Valet Park of America

www.valetparkofamerica.com

Valet Park of America Reviews

Updated January 12, 2015
Updated January 12, 2015
14 Reviews
2.9
14 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Theodore L. Chagnon
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good opportunities, Flexible Hours

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet Captain in Worcester, MA
    Former Employee - Valet Captain in Worcester, MA

    I worked at Valet Park of America full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    I worked for VPA for about 2 years. The job itself is somewhat physically demanding but nothing over the top, and is a great way to be active at work. You do work outdoors (sometimes in poor conditions) but they provide you with a waterproof jacket and fleece. I never had an issue with cold weather as I always made sure to layer properly and be prepared. As for the pay it is quite good for an entry level position. Working at hospitals most of us made around 13$ an hour with tips included. Promotions are attainable and you can find yourself in a supervisory role in a few months if you work for it.

    Cons

    -Rain, snow, cold. But it's part of the job.
    - Occasional Long hours.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Needs to evolve.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Valet Park of America full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Simple job, unlimited overtime, usual perks for being a private business.

    Cons

    Sense of detachment from those who make the rules vs those who must follow them. Pay rates are a joke.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management has been reminded year after year of things they need to do to keep talent employed here. The company choosing to follow it or not is up to them. This job is very "plug and play", most employees feel that they are all replaceable.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Valet kinda sucks.....kinda

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet in Springfield, MA
    Former Employee - Valet in Springfield, MA

    I worked at Valet Park of America full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great exercise. Good tip sometimes. drive various cars for short time (so you can say you drove a porche to people). Friendly workers

    Cons

    When your start the employers basically treat you like pawns. Expect crazy work hours or having to wake up so early to work at a separate city which can take up your whole day.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your workers better. Valet are not machines.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Valet Park of America Response

    Dec 23, 2014Director of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. You're absolutely right about the positives - we tell everyone we do a great deal of running, driving, and helping people. It's not a job for everyone, but if you enjoy ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    management is shot

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Valet Park of America full-time

    Pros

    its a fun job you deal with alot of people its killer customer service experience you make people feel good if its at a hospital and you drive some fun cars ive driven my dream car a few times its a really flexible schedule if you need it amd you can work a ton of hours if thats what you want also get to go to a few cool spots like mountains and islands and racetracks and stuff

    Cons

    the management is terrible ive actually became management myself and ill be the first t say they dont take care of theyre employees especially since they asksooooo much we bust tail in cold or hot days sometimes non stop sprinting to and from cars and we have to keep a smile the whole time even if were soaking wet as a manager for a long time now ill say it the service we provide is the very best because we ony keep the good employees but we have to find the ones that will put up with being used as a manager i feel discoyraged sometimes and the company from headquarters and dow the management line doesnt feel any need or want to take care of empoyees theyll put you where you dont want they make you work holidays even if you ask them off and t seems like they punish you for taking days off if it seems to mess up theyre scheduling also just ask so much and dont compensate you enough at all they want you to go so far out of your way but they pay you garbage and tips make it to be just barely minimum wage also you have to deal with jerks of people/customers and have to drive some nasty cars dirty moldy ashy smelly cars

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    start caring pay a little more to make it worth it enforce stupid rulesand policies that you act like is important but dont seem to care and listen to what your managers and employees have to say and theyre input

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Valet Park of America Response

    Dec 23, 2014Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write this. I appreciate how strongly you feel about this. One of the strengths of our business is that we promote from within and our leaders all have worked as ... More

  6.  

    Managers are horrible!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet in Norwalk, CT
    Former Employee - Valet in Norwalk, CT

    I worked at Valet Park of America full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Meet great people! Coustermers are great and coworkers.

    Cons

    Management is very unfair!!! Norwalk location especially.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't treat people like numbers. Employees want to be treated fair.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Valet Park of America Response

    Dec 23, 2014Director of HR

    I'm surprised you feel this way, as our Norwalk management team has scored very well on internal employee surveys and we've never had a concern about them brought to our attention. Please call me at ... More

  7.  

    Stretched thin

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Valet
    Former Employee - Valet

    I worked at Valet Park of America full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Great exercise
    Good tips at a few locations
    Generally good coworkers

    Cons

    Upper management does what they want without any regard for you
    Long driving distances without proper reinbursement

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Appreciate the work your valets do for you and take care of them.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    In torrential down pour or heart-slowing bitter cold, you are out there running.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Valet Attendant in Hartford, CT
    Current Employee - Valet Attendant in Hartford, CT

    I have been working at Valet Park of America part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    lots of exercise, learn to drive every car imaginable -including high profile sports cars, big trucks and vans and hummers. You will be able to reverse park into Incan rock crevices and not scratch the car by the end of your tenure.

