Operation interview questions shared by candidates
What is your least favorite thing about humanity?30 Answers
PEOPLE AT WAR
inane interview questions
It disappears along with your souls if you die before recovering.
Humans are the only animals who kill others for fun and recreation. I don't see many human bbqs on sale.
The capacity for apathy, ( I would try to make a change-but I really don't care).
The lack of it!
Seeing our reflection in the mirror & asking ourselves this question would obviously be our least favourite thing.
The "IN"that usually comes before the humanity part.
not knowing why...
Answering stupid questions from moronic interviewers.
Ignorance, and prejudice arising from that ignorance. It is responsible for so many negative things (wars, etc). Additionally, individuals less able to question their beliefs and assumptions about something (i.e. choose to remain ignorant, continue a prejudice, etc.) have been found to be less able to deal with change. This translates into the work environment in the following ways: - Training becomes more difficult - Changes in office practices (eg a move from set desks to "hot-desking" are rejected (despite longitudinal [i.e. studies over time] evidence indicating it is better), and can actually be a bit traumatic for people not able to accept change. - New technology less likely to be accepted. --> Basically, individuals are more difficult to train (or reject training), less likely to try to upskill, and do not sit well with the natural changes that would occur in an org over time. Sorry for the complex answer! :P
The lack of accountability of an individual once they associate themselves in a group
Current definition of humanity itself.
Life. No humanity action if we die
The idea and perception that there is innate negativity in human that is more powerful than the positivity that resides hidden within us.
We always ask questions about ourselves to other people.
Ugh, like, you know, the 1%? Is that what you want to hear?
Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 how weird you are.15 Answers
just know the company's culture and if they like uniqueness or not
well, do they like uniqueness or not?
about a 5.6719151431
"Extremely weird" since my scale shows 156 lbs.
I am within two standard deviations from the norm...
I am a 10. I am a software engineer. We are all very weird.
please read this as, "hmmm, how will you answer this question?"
My perception of weird and your perception are going to be different, so will the interviewer's. Always consider the audience that you are speaking to and make sure to add some, not a lot, of levity!
One number lower than whoever came up with this question
Maximus- love that answer- halarious.
This is most likely fake, if it was asked it probably was just to amuse the interviewer, not so much of a deciding factor.
This is to assess the candidate's perception, witt, and confidence, as well as ability to present a rational response to an "irrational" question. My anwer would be: Weirdness is a subjective topic, based on a scale of (1-10) one would first have to determine what the reference point is. I live life through my own eyes and judge people and events through my own moral compass. Therefore i would be a "1" and measure everything else with me as the reference point. There is no wrong or right answer, this is about confidence in presenting your argument. I would have a different answer of course if the question was about things other than weirdness, such as talent, uniqueness, difference, etc..
my answer would be "1" because normalcy is relative.
5 because im inbetween both a normal one....^_^
CASE: Cross-selling Credit Insurance to Cardholders direct mail: .50, 1% response rate, avg balance $1000, 5% claim insurance, etc. Profitable? How make more profitable? What if response rate doubled but claims doubled? Make chart of profit curve, what does it mean if..., etc.13 Answers
see cross selling case on CO's website
Hi Sir, Can you confirm if below is the correct answer. I believe its always unprofitable. Assume 100 direct mail offers were sent for card insurance, 1% response rate means, 1 person bought credit insurance Revenue = 1% of avg balance = (1/100)*1000 = 10$ Cost = Insurance claim Cost + Mailing Cost = (Response Count* claim rate * Avg Bal) + (No. of mails sent * Cost per mail) (1* (5/100)*1000) + (100 * 0.5) = 50 + 50 = 100 $ Selling credit insurance in this case is unprofitable even without the mkt cost. For other questions if we assume, response rate = x%, claim rate = y% with the assumption, 100 offers were sent for credit insurance Revenue = x*(1/100)*1000 = 10x Insurance Cost = x*(y/100)*1000 = 10xy Mkt Cost = 100 * 0.5 = 50 Profit = 10x-10xy-50 Assumption is that y% claim rate means, of x people who take the offer, y% of those x, file for claim, which means company has to cover their avg bal of 1000 for people who filed the claim, and hence is a loss for the company. At this point its a loss to sell credit insurance. Let me know if i am doing anything incorrectly.
Great the way you laid it out, very thorough and clearly organizing your thoughts. Remember to think out loud/explain your thinking as you write during the case. Yes, something is incorrect, very small but key, changes the whole answer: you are assuming everything is in the same time unit. When you calculate revenue to be $10, you should realize right away that would be a MONTHLY amount, while claims et all would be annual. Helps to know that credit cards in the US regularly try to entice customers to add little $5-10/month services to their bills, whether insurance, credit report monitoring, etc so that $10 couldn't possibly be yearly, ie insurance less than 0.90/month.
