Zillow Reviews

Updated April 13, 2015
268 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
4.2
268 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Spencer Rascoff
Spencer Rascoff
204 Ratings

Pros
  • The work life balance is generally has gotten a lot better since the startup days (in 15 reviews)

  • Fun atmosphere, lots of free food, great salary, big impact on the site (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • Be prepared to work with real estate agents all day (in 10 reviews)

  • Call time is good metric but there better metrics to drive business forward (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    I was an account manager for their online marketing team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, great people, laid back culture and atmosphere. The products are immeasurable and very easy to get to know in order to motivate and teach the public.

    Cons

    Not much availability to move around and/or up in the company quickly. I wish there was more motivational coaching to make more people leaders in the company.

    Advice to Management

    More leadership coaching will be key to increasing the success of the company overall. Amazon.com instills leadership principles and qualities from a model that I believe all companies should follow.

    Zillow Response

    Apr 16, 2015HR Director

    Thank you for your constructive feedback. At Zillow we pride ourselves on our commitment to core values and have integrated these into how we recognize and reward performance at every level of the ... More

  2. Helpful (1)

    Great culture and coworkers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Surrounded by great talent across all departments. The interview process can be long but once you start working with smart, driven, and fun people, you see why Zillow takes the time to find the right people.
    - C-level shows they care about maintaining the culture even among high growth. Super impressed by how long some people have been here which shows that they love working here
    - Always fast-moving. Company has great vibe of never being complacent
    - Good work-life balance
    - Awesome location and the facilities are always spotless!

    Cons

    - Some groups are spread thin so there is often struggles to get priority. These are the groups that could hopefully benefit from hiring more people.
    - Wouldn't mind additional holidays that some other employers offer

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eyes on the prize but don't do it at the expense of the awesome Zillow culture

    Zillow Response

    Apr 12, 2015CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review!

  3. ISC Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Crazy good benefits and a CEO who listens to everyone from the ground up. He actually gives his cell phone out for people to text him with anything. Some of the most supportive and enthusiastic sales people I have ever worked with. I made 6 figures now at then end of my first year.

    Cons

    If you don't like to work your tail off it is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    The new sales director in OC is amazing . I would love to see more transparency in compensation and promotions from OC.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    If you have the opportunity to work for Zillow, I say Go For It.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fair and honest management team that cares about the company culture more than almost anything else. Lots of free food on hand at all times, catered lunches and off work activities. Great set of benefits, best I've seen. Overall friendly working environment, in a class A office space. Not stingy on employee perks.

    Cons

    Comp plan too complicated and bonuses favor reps with more seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I for one appreciate all you do for your employees.

    Zillow Response

    Apr 9, 2015

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review your Zillow experience.

    I'm glad to hear how much you appreciate the culture you've helped create in the OC!

    We regularly review the comp plan to
    ... More

  6. Helpful (4)

    Great benefits, great product, innovative company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Compensation and culture. Can easily make 6 figures on the inside sales floor. Great people and exciting company to work for.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is limited especially pertaining to the sales floor. It is hard to move into management or vertically into other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Relax on monitoring employees days using arbitrary metrics. They do not accurately portray the output, efficiency or effectiveness of an employee.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 26, 2015

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

    I'm glad the experience has been positive and I wanted to address your concerns.

    While it is competitive to earn promotions, there are literally
    ... More

  7. Helpful (1)

    Account Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    String cheese
    Office Views
    No dress code

    Cons

    Team lead have little people management skills
    Nothing is standardized so every employee is left to her manager's clinical obsession to irreverent details
    Pay is terrible

    Advice to Management

    Shuffle the teams more often!

    Zillow Response

    Apr 13, 2015VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Hi from Zillow. I'm really sorry you've had a not-great experience at Zillow. The good news is that we're making progress on the Con areas you describe (though can't promise on the "pay" part ... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    Positivity Run Rampant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've never worked for a better organization in my life and would like to retire happy and old as a Zillow employee. Google-style environment with game rooms, nap stations and desks with treadmills. Base salary plus competitive compensation plan, amazing benefits, catered meals weekly, monthly retreats/getaways, free snacks/foods/beverages daily, complementary fitness classes, comprehensive training program, tons of bonus giveaways and plenty of upward mobility.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Zillow as an organization. The job itself is extremely difficult and there is no room for "off-days"; it's not for the feint of heart. For those not self-motivated, I suggest you steer clear.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the optimistic and positive track that you are on. You are some of the strongest culture carriers I've ever encountered in my life. Keep up the good work!

    Zillow Response

    Mar 18, 2015

    Thanks for the thoughtful feedback! I am glad the experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents.

    Sky's the limit - Happy
    ... More

  9. Helpful (3)

    Best real-estate tech company in nation.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Amazing work environment and candy-culture, and I mean (free skittles, m&m's, starburst, trail mix, etc). Young hipster , party employees.

    Cons

    very few cons to discuss if any.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 4, 2015VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Thanks for the nice feedback! Glad you're enjoying (and I assume thriving) in our team. Also remember - we just added a frozen yogurt machine on the 33rd floor.

  10. Work is interesting, people are nice, hours are reasonable.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Fun product, people are nice.

    Cons

    There isn't anything in particular I dislike.

  11. Helpful (1)

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Feel like you are a part of a team while still having the ability to work autonomously. Great leadership and explosive growth.

    Cons

    Communication from management can be lacking at time. With extreme growth, the unknown can seem common.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through on new hire orientation. Continue to implement processes to keep things on track. Offer more time to listen to concerns from employees.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 25, 2015CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your feedback. I agree that our new employee onboarding could improve. We have made great strides here, but it can always be better -- especially beyond the first few days. We have ... More

Work at Zillow? Share Your Experiences

Zillow

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.