    Cons

    hours in the elements make you feel like you are training for Special Forces. You can do everything right and still wind up scratching someone's car due to the human element in a highly variable environment that involves constant traffic and humans. Some people drive around in literal trash heaps; if you were to scoop up several pounds of rubbish from the city dump and drop all of it into someone's old car, you would have what some of the customers hand to you to park for them -it leaves you feeling a little dirty once you step out of those :) They don't pay those guys enough to do what they are doing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I can't say I have a problem with you guys. You were pretty chilled. Its just the nature of the job that a man can only take for so long.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Valet Park of America Response

    Dec 23, 2014Director of HR

    "You will be able to reverse park into Incan rock crevices and not scratch the car by the end of your tenure." - possibly the best quote I've read on a review, but we certainly don't encourage trying ... More

  9.  

    They're lucky no one has time or money to take them to court.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Valet Park of America

    Pros

    They will provide you with how ever many hours you want to work, from part time to full time.
    Great job for an athletic young person starting out in the work force.
    You can work a normal 5-6 day a week 8 hour shift or overnights at the ER or short shifts at events for great tips.
    There are some great people working in management, who truly care about their coworkers and make it a fun and relaxed work shift.
    Not a bad job for the summer time.
    I can now say I've been in some incredibly expensive nice cars from working events.

    Cons

    There are also some horrible people working in management who are very rarely disciplined.

    Management can be very cliquey and don't follow appropriate procedures dealing with at work harassment and abuse.

    The whole company seems to be over-all unorganized, losing tips / not refunding returned uniforms in a timely fashion, he/said-she/said kind of atmosphere, lack of professionalism when dealing with coworkers.

    The work is either extremely busy and fast paced or it is dead slow.

    The job of a valet involves running; if you are injured by this they do not listen to doctors orders, they expect you to run.

    They will make you work (even at the hospital) sick, even if you are highly contagious with something like the flu.
    Which they tell the general public it is against their policy but they will still not let you go home.
    Which is so irresponsible and could contribute to the death of newborns or the elderly. PLEASE STOP DOING THAT, VPA!!!

    You also can be fired for having the flu and having to call out sick for a few days because you don't want to infect people at the hospital.

    You will have to work in blizzards, snow storms, rain, hail, even when there is a state of emergency.
    And you will get the flu and you will be fired because of it.

    If you apply for a valet position make sure they are clear with you about the hourly wage. Each area has a different pay rate. It's very easy to work harder and make the same amount that you would otherwise. They lower the hourly wage when it is an area known to pay out more in tips.

    Some do well at this company, most do not. For the most part it doesn't matter how hard you try. It really depends if you can befriend the right people.

    Also, if you are a woman and applying for a valet position proceed with caution and that's all I'm going to say about that.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    As I said, Do not force valet attendants to work with a contagious illness at any location but definitely not at the hospitals. Make sure that all managers are made aware that they need to send those employees home and they will not face consequences.

    Have a better system for collecting and redistributing tips instead of just writing on a tiny piece of paper and throwing them in a box all rolled up together. They get lost or stolen constantly!

    If you have an employee that is injured you need to follow the law and respect doctors orders. Give them a desk job until they heal.

    Adjust payment of employees to cost of living in MA and don't mislead people who apply that they will be making more than they actually will.

    If you treat your employees with respect you will have respectable employees and the company as a whole will thrive.

    Doesn't Recommend

    Valet Park of America Response

    Apr 10, 2014Director of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. I'd like to address each issue one at a time.

    "Management can be very cliquey and don't follow appropriate procedures dealing with at work harassment and abuse." - I
    ... More

  10.  

    Decent Management, Below Average Pay, Hard Hours

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Valet in Worcester, MA
    Current Employee - Valet in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at Valet Park of America full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, When to Work online community, fun employees

    Cons

    Terrible hours, bad management, hard to advance. On call system is awful

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on rewarding hard work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Valet Park of America Response

    Aug 1, 2013Director of HR

    Thanks for your feedback. Regarding the hours - I think this comes with the service industry in general - sometimes our clients need us at all hours of the day & night. I know it can be tough and we ... More

  11.  

    Good for extra cash, but not interested in making it a career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

    I worked at Valet Park of America

    Pros

    Extra cash, and you get to drive nice cars occasionally.

    Cons

    Management, terrible communication, no morale, lacking technology.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Team, lead by example, work on morale, and indulge in new technologies to make things more efficient.

    Doesn't Recommend

Valet Park of America Photos

Work at Valet Park of America? Share Your Experiences

Valet Park of America

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.