Thycotic Reviews

Updated May 5, 2015
19 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.6
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Thycotic CEO Jonathan Cogley
Jonathan Cogley
14 Ratings

19 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Passionate place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to work on your own - no micro management Flat management structure - team leads support the team Free lunch on Wednesdays Awesome goal program with real money every 6 months - all based on personal growth Great software that customers love - rewarding to work with good stuff Beautiful office space Very supportive team - lots of mentoring and help - lots of team work Typical 40-45 hour weeks Great healthcare/dental and 401k benefits Generous vacation time

    Cons

    Engineers don't have personal space - all team space Sales folks have activity quotas Hard work is expected Career path isn't always clear but that is improving as the company gets bigger Responsibility can often be given to people before they are ready - you will be stretched

    Advice to Management

    More career planning and better understanding of path to promotions/raises CEO is overworked - need more senior people to share the load

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 25, 2013 – CEO

    Thanks for all the great things you said about our team. We have started in the last 6 months to get some outside HR help to assist with onboarding of new hires, improving the documentation of our ... More


  2. Fun Place to work with great people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Good office location, great office space. Challenging but rewarding work. Small-ish company, your opinions don't get lost or brushed off, everyone's feedback matters. Everyone works together, successes and failures are made by team efforts. Co-workers are fun and easy to work with. Fantastic health benefits. Catered lunch on Mondays.

    Cons

    Hours can be excessive (though infrequently, and how much is up to the individual)

    Advice to Management

    The CEO is spread a little thin, but this seems to be getting better. Make an effort to interact with everyone (pleasantries only go so far) that doesn't normally get the opportunity to do so.

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 25, 2013 – CEO

    Thanks for all the great words. We need to do more company events so everyone gets to know everyone. I will make sure this happens - thanks for the feedback!


  3. Good place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC

    I worked at Thycotic full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I worked here for a few years and it was a great place to start my career. I learned and developed a lot of best practices that I will continue to use. Even now, working at another company, it is surprising how effective the agile practices are and how much respect I get from applying them when most employees don't. For example, Thycotic really teaches you not only how to test your code well, but also how important testing it really is. - Opportunities are there to advance your career - Good health benefits - Coworkers are fun to be around - Good processes mean that the environment is extremely low-stress, but things still get done pretty fast - Lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Career advancement opportunities are more push than pull. If you want to get promoted, want a big raise, or want to have more responsibilities, it is up to you to bring it up to management.

    Advice to Management

    Actively engage with employees to help advance their career. Don't wait for them to come to you. To attract more employees, I suggest having more of a "start-up" vibe. Some ideas might be to eliminate timesheets and have more lenient hours (i.e., 11 am standup). To remain competitive with startups and larger tech companies, and to keep employees highly motivated, look into stock options or, more feasibly, profit sharing.

    Thycotic Response

    Sep 1, 2013 – CEO

    Thanks for the great review. We do check in with all staff every 6 months from a career perspective during goals review - some speak up and want more responsibility, others don't. Moving up ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Great place to work with a fast-growing company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Small team -Great product in high demand-You will get some of the praise!! -Evolving industry, so lots of room for product development, suggestions. -Excellent leadership with open-minded and experienced professionals -Quick implementation of great ideas and ways of doing things -Open space interaction yet good personal space -AMAZING benefits-Pay is also very good. -You can work on many different projects if you really want to. -Casual wear every day. You could technically wear a tie and you could still fit in. -Free lunches on Wednesday; great way to interact more with other team members that are not that close to you. -The list goes on.

    Cons

    It's a small company with a great and evolving product, so expect some change and adjustments around the product and your work. This could be a Pro as well. I can't think of any other con.

    Advice to Management

    Keep attracting great people with a good dose of flexibility, and great work experience.

    Thycotic Response

    Jul 23, 2013 – CEO

    Thanks for the great review.