Thanks for your response and guidance. I knew the revenue is monthly, but i thought claim rate is also monthly and hence calculated profit for each credit insurance sold per month. In light of your clarification Profit per card insurance per year = (10*12)-50-50 = 20$ per year If we chose to calculate per month, we will need to consider monthly claim rate as (5/12) and also amortize the marketing expense over next 12 month. Profit per card insurance per month = 10-(50/12)-(50/12)= (20/12)$ per month The profitability equation (per card per year) = 120x-10xy-50 For calculating any of the break even rates (x or y assuming 1 is known), 120x-10xy-50 = 0. For graph, P = 120x-10xy-50 Let me know if my analysis/answer is accurate and up to the mark. Thanks a lot for all your guidance.
Aspirant, why did you take the revenue as 1% of the average balance? I think the average balance is the revenue. Whereas the response rate is 1%. Assuming 100 people are sent the mail: Revenue : (Response rate * 1000) = 1 * 1000 = 1000 Cost : (100 * Mailing cost) + (Response rate * claim rate * 1000) = (100 * 0.5) + (1*(5/100)*1000) = 50 + 50 = 100 Profit = Revenue - Cost = 1000 - 100 = 900 (This is for 100 mails sent) So the profit per mail sent = 900/100 = $9 Now, assuming the response rate is x% (instead of 1% as given) Revenue = 1000x Cost = (100*0.5) + (x*(5/100)*1000) = 50 + 50x Profit = 1000x - (50+50x) = 950x - 50 Profit per person = (950x - 50)/100 = 9.5x - 0.5 To make it more profitable, try to increase response rate x. Now if response rate is doubled and claims doubled, Profit = (Revenue) - (Cost) =(2000) - (50 + 100) = 1850 So profit per person = 1850/100 = $18.5 Now to make a chart of profit curve, i.e profit vs response rate, we use Profit per person = 9.5x - 0.5 plot : y= 9.5x - 0.5 Meaning : To break even, we need 9.5x - 0.5 = 0 i.e x = 0.05 (approximately) So we need a response rate of atleast 0.05% to be profitable (or 1 in 2000 people to respond)
Looks like I left out the price of the insurance: customers would pay 1% of monthly balance for insurance.
@Aspirant 2: You are using response rate as a number and at the same time using claim rate correctly as 5/100. use Response rate as 1/100 wherever applicable. Revenue should be $10 Cost = 50.50 Profit(Loss) = 10-50.50 Profit (Loss) per mail sent = (10-50.50)/100
Why isn't churn rate mentioned in here? Isn't that an important factor? Or were those number given to you without probing? Thank you! =)
@ ghachla: The response rate is 1% that is 1 out of 100. I assumed 100 people are sent the mail. Hence the response rate is 1. As for the claim rate, the people who don't respond can't make claims. So out of the people who respond, the claim rate is 5% (i.e 1 person responds in 100 and out of that 1, 0.05 make the claim); Or to make it more clearer, if we assume 10000 people are sent the mail, 100 respond (because of the 1% response rate) and 5 out of the 100 make claims (because of the 5% claim rate).
@A2: I understand what you are saying. the words were just misleading. What about the insurance rate? That's revenue to the bank, right? "By intrvw candidate: Looks like I left out the price of the insurance: customers would pay 1% of monthly balance for insurance." = monthly avg balance x 10 x # of people who made claims? and then convert to annual numbers or monthly as the case may be? How do you suggest to answer the profit: annual numbers or monthly numbers?
Hello, can someone tell me how to plot claim rate vs response rate. What units goes on the x and y axis. Also how to find response rate for maximum profit?
This discussion was helpful, I have been thinking about this problem for a bit now. Only one thing, shouldnt equation for market cost be 50/x since if the response rate goes up, the cost per customer will go down as a function of the response rate.
for per customer profit calculation, we choose the number of people to whom mails were sent or number of people who responded to the mails ?
You have the choice between using first class or third class mail for a letter you are sending out to potential customers. First class costs $0.50 per piece and reach 100% of potential customers. Third class costs $0.40 per piece and reaches 80% of potential customers. Which do you use?10 Answers
It provokes you to ask questions. You do not nearly have enough information to perform the analysis. You need to know the present value of each customer, how many mailings, and calculate the point of indifference in terms of how many letters you are sending, etc.
