blinkx

  www.blinkx.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

blinkx Reviews

Updated July 31, 2014
Updated July 31, 2014
93 Reviews

3.1
93 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
32 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • laid back atmosphere, good benefits, competitive salary (in 5 reviews)

  • They also provide free snacks/beverages and do a staff lunch every Thursday which is generous of them (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Worst senior management team (at least from engineering perspective) I've ever worked with (in 7 reviews)

  • There is no one leading the company (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 4 people found this helpful  

    Used to be a nice place to work, not so much anymore.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Free food, decent healthcare, flexible schedule. That's really about it, I would say people, but the smart ones are running for the door.

    Cons

    Prepare to be underpaid if you come work here. Blinkx promises to pay a 'bonus' instead of paying employees fair market value, they make up the difference with this 'bonus' and then fail to pay it, it's a scam. Forget about moving up or improving your career, when I asked about the promotion I'd been promised for years, I was told point blank that it would NEVER happen. How's that for leadership?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop having meetings where you just brag about how much money you're making and actually pay your employees, setup a 401k match, hire people to fill the quickly emptying seats, and also figure out a single unifying plan for the company instead of the throw everything at the wall and see what sticks approach. Stop issuing stock options to only your senior executives and start issuing them to your employees that actually get work done again. Not that the stock is worth anything anymore.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Aug 5, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and comments regarding employment at blinkx. We take this forum and comments made, very seriously. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  2.  

    how is it to work at blinkx

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer  in  San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    Pros

    convinient, nice location, great office space

    Cons

    salary, stock in really bad state

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy the office environment. We are always open to additional feedback. Please feel free to reach out to blinkxcares@blinkx.com and an HR ... More

  3.  

    Lot's of autonomy and perfect job for the self-starter who doesn't need a lot of supervision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    there's a lot of ears open when you voice your opinion. You have the freedom to really branch out and take on whatever role you'd like to take. If you have initiative, you can pull in other employees from other departments or divisions to really make a difference..

    Cons

    The industry is very fast face and ever changing. Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with all the changes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep looking out for the A players who are looking to take on more, and make sure they're recognized and noticed for their contributions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with blinkx.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 3 people found this helpful  

    Don't waste your time or talent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Problem Solver  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Problem Solver in Seattle, WA

    Pros

    The snacks are a perk, the person ordering does her best to come up with variety while keeping some favorites and fulfilling requests. Admin is always smiling and helpful to everyone. Office location is nice, but seems to be getting crowded again. The health insurance is good, not a lot of out of pocket expenses.

    Cons

    There is no one leading the company! I asked human resources a question a while back and the answer was wrong, I was referred to a guy who isn't even a company employee but a contractor that works with the accounting department. I wasn't sure why an accountant was supposed to help with HR issues except upper management is either never around or doesn't know what they are doing. The budget for upgrades and training seems to be non-existent. Despite years of asking for it we still don't have a company match to our 401k.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees, engage with them. When you come in the office don't run to the nearest empty office and hide out. Why do you spend money flying all over if you're not there to interact with the employees? Wouldn't it be a better use of money to stay in your own office if you're not having a dialogue with the people working hard to make sure you get your big bonus? Raises and bonuses were delayed because you were too busy playing CYA after a blog came out that told people we work for an unethical company. We know it wasn't wrong, we are the ones working on the products. You can change the names of the divisions all you want but unless you change the products we're still the same company with the same leadership.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 14, 2014Human Resources

    Dear Employee,
    I am sorry to hear about your experience at blinkx. We try hard to make this a great place for employees to come and work. That said, I know we are far from perfect. We are always
    ... More

  6. 4 people found this helpful  

    You'll gain experience here.. because you literally have to think on your feet and fix everything that breaks each week.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    Pros

    The work-life balance is great, making your own hours, even though you're expected to work weekends... The office culture is split into two. Once someone has pass the 4/5 year mark, you're in with the "good ol boys" group. Free snacks in the kitchen... nothing but junk food. Want to learn a new skill in a hurry? Great because there's always something that's been broken for weeks...years... and it needs to be fixed now.

    Cons

    Please read the comments below the last 3. True wisdom is there and please run.. RUN. You're on your own after a few months. Not much help or praise is given, a half smile "good job" here or there or "thanks". Then back to work. You're paid next to nothing, and they know it- this is something they're proud of! It's an office full of desperation.... While you look at your co-workers in pity knowing all the hard work they put in for the less than measly pay given. Expect yearly cuts in any bonus, mbos, etc. Forget about an increase in salary or growing with the company in any way shape or form.. except for when others start to leave. They won't hire someone to replace them.... That's now your responsibility. Expect to wear many hats and deal with "that's not my job" and "we have to get this done so stay late" types in the office.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Validate your employees hard work. Pay them what they're worth. Be loyal to them and the favor will return.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry you are having a negative experience at blinkx. Over the past 10 years we have worked tirelessly to make this a great place to come to work. We are extremely proud of the company and ... More

  7.  

    Blinkx/Prime Visibility review

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY

    Pros

    Smart, hard working co-workers. Great benefits. Awesome leadership, great vision.

    Cons

    Can't think of any.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great work. Great culture, happy employees. Move forward on the 401k match.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your perspective and the time you took to share your views about blinkx !

  8.  

    Overall a forward thinking company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great place to work! Everyone really has a sense of ownership and direction, and the company embraces this work ethic. Lots of opportunity if one has the drive.

    Cons

    Company has grown pretty quickly, and feel like maybe some eggs are spread too thin, but otherwise, overall management is working towards better growth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 2 people found this helpful  

    Company targeting a niche market with a reducing opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Montreal, QC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC (Canada)

    Pros

    Pizza on fridays, flexible hours if you like to start at 11am, management just don't care.

    Cons

    office very far away from the subway, low salary compare to all the work and responsibilities asked to put on, lazy management: The director of marketing clearly prefer to take times off to play cricket (yes...) at least 2 times a weeks than spending time with its team to improve results.The motto "Lead by example" was clearly never heard off in this company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get your priority right, having a prestigious office downtown isn't gonna make the company better, nor is it going to improve your revenues.
    The company that was occupying our office before were around 30-40 people, we were less than 15 and management wants to move to a bigger office because you think this is too small?that Despite falling revenues because our business model sucks?
    Mangement should save on cost and invest in badly needed marketing and developing new channels instead of that management decide to rent an office right downtown Montreal which will cost 3 to 4 times what we are paying in current office.
    Then they decide to lay down tow of their best business developers to save on cost so they can move to a more prestigious office they clearly don't need...

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10.  

    A growing company with great opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Employee  in  Tempe, AZ
    Current Employee - Employee in Tempe, AZ

    Pros

    I have worked at blinkx for almost three years now. I have learned so much and really advanced in my career. You can make the position your own and take on new projects, as the company has grown a lot in the past few years. You work with people from multiple offices and continue to learn new things every day.

    Cons

    The challenge of working at blinkx is keeping self-motivated. You are not micro-managed and you must be proactive at all times.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I trust the senior leadership team is continuously working to make blinkx a better business ! I love working with a team that challenges me and helps me grow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 7 people found this helpful  

    pathetic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    There is nothing good to say about this place in regards to work ethics. The CEO does not care that people are leaving. His attitude is that the company is better off without them.

    Cons

    No raises, no career path and no training or advancement. They only promote from outside.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Figure it out. You need to actually fix the issues from the ground up for a company to work. Talk to the worker bees and see what is going on. Don't take your top brass words for it.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Worked for blinkx? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.