Travelocity Reviews

Updated August 15, 2015
166 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

166 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Travelocity is a great place to work...great people...learning organization...challenging work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Social Media Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Social Media Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    At Travelocity, you get to work with people who are passionate about our customers and travel. We all believe that travel makes your life better.

    Cons

    We are managing with a lot of change as we work through our transition to the Expedia family. It has been described as murky times which is accurate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with us as we work through another transitional phase. Communication goes a long way and I never heard of too much communication as a negative.

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thanks for the feedback! We are continuing to plan regular update meetings to update everyone on how the integration is progressing, and as always, no questions are off limits - either in our ... More


  2. Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelocity full-time

    Pros

    Travelocity has a tight knit team that works extremely well together. We are focused on the customer and work in a great industry. The company offers outstanding benefits

    Cons

    For me, personally, the commute is not great. A few employees don't seem to work as hard as most of us

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Glad to see that you are such an enthusiastic member of the Travelocity team. It really is a great industry in which to be. Hopefully the team experience can make up a bit for the long-ish commute.


  3. Love Travel + o + city

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People who work at Travelocity! Customers! World of opportunities! Encouraged to try new things even if that means making mistakes which is hard for me but I am trying.

    Cons

    Working through transition to Expedia

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    I love the enthusiasm! It is that attitude that will make the transition to Expedia as successful and seamless as possible!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great brand, great people - in a rebuilding mode

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Southlake, TX
    Current Employee - Director in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelocity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A really good group of people, fun working environment and a lot of opportunity to "take the bull by the horns" and take on projects that you want to do. Becoming part of Expedia adds a needed layer of security.

    Cons

    As a recent acquisition target, Travelocity is in a rebuilding mode - so processes and procedures are still being constructed - leading to a little bit of a murkiness.

    Advice to Management

    Take advantage of the rebuilding mode to bring in the best possible people, and to move existing employees into the best possible fits for their talents.

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thanks for the thoughtful review. As we work through our integration with Expedia - hopefully some of that murkiness evaporates. And as for bringing in those great people - be sure to recommend folks ... More


  6. Good experience.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Southlake, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelocity full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at Travelocity, it was like an extended family. Decent pay, good benefits. Work was interesting and challenging.

    Cons

    Top level leadership was switched out several times, which made it a little challenging to know what the vision was for the employees. More on the job training would have been nice.

    Advice to Management

    I have not worked there for several years so don't really know what advise I could give to the management at this time.

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thank you very much for the feedback. We think it is still like an extended family here - and while there were certainly a lot of changes during the time that you were here, we have had a lot more ... More


  7. A wonderful experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Customer Service in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Casual work environment with amazing leadership! Great benefits and plenty of opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Most challenging aspect of the job was irate customers who couldn't understand airline policies and associated fees.

    Advice to Management

    Better negotiations with potential buyers that could have possibly resulted in no layoffs.

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 17, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We like to think that with the recent change in ownership that we have kept a lot of the best leadership, benefits and advancement opportunities in place while creating ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    Was a good company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Financial Analyst
    Current Employee - Principal Financial Analyst
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelocity full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -great work-life balance -wonderful and knowlegble people

    Cons

    -lacks agility and decision-making -lacks fore-sight

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees not managers

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 19, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thank you for the honest feedback. This is the kind of information that can help us continually transform as a company - and become increasingly engaged and responsive to employees moving forward.


  9. Great Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Supervisor in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Former Employee - Call Center Supervisor in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travelocity full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I loved my tenure here, the people I worked with, and the operational goals we achieved not only for our company but our partner companies as well. I became aware of changes within the organization last year and knew about pending layoffs, but vowed to stay the course knowing that the company would be closing its call center here in PA. I made a promise to our call center manager that would be here until we took our last call for this great company. I'm so thankful for everything that I learned during my tenure here and all the experiences that I had over the last 7 and a half years. I will always cherish the great memories I had during those years and feel that my exposure to this organization has made me a better person. I will miss many of people I have had the pleasure of working with.

    Cons

    A business decision was made to close the call centers in PA and TX. Such a decison was not easily made, but sometimes doing the unpopular thing is what is best. In this case I feel history will prove the right decision was made. If our paths never cross again, I want you to know it was indeed an honor to be a part of history and also to serve you!

    Travelocity Response

    Mar 16, 2015 – Director, Marketing Communications

    Thank you for the honest review. The changes that were made during Travelocity's transition were certainly not easy for anyone, but your attitude towards understanding the reasons for those changes ... More


  10. Once Great Company Sold Out Its Employees

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior International Travel Consultant in Southlake, TX
    Former Employee - Senior International Travel Consultant in Southlake, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Travelocity full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Probably the most talented and passionate co-workers I have ever had or probably will ever have were at Travelocity. The Southlake campus was a great, casual work environment that seemed to foster creativity and teamwork. Opinions stated here are in reference to Travelocity Business which WAS the corporate travel division of Travelocity.

    Cons

    Abysmal and ineffective proprietary airline reservation system. Very little training related to actual position. Trainers needed training themselves. Management didn't actively encourage promotion. NO company travel benefits from Travelocity as Travelocity wanted to be mavericks and not beholden to any airline. Ha! How'd that work out for you?

    Advice to Management

    All too little, too late. Management refused to listen to employee suggestions for efficiency. That's okay the guilty upper management left after selling out the employees.


  11. Left Hand Doesn't Know what the Right Hand is Doing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Contributor in Southland, TX
    Former Employee - Software Development Contributor in Southland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelocity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice Campus, Cafeteria, On Site Gym

    Cons

    No real training for new employees, no direction for employees, never could get access to systems that I needed to support

    Advice to Management

    Make sure a position is needed before hiring for it. It is necessary to provide new employees without any previous experience at the company direction and training. Expecting that a new employee will just "pick things up" is silly and sets the employee and the manager up for failure.



Showing 166 of 168 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.