Zillow Reviews

Updated July 30, 2015
290 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

290 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (3)

    ISC Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Crazy good benefits and a CEO who listens to everyone from the ground up. He actually gives his cell phone out for people to text him with anything. Some of the most supportive and enthusiastic sales people I have ever worked with. I made 6 figures now at then end of my first year.

    Cons

    If you don't like to work your tail off it is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    The new sales director in OC is amazing . I would love to see more transparency in compensation and promotions from OC.


  2. Helpful (4)

    If you have the opportunity to work for Zillow, I say Go For It.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fair and honest management team that cares about the company culture more than almost anything else. Lots of free food on hand at all times, catered lunches and off work activities. Great set of benefits, best I've seen. Overall friendly working environment, in a class A office space. Not stingy on employee perks.

    Cons

    Comp plan too complicated and bonuses favor reps with more seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I for one appreciate all you do for your employees.

    Zillow Response

    Apr 9, 2015

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review your Zillow experience. I'm glad to hear how much you appreciate the culture you've helped create in the OC! We regularly review the comp plan to ... More


  3. Helpful (5)

    Wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior In Market Sales Representative -Rentals
    Former Employee - Senior In Market Sales Representative -Rentals

    I worked at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I have absolutely nothing positive to say about this company and my horrible experience with them. From the interview process which was the longest, rudest most unprofessional experience where I had to jump through hoops like a circus animal, to the week of training in Seattle where I was immediately made to feel unwelcome and had my motives for being there questioned. If you are a seasoned professional sales rep this is not the company for you. The company is predominantly young millennials who very much think they are the smartest people in the room. With little life experience and job experience they also believe the executives are, and I'm quoting here from what I was told "The smartest people in the whole world". Though I don't doubt there are some very bright minds working at the company, they are by no means "The Smartest People In The Whole World". Statements like that quickly show how immature, easily influenced and inexperienced their young managers are.

    Cons

    Young Sales trainer who has never worked as a sales trainer or been in sales and therefor has never sold anything in her life is going to "train you". She is unprofessional and will question why you're there on your first day and make you feel unwelcome. She will then talk about you behind your back and bad mouth you to your manager and others in the company. Unprofessional, rude, condescending attitude, almost everyone in a leadership role thinks they know everything and they are better than you. Young managers with no management experience, leadership experience, tact or people skills. Outside Sales Managers have no power to build their own teams. The power lies with people you interview with at Zillow's corporate headquarters where they have some type of utopia hiring decision and the "panel" must all agree on hiring a candidate. Even though some of the people you interview with are not even in the same division you'd be working in or people you'd be working with directly. Never have I seen a sales organization that doesn't give managers and/or Directors the power to build their own teams but their teams are chosen for them by people at corporate. Basically they are managers in title only. If you're a sales manager, don't apply here! They don't want individuals. Drink the kool aid and fall in line. They have a telemarketer mentality that doesn't translate to outside sales reps. They need to learn there is a difference. Please, please, please if this helps in any way to spare anyone else from dealing with the most unprofessional people and being jerked around so badly by a company that claims they're all about Power to the People, just not their own people and Turning on the Lights except when it comes to fair and ethical treatment of their employees. I truly hope you will think twice before wasting your time with this company. The "kool-aid" drinking millennials who think because snacks, beverages, and yogurt are provided for them are the ones that think it's the best job ever. Trust your intuition and run fast and far from this company!

    Advice to Management

    The world is not a Utopia! Diversity makes the world go round. You have some real flaws in your hiring process as well as the people you have hired. It's not OK to treat people the way your employees have treated me. Those employees are a representation of your company, it's important that you know those people ARE NOT REPRESENTING your company well when they are being rude and unprofessional. Whether or not you hire someone you have a duty to be polite and welcoming to them, especially when they've flown half way across the country to interview. Even more so, when you do hire them, WELCOME them, make them feel glad they joined the team and that you are happy they are there. Don't castigate them on their 1st day and interrogate them aggressively! HAVE SOME MANNERS, BE RESPECTFUL, POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL!!!