First class should be used, as the cost of each delivered letter will be the same, but you will reach all of your intended audience. Example: 1000 pieces to be sent, sending first class costs $500 and reaches 1000 ($.50 per peice), and sending second class costs $400 and reaches 800 ($.50 per piece)
either one is good. For example, you will reach 0.8 person by spending $0.4. If divided 0.4 by 0.8, we get that we will reach 1 person by spending $0.5. So two methods have the same effect.
Need to know the Revenue per customer and no of customers before we can decide on either
@gaurav: don't make it too complicated. they just want to know the costs of reaching the customers. peppermint is right.
peppermint is not right. say you make 1000 dollars off of each customer you reach at probability .5. Assuming you send 1000 letters, first class reaches all 1000 and has total cost 500 dollars. revenue is (1000 customers reached)(.5 prob make 1000 dollars)(1000 dollars) = 500,000 and profit is 500,000-500 = 499,500. third class costs 400 dollars, reaches 800 people, gives revenue of (800)(.5)(1000)= 400,000, profit is 400,000-400=399,600. You can generalize this to a formula to determine which is better given number of letters to be sent, expected money off of customers who accept, and probability that the customers letters reach will accept.
Peppermint is right. Assumption: only when the letter has reached the recipient, he becomes a potential customer. Say they send letters to x people So, Cost per Potential Customer= 0.5/x and 0.4/(0.8x) for respective cases So, cost per potential customer is same in both cases.
I believe that the point of cost is moot; what is the content of the letter and how imperative is it that it be delivered to the potential customer? If it is vital, go for 100% success rate. If it is vital and digital copies can be provided, then go for a scanned copy. Digital signature documents also work. I know most prospects yield their info to cold callers. Why do math when you can just use logic?
The real answer is.... Send the letter through 1st class mail if the price of the product capital one is trying to sell is above $0.90. If not, send the letter through 3rd class mail. Assumptions:- •Potentially customers = actual customers Sample calculation:- Profit = Revenue - Cost Assume all potential customers = 100 Assume Price = $1 1st class mail profit = ($1x100)-($0.5x100) = $50 3rd class mail profit = ($1x80)-($0.4x80) = $48 Assume Price = $0.80 1st class mail profit = ($0.8x100)-($0.5x100) = $30 3rd class mail profit = ($0.8x80)-($0.4x80) = $32 Assume Price = $0.90 1st class mail profit = ($0.9x100)-($0.5x100) = $40 3rd class mail profit = ($0.9x80)-($0.4x80) = $40
Must also consider response of 3rd class versus 1st class-perception
What are the number of new customers needed in order to break even?7 Answers
@ Interview Candidate : How did you even get to 8000? Did you know what was the profit per new applicant?
Can you please explain your question in more detail? Thanks in advance
It's over 9000!
Can you please explain how you calculated the breakeven to be 8000 or 9000??
are you all guessing??!! rev: fees + interest + charge, all dependent on # of customers cost: cash back+bad debt+capital cost, dependent on # of customers; system & operation+other fixed cost, independent you only have a credit limit, what can you do??
My knee-jerk first answer is "How much did you lose in terms of customer revenue? It isn't a question of how many customers you've lost, but of P+L."
Pretend 1% of the population has a disease. You have a test that determines if you have that disease, but it's only 80% accurate and 20% of the time you get a false positive, how likely is it you have the disease.12 Answers
divide by reciprocal, multiply by .8% = 1%
 Fact: 1% of the population has the disease (given)  Data: Test is only 80% accurate, and 20% inaccuarate (given): Assume, Population = 10,000 people 1% have the disease = 100 people 99% do not have the disease = 9,900 people Of the 1% who have the disease 80% tested +ve = 80 Of the 99% who don't have the disease 20 tested +ve = 1980  Question: How likely is it that you have the disease? To identify that you have the disease you have to test +ve and actually have the disease = 80 / (80+1980) = 80 / 2060 = 3.88%
Its easier if you draw this out in quadrants, Accuracy = 80% = P(Test shows true and having disease) + P (Test showing false and not having disease) Also, we know false positive rate = P(Test shows true but not having disease) = 20% That leaves us with the fact that P(Test being false and person having disease) = 0% Hence likelihood of having the disease is 1%
You don't need the test. The answer is given... 1% of the population has the disease... Answer: 1%
Very similar question, with a step by step walk through to the solution: http://www.mathsisfun.com/data/probability-false-negatives-positives.html Answer is 3.88%
1% Given: 1. 1% of the population has a disease 2. A test exists to identify disease carriers The questions makes no statement regarding whether or not you have taken the test, the second piece of data has no relevance. You have a 1% chance
