True Manufacturing

  www.truemfg.com
  www.truemfg.com

True Manufacturing Reviews

Updated November 17, 2014
Updated November 17, 2014
28 Reviews
2.6
28 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Trulaske
10 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    A Work In Progress

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at True Manufacturing full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    True is indeed a solid company. They offer stability and good benefits. These include profit sharing, $.40 guarantee raise annually, no top out, health, life, dental, and vision insurance, paid vacation and PTO after 1 year, 2/3% plan (they save 2% of your check after taxes & match your pay by 3% taxed at the end of the year). The people are great.

    Cons

    The company struggles with effective communication. This is a concern from the top of the company down to the production workers. There is also a lack of accountability. Many of the issues that occur are a result of repeat problems or mistakes that could be corrected by holding the proper individuals accountable. Team work is lacking with management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consider trying new things and do not be afraid to stray from the norm. There needs to be a set of standards for leadership, everyone needs to be on the same page. Focus on improving communication throughout company, not just in certain areas. Better planning would help to implement new process changes, improvements, and system changes. Consider bringing the family back into the True corporation.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  2.  

    Gets better each day

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at True Manufacturing full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    True is paying attention to what employees need. The management has made many improvements in the last year. The company is nothing like it used to be and that is a good thing.

    Cons

    The flexibility policy is better than it used to be but still needs improvement. Exempt employees should have more options.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep making positive changes.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Office

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at True Manufacturing full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great environment and the convenience for lunch is great. It also always feels like the Holidays during Christmas due to the extras given from the company.

    Cons

    Promotions are rare that I know of.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Oct 21, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to know you enjoy the environment and our many food service options on site! We, too, have a lot of fun during the holiday events and enjoy ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good company but no room for advancement. The people are great but the management does not want you to show them up

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Customer Service in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at True Manufacturing full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Secure, not much chance of losing your job, raises and bonuses every year, on a you've been there for a while you can work without being micro-managed

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement, once you've been there for a while, it's easy to get burnt out and then you have no where to go.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in your employees. Realize when you have people who work at a higher level than others and reward them for it (through their raises and bonuses). Treat people more like individuals rather than a group of children who need to be monitored and disciplined

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Sep 22, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate your value in our stable environment. We also appreciate your feedback on advancement opportunities. We are aware this is an opportunity for our ... More

  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great company to work for, needs to reevaluate work-life balance of employees

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at True Manufacturing

    Pros

    True is a very stable, successful company in the market. There have been many positive changes in policies alone just in the past year.

    Cons

    The company needs to take a step back and listen to what its current employees are searching for. More flexibility and time off for their families are important. It's sad when someone has a sick child at home and rather than just stay home with them, they panic because they are so limited on their days they can take off. If you are trying to raise a family while working for True, you can forget about ever having "perfect" (or even good) attendance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to what your current employees are asking for and searching for. Reach out to them and ask what they need or you will lose great employees.

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 28, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. True’s leadership team is working hard to engage our employees and ensure only the best work environment. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to become an Employer ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Needs Improvement

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at True Manufacturing

    Pros

    Very stable company. Terrific products that all employees can be proud of. Many talented and good people working there.

    Cons

    Impossible to get anything done without running ideas past several layers of management. Even the minor details have to be cleared higher ups. It's easier to just make the decision yourself and tell them about it later.

    Many people in the management positions are not even trained at being a leader - they simply knew the job really well and were "yes" people, so the upper management can steer them. They finally decided to implement leadership training a couple years ago to improve on this, but it seems to go out the window once everyone goes back to their reulgar routines.

    Old thinking from the original owner still exists. Until the old school leadership retires or is replaced, there will be a struggle between the old thinking and the way it should be done now. It's great to celebrate your history, as they do, but it's also important to let go and change with the times.

    Why is an industry leader with a ridiculously high market share always crying poor at raise time? They give cost-of-living increases and tell everyone if they got them that it was a good review. Try cutting some salaries and ridiculous bonuses for the higher ups and instead spreading the wealth (when someone can buy a new car with their bonus and you have an employee who works hard and sacrifices their own time for the company, yet they can barely repair the car they have with their bonus, you have an imbalance).

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Trust your department managers. Let THEM manager their people. Why give them the title of manager if you are only going to nitpick every decision they try to make about their own people? Give the managers control over their own people and the people will respect and want to work for that manager.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 28, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to become an Employer of Choice. As such, we've taken great strides in recent months to enhance and improve many policies. We also ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good company with great products and amazing people!

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at True Manufacturing

    Pros

    True is very stable with a positive outlook in sales and expansion. The company is continuously growing and adding new products to meet demanding needs of the customer

    Cons

    Slow to change upper management. The company needs to fast forward to 2014 and understand that extinct policies need to change. Just because they were there in 1945 doesn't mean they need to stay in 2014.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please read past and current employee reviews! This is a great company that loses amazing employees over outdated polices and benefits. Let's move one of the few great companies in O'Fallon into the 2000s!

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 28, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. True’s leadership team is working hard to engage our employees and ensure only the best work environment. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to become an Employer ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    One of the most stable companies I've ever worked for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at True Manufacturing full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The management team is always accessible. Safe, secure employment is a what they are all about. They offer many advancement opportunities on the shop floor. Their ability to meet customer demands while maintaining excellent quality is highly impressive.

    Cons

    The lack of flexibility and low pay are their biggest drawbacks. Time off and benefits aren't what they could be and they are slow to make changes. They hold on to old processes to long and are hesitant to try new things that could bring big improvements.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 28, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. True’s leadership team is working hard to engage our employees and ensure only the best work environment. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to become an Employer ... More

  10.  

    Ok for summer job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at True Manufacturing

    Pros

    Good pay for temps, heard they raised the wge

    Cons

    Management or AKA supervisors think you are their slaves

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop treating your employees bad

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 28, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. True’s leadership team is working hard to engage our employees and ensure only the best work environment. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to become an Employer ... More

  11. 3 people found this helpful  

    Solid Company. Amazing products.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Current Employee - Human Resources

    I have been working at True Manufacturing full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Other than a great resume builder there are none. Well known in the St. Louis area for being one of the worst companies to work for.

    Cons

    Worst company culture on the planet. Rewarded for snitching on every little thing someone does. HR reps are hired to find something wrong with factory employees so they can reduce their numbers when slow. They have been know to follow people home. They hire private investigators for work comp cases so know that you are being watched. Top level HR managers joke about how many factory people have been fired. They lie about everything even to your face.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fire your entire HR leadership department you are not running a prison. You are light years behind every company on the planet.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    True Manufacturing Response

    Jul 29, 2014True Manufacturing

    Thank you for your feedback. True’s leadership team is working hard to engage our employees and ensure only the best work environment. We take tremendous pride in our efforts to evolve our friendly ... More

True Manufacturing Photos

Work at True Manufacturing? Share Your Experiences

True Manufacturing

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.