bebe stores

  www.bebe.com
  www.bebe.com

bebe stores Reviews

Updated December 17, 2014
Updated December 17, 2014
178 Reviews
3.2
178 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jim Wiggett
12 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • GREAT discount, if you spend most of your money on clothes anyway the discount is definitely worth it (in 23 reviews)

  • Right off the bat, the 50% discount is one of the best in the whole mall (in 14 reviews)


Cons
  • They pay a management position minimum wage (in 11 reviews)

  • long hours, constantly changing store set up (in 10 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Amazing Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    bebe offers an opportunity for diverse and progressive experience in a talented entrepreneurial environment with competitive compensation and outstanding benefits package; opportunity for career growth; development opportunities to acquire a breadth experience; a strong and accomplished leadership team; ability to be effective in my job and directly impact business; and a collegial and respectful work environment.

    Cons

    It's been a year of transition but confident we have reached an inflection point.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep fostering and nurturing our Culture of transparency, recognition and leadership, and continue to live our Values

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 23, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review!

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Associate
    Current Employee - Sales Associate

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fun work environment, excellent discounts and perks

    Cons

    Numbers driven, little promotion available

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review. Five years is a fantastic milestone -- thank you for your contributions! Almost half of our Sales Managers are promoted from within if you have full time availability or if ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Sylist

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - SYLIST in Troy, MI
    Former Employee - SYLIST in Troy, MI

    I worked at bebe stores part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Does not feel like work! Who doesn't love to help people find clothes for events/every day!

    Cons

    Most positions are commission based so it does get competitive at times

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to make set rules when certain situations arrives

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life...as the saying goes! Thanks for the review!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    I felt like I was not given antiquate training, and judged too early.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Emeryville, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Emeryville, CA

    I worked at bebe stores part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The Styles are amazing, always fierce

    Cons

    This Company doesn't reflect the moral principles dignified enough to encompass the rash reality that sexist personalities employ the inner floors the these stores.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't be so judgmental, try not to have "Cliques", work better with the weakest link instead of allow yourself to get frustrated. Be a bit more patient and try not to underestimate someone because they are different or have different sales tactics. Learn to work with them to build on their strongest attributes, instead of looking on them as flaws just because they are not your methods. Lastly, one shouldn't be led to believe that while employed, that they were ally-less.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review and I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience. While I don't understand your comment under "cons", I would encourage you to contact your regional HR ... More

  6.  

    It was lackluster office environment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Immediate co-workers are great to work with. Senior management, not so much.

    Cons

    Office politics are a constant. New ideas fall on deaf ears. Money spent on pet projects and not what will move workflow into the next century.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to what others are telling you about the office environment and actually use that knowledge.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking time to write a review of your time here at bebe. I wish you had included some actionable specifics about how we could improve our business outcomes or the employment experience ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Loved the discount!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Troy, MI
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Troy, MI

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    50% discount on all merchandise!

    Cons

    Very competitive. The staff is usually made up of young catty girls that will do anything to make a sale.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Watch your top earners! Sometimes their success is due to shady practices!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Nov 19, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! Our generous discount is a great way to keep your wardrobe current and is among the best in the mall! Our Stylists are competitive! We provide best in industry training to ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Part Time For Students

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stylist
    Current Employee - Stylist

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I've been a stylist for over a year and a half. The best thing is the that it is part time so I get to go to school and work. Right off the bat, the 50% discount is one of the best in the whole mall. The girls in my store are amazing. The store manager is even better, she is always pushing for more but is considerate when she needs to be. Also, working here made me realize the amount that I loved working with people.

    Cons

    My biggest complaint is commission. The amount of commission I've gotten in a month is very little (if any at all) and you only get paid minimum wage, which is the reason I'm looking for another job. If you are a stylist, the only way to be promoted is if a manager position opens.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consider looking at ways to improve commission in lower volume stores. Though DPH commission may work for other high volume stores, it is very disappointing when we sell over a thousand in one week but get no commission because of low sell in the second week or because of the time you spend closing. Other than that, the managers in store are great.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Nov 19, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review! Great feedback on the commission Plan. Hang in there -- we've been dabbling with something new. Look for more info after Holiday!

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great retail learning experience

    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist

    I worked at bebe stores part-time

    Pros

    Awesome employee discount, GREAT learning environment for sales and customer service, fun, glamorous environment, flexible schedules. This is the kind of job for someone with previous retail experience looking to build their portfolio and network AND for those that aspire to move up into management.

    Cons

    The wage is low, and you get commission but there is a high return rate so you lose that commission very easily. If you work more than part-time (basically a manager), then you may not have a problem; if you are part-time you should just consider the hourly pay. Very independent, competitive sales floor (you better be on your game! and claim your clients quickly before the other associate does)

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! Up to 67% of our leadership team in the stores organization is promoted from within and supported through our Leadership Development Program and Advanced Leadership ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    A Great Experience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great People to Work with in the Stores, Field Leadership & Corporate Office team members!

    Cons

    No longer working as a member of the bebe team!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Best of luck to the company and all team members with the turn around efforts under way! It's a great brand with great people!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! Sorry to have lost you as part of the bebe family!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Seasonal- Part-Time- Seasonal Again :)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stylist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Stylist in Scottsdale, AZ

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    If you're comfortable selling and styling outfits for people and meeting high sale goals, this is perfect. Also be comfortable dressing business casual with heels mostly. Their clothing is amazing, pricey... but that is expected even with the discount sometimes.

    Cons

    It can be a bit overwhelming, the clientele can be frustrating but it is all of what you make of the experience.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management there is amazing, works with your schedule and keeps the energy high and positive.

    Recommends

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review! Keep up the great work providing World Class Customer Service!

Work at bebe stores? Share Your Experiences

bebe stores

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.