Twitter Reviews

Updated August 3, 2015
286 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

286 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Account Executive

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin (Ireland)

    I have been working at Twitter full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture High profile clients, big PLCs, world famous brands Smart team/ great people Good benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of clear path to progress Basic pay can be quite low Lots of turnover of staff


  2. Great place to be

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY

    I have been working at Twitter

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    flat organization, transparent communication, smart people, motivated people, ability to make an impact, fun people

    Cons

    Growing pains - standard changes as we mature and move from a start up to one of the largest players on the net.

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving things like you are.


  3. Happiest I've ever been

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Twitter

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been working at Twitter for 3 months now and I can tell you it's the best company I've worked for in my ten year sales career. The people are great, the product has changed the world and the work/life balance is very fair.

    Cons

    Mission is a little confusing. Teams/offices work in their own little bubbles and need to cross pollinate more. Need to retain quality people.

    Advice to Management

    You have a huge opportunity on your hands and a group of people that are more than capable to deliver on whatever goals you outline.

    Twitter Response

    Jul 15, 2015 – Human Resources

    Thanks for your comments and suggestions. We're reading all reviews and appreciate your feedback. We'll share your thoughts with our executives as well.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Forward thinking and honorable company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Twitter full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    1. Average intelligence of co-workers tend to be above the 75th percentile 2. People tend to prefer doing the right things to doing the things right 3. There is a sense of belief that everyone is doing all they can to make an impact to the business

    Cons

    Sales teams can be overly territorial in nature, leading to unintended competition and "turf war" which can be unhealthy

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the spirit of openness in communication and continue executing on our goals while keeping to the core values that make every employee proud to be a Tweep

    Twitter Response

    Jul 15, 2015 – Human Resources

    We appreciate this feedback – and we hear you! Like you, we care deeply about maintaining Twitter’s culture.


  6. Twitter review

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Policy Specialist in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Twitter

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Perks, Benefits, Flexible hours, Friendly staff. Very casual environment but people want you to succeed. Meetings are short and you have to be on point and direct. People seek feedback and want your feedback. The benefits are similar to other tech companies and comparable. And of course, the food is amazing.

    Cons

    Not understanding of growth Transparency on career development Leveling within the department is skewed and unfair

    Advice to Management

    I think management is great here and gets good training, at least in San Francisco. However, we are unclear in my department about how leveling works and growth. While the company thrives on being open and transparent, non-engineers still struggle to figure out growth.


  7. Helpful (1)

    Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Twitter full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    What I love about Twitter is that everyone working at Twitter believes in the power of Twitter and the vision of the company. Twitter is making an impact on the world - and the employees are motivated to work hard to help the company grow. The work is interesting and constantly changing. The culture is vibrant and always full of excitement. There is a sense of community here that is unlike any other company - very supportive. Also, fun Friday happy hours! Breakfast, lunch, and dinner is provided - and the food is incredible. My personal favorite is the new smoothie/juice bar. You can work off the extra calories at the cross fit gym or yoga studio, or the SF fitness right by the office.

    Cons

    The company is continuously growing, so it's easy to start to feel like it's difficult to stand out here. It's on you to branch out to meet people outside your team.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push your teams to push the boundaries and take risks. The culture here is incredible, try to maintain it as the company continues to grow.

    Twitter Response

    Jul 7, 2015 – Human Resources

    Very helpful comments – thank you!


  8. Helpful (10)

    Joined with hope, left with utter disappointment.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Twitter full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    - Good food. - Still have a lot of potential if they can right the wrongs and truly put the right person in charge.

    Cons

    - Chaotic management and product roadmap. - Mediocre middle managers who know little about the technical aspects of the team or the projects. Due to constant reorganizations, a lot of the managers are assigned to teams or projects that they have no technical expertise in. - Lack of product vision. Suffer from extreme short-sightedness to boost MAU and revenue number to satisfies Wall St.. Lurching from crisis to crisis and stuck in a vicious cycle. - Over-reliance on AB testing to determine which features to launch, sometimes in the expense of user experience. Features launches are delayed due to unfavorable DDG results on certain metrics even when the features are clear improvement for customer experience. - People are leaving in flocks. Lots of people who joined before IPO, who are truly passionate about what they do and passionate about the company, left because they do not see the company appreciates their contribution and the management in the company have the trust in them.

    Advice to Management

    - Build a product team that's truly bold, innovate and brave enough to develop game changing features. Stop relying 100% on DDGs and minor improvements. - Assign the right managers to projects. Hire, and retain, senior and experienced people who have the technical knowledge to lead a project. Stop the constant reorganization. Let the teams grow organically. - User first! Twitter is a consumer facing company. Think about features that would make them love the product and keeps coming back, not features that would satisfy Wall St.'s next earning expectation.

    Twitter Response

    Jul 1, 2015 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your candid feedback. It really helps us to improve the overall employee experience at Twitter. Your comments will be shared with our leadership team (in an anonymous report) to ... More


  9. Sr. Technical Recruiter

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Twitter full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, People, Brand, Product are amazing

    Cons

    Attrition has been higher recently

    Twitter Response

    Jul 1, 2015 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your review!


  10. Helpful (7)

    Not what I expected

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Twitter

    Pros

    Fair pay, perks and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Not a very friendly culture. Blown out. People are overworked and disgruntled.

    Twitter Response

    Jul 7, 2015 – Human Resources

    We're sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience, but we appreciate your feedback. Your comments are included in a summary of Glassdoor reviews we will share with executive leadership.


  11. Helpful (1)

    Good company but it might be growing too fast for its own good

    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Twitter full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great team members who are smart and willing to work hard. The work culture is very inviting and positive.

    Cons

    Like many up and coming companies, Twitter is trying to figure out its potential. It may take some time and reorgs happen quite often. Many employees also seem entitled, often demanding unreasonable and trivial things from the company rather than focusing on their own job.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that you have plenty of talents. Help them grow and try your best to keep them. Keep up with being transparent with all your employees.

    Twitter Response

    Jul 1, 2015 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your review. We agree there's (always) room for growth. One way we want to facilitate more #LoveWhereYouWork experiences is by sharing reviews like yours with our leadership team ... More



Showing 286 of 313 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.