    Zillow Response

    Jun 12, 2015 – Zillow Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We will give careful thought to it. While you worked at Zillow for just a short while, I’m disappointed that you didn’t see more value in our team and culture. We do ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Great culture and coworkers

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Marketing in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Surrounded by great talent across all departments. The interview process can be long but once you start working with smart, driven, and fun people, you see why Zillow takes the time to find the right people. - C-level shows they care about maintaining the culture even among high growth. Super impressed by how long some people have been here which shows that they love working here - Always fast-moving. Company has great vibe of never being complacent - Good work-life balance - Awesome location and the facilities are always spotless!

    Cons

    - Some groups are spread thin so there is often struggles to get priority. These are the groups that could hopefully benefit from hiring more people. - Wouldn't mind additional holidays that some other employers offer

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eyes on the prize but don't do it at the expense of the awesome Zillow culture

    Zillow Response

    Apr 12, 2015 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review!


  6. Helpful (4)

    Great benefits, great product, innovative company.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Compensation and culture. Can easily make 6 figures on the inside sales floor. Great people and exciting company to work for.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is limited especially pertaining to the sales floor. It is hard to move into management or vertically into other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Relax on monitoring employees days using arbitrary metrics. They do not accurately portray the output, efficiency or effectiveness of an employee.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 26, 2015

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad the experience has been positive and I wanted to address your concerns. While it is competitive to earn promotions, there are literally ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    Account Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    String cheese Office Views No dress code

    Cons

    Team lead have little people management skills Nothing is standardized so every employee is left to her manager's clinical obsession to irreverent details Pay is terrible

    Advice to Management

    Shuffle the teams more often!

    Zillow Response

    Apr 13, 2015 – VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Hi from Zillow. I'm really sorry you've had a not-great experience at Zillow. The good news is that we're making progress on the Con areas you describe (though can't promise on the "pay" part ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    Positivity Run Rampant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've never worked for a better organization in my life and would like to retire happy and old as a Zillow employee. Google-style environment with game rooms, nap stations and desks with treadmills. Base salary plus competitive compensation plan, amazing benefits, catered meals weekly, monthly retreats/getaways, free snacks/foods/beverages daily, complementary fitness classes, comprehensive training program, tons of bonus giveaways and plenty of upward mobility.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Zillow as an organization. The job itself is extremely difficult and there is no room for "off-days"; it's not for the feint of heart. For those not self-motivated, I suggest you steer clear.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the optimistic and positive track that you are on. You are some of the strongest culture carriers I've ever encountered in my life. Keep up the good work!

    Zillow Response

    Mar 18, 2015

    Thanks for the thoughtful feedback! I am glad the experience has been so positive and appreciate your candor about the opportunity and challenges that the role presents. Sky's the limit - Happy ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    Best real-estate tech company in nation.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Amazing work environment and candy-culture, and I mean (free skittles, m&m's, starburst, trail mix, etc). Young hipster , party employees.

    Cons

    very few cons to discuss if any.

    Advice to Management

    none.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 4, 2015 – VP, Sales Strategy and Operations

    Thanks for the nice feedback! Glad you're enjoying (and I assume thriving) in our team. Also remember - we just added a frozen yogurt machine on the 33rd floor.


  10. Work is interesting, people are nice, hours are reasonable.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Fun product, people are nice.

    Cons

    There isn't anything in particular I dislike.


  11. Helpful (1)

    Great Company!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Feel like you are a part of a team while still having the ability to work autonomously. Great leadership and explosive growth.

    Cons

    Communication from management can be lacking at time. With extreme growth, the unknown can seem common.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through on new hire orientation. Continue to implement processes to keep things on track. Offer more time to listen to concerns from employees.

    Zillow Response

    Mar 25, 2015 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for your feedback. I agree that our new employee onboarding could improve. We have made great strides here, but it can always be better -- especially beyond the first few days. We have ... More



Showing 290 of 300 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.