Virginia Mason Medical Center

www.virginiamason.org
Engaged Employer

Virginia Mason Medical Center Reviews

Updated August 26, 2015
85 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.6
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Virginia Mason Medical Center Chairman & CEO Gary Kaplan
Gary Kaplan
46 Ratings

Pros
  • leadership , very well managed, company values are ingrained with employees, great patient care (in 5 reviews)

  • Good pay and excellent employees (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • The staff also skews older and technologically challenged compared to companies outside health care (in 2 reviews)

  • Lots of internal audits and mid level management types (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

85 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Emergency Department Technician

    Current Employee - Technician/Patient Care Technician in Renton, WA
    Current Employee - Technician/Patient Care Technician in Renton, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A great company with exceptional benefits. A great work environment with people who you enjoy working with.

    Cons

    The management states "they want to listen to what you say", but just is a front and do not listen to what staff have to says.

    Advice to Management

    Management is too big. There are way too many positions within the organization that are not involved with direct patient care.


  2. Nurses´Aide

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    nice ande beautifull place to work and the people are the Best.

    Cons

    I do not have cons

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Sep 1, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  3. Project manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Team atmosphere, strong mission, high quality medical staff

    Cons

    Salary is less than other hospital groups

    Advice to Management

    Improve benefits

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Sep 1, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present. Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Learned a lot over the years

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Federal Way, WA
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Federal Way, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    VMMC strive for patient safety and continuously work in improving the quality of care. Knowing that, it would be one of the first places I would recommend anyone for their healthcare.

    Cons

    Overwhelming tasks/responsibilities given to MAs, while RNs only came in to work as little as they possibly could. Nurses I worked with were not team players because they're "RN's". They only step-in only if there's an urgency, otherwise, they're too "busy" typing up their reports.

    Advice to Management

    Provide incentives and recognize those who take initiatives.


  6. Very disappointed CNA

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Jones pavilion is a very nice facility, quality healthcare, okay pay and benefits, seems to be well organized and well staffed more often than not.

    Cons

    I was an employee here for 3+ years and got along with everyone. I followed the rules, I was great with my patients, I left with plenty of positive references and friends. I liked the company so much, I decided to return (I was told to call anytime). Upon getting ahold of my former manager, I learned I was flagged as ineligible for rehire. Rumor has it that I had spoken negatively about another employee, something I was never confronted with or given a chance to defend. The conversation was brutal to say the least, my inquiries were met with enthusiastic and cheerful professionalism despite the nature of the discussion. I construed this cheerful tone delivering bad news with no intent to listen to anything I had to say as joy. This was very hard to swallow, for 3 years I was in high standing with everyone I worked with, many of the staff I've stayed in contact with have offered to write letters of recommendation to HR about my return. In the short 3 months I worked under my interim manager, a very negative opinion was developed and my reputation with VM was gone. I later received a very direct and not so polite email demanding that I stop calling the facility, despite my invitation to call and inquire anytime. I've attempted to file a grievance with HR, but I have yet to hear back. I feel humiliated, slandered, vilified and unjustly cast out. This is not what I expected from a hospital like Virginia Mason.

    Advice to Management

    N/A


  7. System Analyst Programmer IV

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Good management, great staff, they put the patient first and provide great patient care. I would recommend Virginia Mason as a place of employment and as a hospital

    Cons

    The location is not the easiest for public transportation and there is no staff parking during the daytime on weekdays.

    Advice to Management

    Work on keeping the great staff you have. Putting everyone's salaries into buckets based on titles does not make sense.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present. Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback.


  8. Patient Care Tech

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Tech in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Patient Care Tech in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Amazing organization with a strong mission statement that they wholeheartedly work towards achieving. -Fair patient-to-staff ratio -Great benefits -Great time off -Tuition reimbursment

    Cons

    None to share, this has been a wonderful organization to work with for the past 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Spend time on the floor to really grasp the amount of work that goes into caring for the patients.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  9. Helpful (1)

    Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    My job focused on customer service and keeping their needs at the top of the pyramid.

    Cons

    Need to treat the employees with respect

    Advice to Management

    Customer service is driven by your first line employees. Listen to them.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our Senior Leadership.


  10. great place to work (if you have a good manager)

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Manager in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    The right manager can help you grow and develop, but the contrary is also very true. Management and most staff place importance on the strategic plan and put the patient at the top of the period.

    Cons

    Continuing education support is limited unless you are nursing staff.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  11. Great place to work and grow

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There is no better place to work if you are looking for a health care organization that put patients first and listens to its staff.

    Cons

    Being a 95 year institution in the heart of Seattle, some of the facilities are old and not reflective of the level of care provided.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Aug 3, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.



Showing 85 of 86 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.