  6. Helpful (1)

    Awesome job.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Benefits are great -There is a lot of room for learning and growth. If you are just starting of your career, there is a lot of room to stretch your wings, wear new hats, and build new strengths. -No micro-managing, as long as you work hard -Work with a team of smart and motivated individuals -Company is growing at a steady pace, not too fast -Stable company with a start-up vibe -Very low turn over rate speaks for itself -Job security, we are working in a very promising industry

    Cons

    If living outside of DC, commuting can be a pain.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Thycotic Response

    Dec 23, 2013 – CEO

    Thanks for the great review. The people here on the team are the magic to our success.


  7. Helpful (1)

    Great company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager
    Former Employee - Account Manager

    I worked at Thycotic full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Thycotic was a great company to work for. It was a place where I enjoyed going to work on a daily basis. There are too many reasons to list why, however, here are a few: -great work environment -great benefits -great travel opportunities -great people to work with -no micro managing -easy to go to owner/senior management with issues, thoughts, or problems Basically, the whole culture at Thycotic is awesome!!!

    Cons

    I think that the company could use a little more structure. However, they are growing at a rapid pace and I can understand how this could make it difficult.

    Advice to Management

    My only advice would be to keep on doing what you are doing. I would try my best to preserve the culture that you have created as you grow and become a huge company.

    Thycotic Response

    May 1, 2014 – CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review - it is really nice to get your feedback. We will try our best to keep everything just the way it is as we grow - we have a really ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    Better than I'd dreamed

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Engineer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Everyone at the company is your friend. You will constantly be encouraged in what you do and constantly challenged to improve yourself. I am excited to go to work everyday in this amazing atmosphere, doing what I love daily.

    Cons

    I have yet to find anything that dissatisfies me, and I've been working here for a year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the brilliant work.

    Thycotic Response

    Jun 23, 2014 – CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - I am so proud of our team that we can get such great comments - they are an amazing crew right across the board.


  9. Helpful (2)

    I'm very blessed to work here.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    zero micro managment positive people fun atmosphere hard workers all around people care about their craft knowledgeable staff great perks great flexibility great industry food, so much food casual dress great paid time off (PTO) great recruiting methods growing organization bright future

    Cons

    learning technology is challenging and there aren't a ton of reading or video resources to draw from so you need to have a bit of a go get em attitude about learning your craft, inexperienced sales team but at the same time, they're so excited to get better and learn and grow and everyone is humble

    Advice to Management

    have more recognition meetings baked into the schedule for motivation and positive news and individual recognition

    Thycotic Response

    Nov 4, 2014 – CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review - it means a lot. We can only grow and improve things if we know about them. We have had multiple suggestions to provide more recognition for ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    Awesome job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people, great location, awesome management, astounding benefits, and overall just a great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Constantly challenged to grow your horizons and expand your abilities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, and provide more feedback to your employees.

    Thycotic Response

    Sep 6, 2014 – CEO

    Thank you for your review. We will look at ways to provide more feedback - we did just start a 360 degree review program using an outside 3rd party - this is helping to get more info for the leaders ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Fantastic opportunity at solid, growing security firm

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Thycotic full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been working at Thycotic for a few years now and I have to admit it's been one of the best career choices made so far. The direction of the company promotes stable, upward growth as we secure ourselves within a segment of information security - a market that isn't going away any time soon. It's pretty cool to see us nearly doubling staff year over year. I love that I have a lot of autonomy and freedom to try new things and learn within my particular area of expertise.

    Cons

    With any organization there are challenges to overcome. I think honestly the only challenges I've seen are just some growing pains around policies and procedures as we evolve from a small startup years ago to a much larger and established firm. Many of these pains are working themselves out and are a natural part of the level of growth we're achieving. Nothing that is a deal breaker by any means, this is a wonderful place to work.

    Advice to Management

    I really love the newer management style, more hands off approach, and the open honesty in regards to strategy. Keep up the great work, looking forward to seeing more dynamic progress in the next coming years!

    Thycotic Response

    May 7, 2015 – CEO

    Wow - thank you so much for your kind words - I am sure our team is very proud of such a glowing review! The team really cares about learning, contributing, taking on responsibility and challenging ... More



Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.