Virginia Mason Medical Center

www.virginiamason.org
Engaged Employer

Virginia Mason Medical Center Reviews

Updated July 28, 2015
48 reviews filtered by
  • Seattle, WA
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
3.8
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Virginia Mason Medical Center Chairman & CEO Gary Kaplan
Gary Kaplan
27 Ratings

Pros
  • leadership , very well managed, company values are ingrained with employees, great patient care (in 5 reviews)

  • Good pay and excellent employees (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • The staff also skews older and technologically challenged compared to companies outside health care (in 2 reviews)

  • Lots of internal audits and mid level management types (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

48 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Patient Care Tech

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Tech in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Patient Care Tech in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    -Amazing organization with a strong mission statement that they wholeheartedly work towards achieving. -Fair patient-to-staff ratio -Great benefits -Great time off -Tuition reimbursment

    Cons

    None to share, this has been a wonderful organization to work with for the past 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Spend time on the floor to really grasp the amount of work that goes into caring for the patients.


  2. Great place to work and grow

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There is no better place to work if you are looking for a health care organization that put patients first and listens to its staff.

    Cons

    Being a 95 year institution in the heart of Seattle, some of the facilities are old and not reflective of the level of care provided.


  3. Supervisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great benefits, career growth, excellent training, teamwork, transparency

    Cons

    Work load, work life balance

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Better never stops

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Not just a byline an actual way of how things are done at VM

    Cons

    Going for magnet status, seems impossible to get ahead here. ADN hinders my opportunities and chances are things wont improve until I get a BSN

    Advice to Management

    Improve education opportunities and covering tuition for the degree advancement you are requiring to stay employed.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  6. great ideas, no follow thru

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    downtown , seattle well known, medical staff are on the ball

    Cons

    business staff are terrible!, they really are behind the times and fail to solve problems

    Advice to Management

    clean house, with upper management, promote and recruit college educated managers

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our Senior Leadership.


  7. Administrative Assistant II

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant II in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant II in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I was accepted from the very first interview. I worked in a department where I had very little patient contact. I loved the work and the people I worked with. The job was a perfect fit for my experience and skills. The atmosphere fostered development, learning and positive changes. I was a part of the team and was included in decision-making because my position was key in the work.

    Cons

    Virginia Mason is like Group Health, a very individual culture. Benefits are very low in the vacation accrual for new hires, not negotiable for hourly employees. Many parts of the work are out-sources.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Feb 2, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. ts very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present.


  8. Helpful (2)

    Good company to work for but management's people skills are lacking

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits are some of the best in the industry. The work environment is very positive.

    Cons

    Unfortunately some of the managers at Virginia Mason have very poor people skills, so employees do not always maximize their potential. As with a lot of large medical centers these days, you are thought of as more of a commodity/number than a person.

    Advice to Management

    Would recommend developing your manager's people skills and to treat employees as people and not as numbers.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Jan 26, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. It is very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees. Your comments have been shared with our Senior Leadership.


  9. My first stepping stone

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Assistant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff, lots of great changes all the time, wonderful position, small but consistent raises, Typically I'm very engaged, I'm on a very flexible team, schedule is awesome

    Cons

    Recent loss of hospital contracts, recently had 1st lay-off in history of company, constantly tightening the belt while I've been here..

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Feb 13, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback. ts very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees past and present..


  10. Helpful (8)

    Brutal elimination of entire department on 1/15/2015

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Observer in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Observer in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    "No layoff" policy...what a lie. The doctors are good. The management needs a class called "walk a mile in my shoes." Compassion and loyalty or rewarding employees instead of eliminating their jobs...these values are in short supply.

    Cons

    Reputation of this company must suffer after they callously laid off the entire medical transcription department, eliminating around 60 jobs overall, jobs that were here in this community, paid decent living wages. All gone.The transcription department, numberi around 20, consisted of older, long term employees (20 years or more), some were blind, and all were shocked that their skills, loyalty and contribution to success of VM and patient care and safety were valued and respected so little. An absolute betrayal. Don't trust them, don't work for them. You mean nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Undo the mistakes and show some character, integrity and compassion. This was Ugly.

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Jan 26, 2015 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review, and your feedback has been shared with Senior Leadership.


  11. Helpful (2)

    Is neutral employer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Virginia Mason Medical Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great employees! Everyone has a "our patient's are important!" attitude

    Cons

    Not alot of job growth unless you have RN degree. Too much focus on processes, getting the flows down but no one is filtering those processes into reality

    Advice to Management

    Open up different types of job positions for employees to gain potential job growth

    Virginia Mason Medical Center Response

    Oct 15, 2014 – Strategic Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback! Its very important to visitors to be able to hear from our employees, current and past.



Showing 48 of 77 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.