Case interview: basic business problem (if product X costs Capital One $4.00 per unit, with a $800 sunk cost, and we charge X amount of dollars along with a $10 annual fee, how many do we need to sell to break even, etc). Followed by a longer discussion of more complex problems that the situation might entail.
Mostly algebra, basic economics, and common sense.
total cost= 4x + 800 total income= x^2 + 10x to break even: 4x + 800 = x^2 + 10x solving for x by evaluating the quadratic equation above, x ~= 25.45 To break even, 26 units must be sold
Why is x^2?
You've been planning an event XYZ for a few months, when a week before the date of it, the customer wants to change multiple elements of it. However, you know it will simply not be possible for logistical reasons. How do you communicate this to the customer, who will definitely be upset about this fact.