If you have test positive, how likely is it you have the disease = All sick with positive result / All positive (sick and healthy). All sick with positive result = 1% = (1% x 80%) accurate positive result + (1% x 20%) non accurate but non false positive result. All positive = all sick with positive result + all healthy with positive resultall = 1% + (99% x 20%) = 1% + 19,8% = 20.8% ANSWER = 1% / 20.8% = 5,050505%
I thinks this question is ambiguous. If it meant the possibility that you have the disease, then 1%; If it meant the possibility that your test result shows you have the disease, then 1%*80%+99%*20%
Sample: 1,000 X=10 P=.8 If the test is only 80% accurate then 8 of the 10 infected will be positive and 2 will walk around unbeknownst, but 20% of the non-infected population will be falsely identified, 1000-10=990 (non-infected) 990*.2=198 (false positive) + 8 (true positive)= 296 (total positive tests) Of this population only 8/296=2.7% were correctly identified. This is the chance you have the disease
I think the question is not complete. It should read: "Pretend 1% of the population has a disease. You have a test that determines if you have that disease, but it's only 80% accurate and 20% of the time you get a false positive, how likely is it you have the disease "if you got tested positive. " Use four quadrants method and imagine total number of people = 1000 + Tested -Tested ------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------- D | 80% of 10 = 8 | 10 - 2 = 8 | 10 ND | 20 % of 990 = 199 | 990 - 199 = 791 | 990 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | 207 | | 1000 So if one is tested +, they are in first column. Total of which is 207. However only 8 of them actually have disease. So probability that test came out + and the person has disease will be 8/207% = 3.865 ~ 3.7%
1%. The first sentence gives you all the info you need.
Behavioral based questions were easy to prepare for. Amazon prefers the STAR (situation, task, action, result) method to answer. Would suggestion preparing for the math flow question. I was asked the following: You have 30 associates who all work an 8 hour day, 5 days a week. 2 need to be in indirect (non-volume producing) roles. Your direct (production) rate is 150 units per hour, but you have two 15-minute breaks during the day. How many units can your department produce in a 40 hour week?8 Answers
(30 - 2) associates = 28 28 associates/hour * (8 - 0.5) hours/day * 5 days/week * 150 units = 157,500 units/week However, this assumes 100% utilization all the time and this is probably unrealistic. I would then apply a reduction to efficiency to account for unexpected delays. 157,500 units/week * 90% = 141,750 units/week ... final answer.
(30 - 2) associates = 28 28 associates/hour * (8 - 0.5) hours/day * 5 days/week * 150 units/hour = 787,500 units/week Please note that the production rate is 150 units per hour and not per day. And with 90% Uptime, we will get 708,750 units/week.
Um, last time I did high school algebra, 28*(8-0.5)*5*150*0.9 = 141,750. Am I missing something? How did someone get 787,500?
Woops, sorry, this is why I'd make a terrible high school math teacher. The error in the person who posted 787,500 is that they're multiplying for 5 days a week twice. The correct answer is 141,750
The correct answer is 157500
This is a math question not an estimation on potential variables through sickness, breakdowns etc The answer is 157500
I was to take this question literally with all the information that I have been given then I could look at it another way I have 30 associates (colleagues) meaning on the same level as myself this makes the total 31 including me. Take away 2 non producers leave 29 It then mentions the line "Your direct production rate is 150 per hour but you have two 15 minute breaks" it doesnt mention each member of the department has the same breaks just me. So 28 x 8 x 5 x 150 = 168000 Then include me 1 x 7.5 x 5 x 150 = 5625 168000 + 5625 = 173625 They
You have 30 Associates who all work an 8 hour day, 5 days a week. 2 need to be in Indirect (non-volume producing) roles. Your Direct (Production) rate is 150 units per hour, but you have two 15-minute breaks during the day. How many units can your department produce in a 40 hour week? 30 Associates - 2 Indirect Associates = 28 Direct Workers 28 Associates/hour * (8 - 0.5) hours/day * 5 days/week * 150 units = 157,500 units/week 30-2=28 Associates 8hrs * 5 days = 40 per day Subtract two 15min. breaks per day = 30 minutes of breaks per day, or 0.5hrs. 0.5hrs*5days = 2.5hrs 2.5hrs – 40hrs= 37.5hrs 37.5hrs*150uph=5,625units (per Associate that week) 5,625*28 Direct Associates = 157,500 units that department can produce
How would you handle a franchisee who did not want to follow an idea or suggestion you created?5 Answers
I would respectfully listen to the franchisees reasons and provide understanding. I would then use data to reinforce why I had arrived at the conclusion I had in order to give them the "whys" behind my decision.
