eHarmony

www.eharmony.com/about/careers

eHarmony Reviews

Updated January 15, 2015
Updated January 15, 2015
61 Reviews
4.5
61 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
eHarmony Founder & CEO Neil Clark Warren
Neil Clark Warren
35 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Outsiders have also told me my work/life balance is enviable (in 11 reviews)

  • Lots of free food and snacks, most people are nice (in 5 reviews)


Cons
  • By the time I quit, a lot of people were leaving due to poor management (in 4 reviews)

  • Depending on the living cost in Santa Monica, I thought the salary is quite so so (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 6 people found this helpful  

    Stability, Growth Potential, Work Life Balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great company culture, very relaxed office, free snacks and drinks in every corner, bikes to ride around Santa Monica, decent benefits, quarterly outings and team building, good perks, free lunch Wednesdays, free dodger tickets, thirsty Thursdays, awesome management, hard work is recognized, gym downstairs is subsidized.

    Cons

    Office space is not set up for easy collaboration with other teams. However, with the new office location coming up next year, hopefully, we can plan for a more open space type of set up.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    n/a

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 3, 2014Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We always want everyone who works here to feel acknowledged, appreciated, and to maintain a healthy work-life balance. I am personally excited about the ... More

  2. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great People and Company Growth

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    One thing I've noticed on our team is that eHarmony takes the time to hire the right people. Since it's a highly collaborative environment with even our VPs sitting out on the floor with us, it's important to find people who fit our team and company culture. That's primarily the reason why I love coming into work everyday.

    The brand is expanding into different avenues, which is exciting. It shows we're growing and being creative, going beyond what eHarmony has been known for-- online dating and classic couple commercials. The design, image and marketing of eHarmony has been completely renovated within the last couple of years. The website and all social media platforms are fun and easy to view and use. The company itself has experienced a complete turnaround from prior years. The management team is probably the best I've seen within my experience working in corporate. We have biweekly meetings open to all employees that update everyone on what every department is working on. We're always on the same page in that way. The open door policy helps too. This is a big brand company that has managed to keep a family feel.

    Work-life balance is great, they have all kinds of events that encourage us to invite our family. They have nice perks too. I haven't used their bikes to go to the beach yet but it's on my to-do list for lunch hour someday.

    Cons

    HMO Insurance is covered by company. If you want PPO though, the employee contribution rates are pretty high compared to my previous employers.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 3, 2014Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for acknowledging our recruiting department, as I know they really work hard to find people who will be a great fit for our company. An open door policy is something I strongly believe in ... More

  3. 6 people found this helpful  

    It was okay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at eHarmony full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great talents. Very fun product. Always a conversation starter with new (and sometimes old) friends. And they had a free shuttle for people who lived near Pasadena, CA (office is in Santa Monica)

    Cons

    Not easy to introduce new ideas and innovation to their way of doing things. Many of their teams (Tech, Product, Risk and Marketing) went through a lot of recent changes and turnovers. By the time I quit, a lot of people were leaving due to poor management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Commonsense. Flexibility. Encourage a trust based work environment. Give your talents the tools and freedom to excel in their roles instead of imposing limitations and micromanaging them.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    The company makes sure we find balance between work and personal life.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trust & Safety Specialist in Santa Monica, CA
    Current Employee - Trust & Safety Specialist in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The benefits are very good. The company also promotes a green environment so that we reduce our print in the environment.

    Cons

    Depending on the department you work, you don't get to enjoy the holidays as much as other departments. Work can be a little overwhelming which can be disheartening.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There should be constant training regarding certain trends of online dating. Invest in more activities that promote interaction between different departments.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Jan 7, 2015Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you, I appreciate your perspective. Things can always be improved in certain areas, so I encourage you to always share any ideas about how to improve work-life balance. We will be thinking ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Pleasant place to work but unproductive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at eHarmony full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    easy, fat corporate structure, office, training, good work/life balance

    Cons

    no upward mobility, lack of innovation

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 23, 2014Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your comments. We definitely want everyone working here to have a good work / life balance – so I definitely agree with you on that point. I do feel, though, that eHarmony is taking on ... More

  7. 4 people found this helpful  

    A good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    The company's mission, the work environment, the work staff,

    Cons

    The location is in the middle of one of the most congested areas in Los Angeles, which makes the commute, even for those who live close, long and arduous

    Approves of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Jan 7, 2015Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your comments. I agree that one of the biggest benefits to working here is getting to be a part of eHarmony’s mission, and also agree the drive can be tough! Come July, we are moving ... More

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    Good job, but bad timing

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at eHarmony full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great overall atmosphere. My bosses were friendly, available, and supportive. Everyone worked hard, but the environment was very positive

    Cons

    I didn't see a lot of opportunity for personal advancement. I was there before a big layoff. (Was laid off.) The management is currently completely different from my tenure.

  9.  

    Tries to be something it's not

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    For the most part, I loved the people I worked with. Everyone was very laid back and fairly easy to collaborate with.

    Cons

    VERY high school in that some groups are able to run meetings, disrupt projects, etc as though they're the "boss". Very annoying. Big egos for, in comparison to real tech companies, not a lot of talent. Additionally, and this could be a symptom of bad management in my group only, there was no room for advancement. If the manager didn't advance, they wouldn't advocate for you to advance. Though it may have changed, I think the engineering team was not given enough credit, considering they were running very lean with little to no support from senior management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Just because you have free pizza on Fridays, doesn't make you a tech company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    eHarmony Response

    Oct 23, 2014Chief Operating Officer

    I appreciate the thoughtful feedback. In this process of turning the company around, we went through some turbulent times from the past, but we have really eliminated any unwanted behaviors or ... More

  10. 4 people found this helpful  

    Fun company to work for with good work/life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at eHarmony full-time

    Pros

    Lots of fun & talented people to work with, great culture, company outings, happy hours, masseuse on site, free lunches every Wednesday, flexible hours, free health insurance, 401k match

    Cons

    Salary on the low end of average for my field and experience. Lots of favorites around the office.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Most management is great, but some could be a little friendlier, especially if you report to them.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great Place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at eHarmony

    Pros

    Work hard/Play hard. Incentives, free lunch.

    Cons

    Hard to advance to better position

Work at eHarmony? Share Your Experiences

eHarmony

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.