over worked due to not having enough coverage or employees at a set time.

    Advice to Management

    Have better coverage to help customers and employees do a better job.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  9. Great company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Columbia, TN
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Columbia, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Home improvement giant who truly care about associates and customers. Good room for promotion if motivated and/or connected.

    Cons

    Health benefits are outrageously high for such a large company. Would like to see more focus on work and personal life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Higher salaries=higher quality of workers. Overall they do a great job at what they do but need more consistency for promotions.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are ... More


  10. The "fantastic" home depot

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Decent hours and decent pay

    Cons

    Manager sucks and they don't care

    Advice to Management

    Allow some people to be late

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We wish you were happier with your current management. Please call 1.866.698.4347 and select the option for the Associate Advice Council Group ... More


  11. Amazing benefits!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Jupiter, FL
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Jupiter, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Home Depot has some of the best medical insurance around! It even works with family as well! The enviornment is very uplifting as well.

    Cons

    I personally have not seen any downs other than the usual retail cons. Rude customers are a given in any retail situation. The pay could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work! Keep all the great benefits! Increasing the pay would be appreciated.

    The Home Depot Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!



Showing 7,945 of 8,015 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.