Did they ever discuss salary.
We discussed salary vaguely. I asked about salary in early interviews and was asked what my requirements were. I said I wanted 60K and was told that wouldn't be an issue.
I find it deplorable that such large companies sully their reputations by not keeping potential employees informed. Sadly, when companies treat me this way I make it a point to stop wasting my money at their establishments. I also tell people I know and meet of this and, if I am lucky they stop spending money there as well (assuming they care about more than their own employment status).
Today, lets be real, company's are looking for candidates who can provide results, uphold the companys image - "candidates appearance", intellectual, and strong background with coaching and developing of staff. Too many times candidates feel that they are the right choice for a job, but the reality is your not the right choice based on your appearance, average interview, and lack of experience. Every answer given to a question may not be the right answer in regards to the company and the position you are applying for. If you are not hired, or receive an offer within the first 2 weeks of an interview, you probably not the right candidate. You failed, move on to the next opportunity. "Just a thought."
If I handed you a rubiks cube and told you that it had to be solved by tomorrow, how would you respond?9 Answers
I got the feeling that my answer wasn't the one they were hoping to hear, as I answered that I would gather a team to see if anyone had insight or expertise to solve it, and that if given an unrealistic time frame to solve some problem of such complexity I would shoot back to the leaders in charge of the project that it WAS unrealistic. I think they were looking for me to say that I would solve the problem at all costs.
Such questions are really stupid IMHO and I feel like punching the interviewer for asking crap like this. I don't think such questions prove anything. A person can be really good at handling situations but not respond likewise and a pretentious person can do very well in such cases but do a horrible job when hired. Please interviewers stop with such questions!
If I were asked this question I would say, "You'll have it today". How you do it isn't too important, there are literally a million ways to "solve" the rubiks cube they're handing you, it's not a cube, it's any problem they need solved, just get it done as soon as you can, wouldn't you like it if you asked someone to do something & they went above & beyond? Whether it's an inter-office request or anything else, you are always either someone's customer or vendor & this is called "giving excellent customer service". This question is begging for Excellent Customer Service.
Anyone that asks a question of this nature is looking for a typical, corporate behind kissing answer. personally I was much more impressed with your honest answer than I would be by someone, whose nature and work ability I have no idea about, answering like someone else did on this with "You'll have it today." You could have answered with that and have not the first clue about "customer service", because it is just a brown nosing answer. To me, a good answer is honest and forthright, and I never want to just hear what the interviewee thinks I want to hear.
If you take a look at the question the interviewer was not asking how you would solve it but how you would respond. I like the honest answer over the "you will have it today" but it seems like I will do my best or I will have it ready for you tomorrow works in this scenario. If he wants you to elaborate on how, then you can provide additional details.
I will get someone on it right away.
If it was unscrambled, I'd leave it and hand it back the next day. And say I did as such.
Tomorrow? I can give you in 30mins tops. I will look it up on internet. Amazon is built on internet. Jeff Bezos himself says there are so many things internet can do, helping solve rubic cubes won't be that hard.
I would either solve it in front of him in about a minute and twenty seconds, or give it to the nearest 12 year old to solve it for me in a faster time :) next question?
Problem Solving questions from the Recruiter: 1) What is 20% of 120? 2) What is 2/3 of 210? Problem Solving question from the Manager: 3) If company A has a budget of $5,000 per month for 20,000 clicks and company B has a budget of $6,000 per month for 35,000 clicks, which company is paying more?3 Answers
1) 24; 2) 140; 3) I said company B and calculated the math for the manager outloud. According to her I was correct and they seemed impressed with my answers. They want to know if you can do basic math. They do not want you to use a calculator for these types of questions.
Question 3) is all about CPC (cost per click) A: 5000$ / 20,000 = 0.25$ (cost per click) B: 6000$ / 35,000 = 0.17$ (cost per click) Answer: Company A is paying more per click
Quicker way to answer the second question: 5,000/20,000 and 6,000/35,000 can be reduced to 5/20 and 6/35 = 1/5 and slightly higher than 1/6 (6/36) and clearly 1/5 is more than 1/6 so the answer is A. This can be done easily in your head if you are familiar with fractions.
See Interview Questions for Similar Jobs
- Operations Analyst
- Business Analyst
- Financial Analyst
- Operations Manager
- Account Executive
- Sales Associate
- Vice President
- Account Manager
- Project Manager
- Investment Banking Analyst
- Customer Service Representative
- Software Engineer
- Administrative Assistant
- Operations Specialist