Vecna Technologies

  vecna.com
  vecna.com

Vecna Technologies Reviews

Updated December 1, 2014
Updated December 1, 2014
57 Reviews
3.9
57 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Deborah Theobald
42 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • great work/life balance, especially flexibility of work hours and option of working from home (in 8 reviews)

  • The culture of community service is great (in 9 reviews)


Cons
  • The paid-community-service must be spent 4 hours per week, they are not open to 8 hours every other week, making it very difficult to schedule (in 3 reviews)

  • First of all, the time-tracking is horribly stressful (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Having fun making a real difference in the world

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Vecna has a lot of opportunities for an ambitious person to grow.
    You get to work on exciting projects that make a difference in the world.
    The community service is fantastic, and attracts the right type of people to work at Vecna.
    The clubs and activities help build great relationships if you are into that type of thing.
    Best benefits in the world
    Good supervisors and managers to work with

    Cons

    Vecna isn't a great place for people who need to be told exactly what to do with every minute of their day.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bigger Bonus!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    good at saying the right thing, not great at follow through at all.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA

    I worked at Vecna Technologies full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good marketing team, they TRY to be cool. Location is cool.

    Cons

    A lot of dishonesty and great a hiding it.

    People get fired randomly for no good reason.

    I was underpaid by about 50-60%.

    Tech stack from 2003. Most work can be outsourced to India and should.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop hiring secretaries and calling them managers.
    Stop lecturing about ethics and start acting like an ethical company. Managers sleeping with their subordinates is not acceptable.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 28, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    I apologize that you feel you had a bad experience.

    Regarding the vague accusations of dishonesty, since I have no idea what you are referring to it is hard to respond specifically. Vecna as a
    ... More

  3.  

    positive environment and people, in between small-large company mentality

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    friendly people
    positive mindset
    good work-life balance
    good location (right next to the subway)
    good time off and health benefits
    fun clubs

    Cons

    somewhat outdated tech stack
    salary tends to be on the low side
    being 'excited' is very important

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 28, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and all the kudos!

    If you are working on some of Vecna's older code and you don't enjoy that, feel free to request a different project, there are numerous cutting edge
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great Company Culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies

    Pros

    Vecna is creating really cutting-edge technology in the healthcare sector, and the company is growing quite fast.

    Good things about day-to-day life here:
    - great company culture; everyone is really friendly, and there are a lot of clubs to join
    - great work/life balance, especially flexibility of work hours and option of working from home
    - casual office dress
    - gives employee's incentives to live healthy lives

    Cons

    I think Vecna can do more to help employees with their growth professionally. Many people at the company are young, and there are a lot of college/recent grad hires who are really eager to grow. Some ideas to do this would be to hold skills workshops and create space for those in more senior positions to offer career advice for others starting out in their career.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    - Creating a structure for employees' professional growth would be great
    - would be nice to have a faster recruiting process - it turns out that Vecna was very interested in hiring me, but after several months of waiting, I thought the company had no interest

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 28, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the suggestions. Vecna has been formalizing career advancement structures for each role in the company and has been asking for feedback from the team on the plan. These have been ... More

  6.  

    Good place to gain experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    - flexible schedule
    - great benefits
    - very fun crowd
    - meaningful work

    Cons

    With the pros listed, there are cons that come with the company - including a counter to the pros above. First, just because the schedule is flexible, some will slack off. Some will claim to work from home, but really do nothing.

    Change with no end in sight. Company has been going through make-overs, restructuring for as long as I have been here and there is no end in sight. This leads to lack of stability, roles constantly changing, no one knowing who is doing what or why, and people doing double the amount of work without realizing someone else has done it. It's a mess.

    Lack of recognition for non-techs. Unless you are in an engineer position, recognition is tough to get. Even general managers seldom acknowledge management - only the engineers. It's frustrating. We all have worked on a project - business analysts, designers, project manages, sales, contract managers, all. Yet only tech leads and select engineers get kudos.

    Salaries below market average.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the improvement and address cons above.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 7, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. A reminder to all team members about qi@vecna.com (anonymous) and the open door policy anytime you need help addressing challenges. Always good to address issues with the ... More

  7. 3 people found this helpful  

    Lacking management and direction

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous
    Current Employee - Anonymous

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies

    Pros

    Flexible, smart people, good benefits, desire to be disruptive

    Cons

    Lack of executive leadership and management. The ship is always on fire. Poor execution.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Define and communicate vision and trust your team in getting you there.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 7, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. Vecna is filled with great, talented, fun, and ethical people, thanks for noticing! Regarding lack of executive leadership, we are sorry you feel that way and would like to ... More

  8.  

    never worked anywhere quite like it

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies full-time

    Pros

    if you want to be around bleeding edge technology and engineers, this is the place to be. If you believe robotics will have a dramatic impact on our future, Vecna is pioneering many technologies in this arena

    Cons

    it is a very difficult company to get things done in. the executive team is in-experienced and does not function as a team. owners are brilliant people but have not assembled the right team beneath them. Compensation at Vecna will be and is a disappointment. Benefits and work-life balance is fantastic but not enough to make up for sub-par compensation

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    bring in new sr leadership beneath owners

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Nov 7, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. Vecna has been doing some amazing things in robotics and the whole world is starting to take notice. Pretty exciting time for both robotics and for Vecna.

    Please let
    ... More

  9.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Leadership continues to push the company in the right direction and really great stuff is happening. Awesome benefits. Fun clubs. I have gotten 6 raises and 2 significant promotions in the last two years, and I never had to ask.

    Cons

    Seems like there have been some growth related challenges, but sitting here I can't really come up with anything specific. Oh, they haven't been quite as fast at getting rid of people who don't contribute or cause problems as in the past.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I like the new mission statement "Empowering Humanity through Transformative Technology," thanks for the clear vision. Get rid of problem causers faster. There aren't many of them, but it only takes one to negatively affect everyone else's job satisfaction. Otherwise, great job.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Solid internship with great people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Vecna Technologies as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great culture of work-life balance. Coworkers are easy to talk to and work with.

    Cons

    Lack of learning opportunities outside of what was assigned. Projects tend to move slowly so work got tedious.

    Approves of CEO

    Vecna Technologies Response

    Sep 20, 2014Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback and the shout out on culture and coworkers, we agree that the people at Vecna are great. Typically we hear from our interns that they learned more in their internship than ... More

  11.  

    It's my dream company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Vecna Technologies as a contractor

    Pros

    Good work culture, happy life

    Cons

    The medical care robot is interesting.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Vecna Technologies Photos

CRL Office Building

+ Add Photo

Work at Vecna Technologies? Share Your Experiences

Vecna Technologies

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.