1-800 CONTACTS Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
1-800 CONTACTS CEO John Graham
John Graham
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have great benefits and amenities(in 26 reviews)

  • "We work hard while here so we can maintain a great work-life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They wait until the end weeks of training to let you know that they have a bonus structure for only top performers and you can earn up to(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management not very open to new ideas or suggestions from lower level employees(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place!

      May 5, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People were amazing to work with!

      Cons

      Not a wide enough selection of cereal to choose from when hungry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Apr 27, 2021 - Digital Chat Associate in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1-800 Contacts is a great company to work for because it loves up to or strives to embody its core values. Benefits are good and do is the pay.

      Cons

      Managers don't always value the contributions of team members and are highly focused on metrics

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thanks for taking care of our customers for as long as you did. We will pass this feedback along to our leadership in the Customer Department.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      I love where I work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Human Resources in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's amazing how much our CEO and ELT members care. Every time we have a company wide Town Hall, I'm just more grateful for our leadership and all they do for their employees.

      Cons

      I don't have any cons right now. I'm really happy with the company and my specific role.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about the company.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mostly good, except work/life balance!

      Jan 25, 2021 - Customer Care in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay well for a starting position. They really do seem very genuine and caring about the employees. They have really great health insurance and 50% off contacts. They also make it easy to talk to some of the hire ups. The training program is really good too.

      Cons

      If you are looking for any flexibility you will not find it here. They have a point system for time off. You get so many points and have opportunities to earn more, but you have to spend points for everytime you want any time off. Most companies will let you request time off far in advance, and it does not cost you anything. You can only request 45 days in advance. If you are looking for a family vacation, do not count on it. If you got sick and couldn't go to work for more than two days (if you haven't used any points) you will get an infraction. I've never heard of a company that penalizes you when you are sick (even with a drs note). You are also locked into your hours and they are not willing to work with you on changing them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thank you for sharing this. If this is a consistent sentiment within the department we will absolutely look at making changes. If you have advice on what we could do in lieu of the point system we'd love to hear it.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      May 4, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance, company culture

      Cons

      benefits, 401k match, and compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thanks for leaving this review! If you have suggestions on how we can improve what you've listed under "cons" we would love to hear them.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      WONDERFUL COMPANY, SO BLESSED TO BE HERE

      Apr 11, 2021 - RX Capture Team in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      managers would do anything for you to help you shine, everyone cares about everyone no matter they're position, human beings working here

      Cons

      So far i have not found any cons and i think i'll never will

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Wow, thank you so much for the positive feedback! We will continue to do our best to protect the culture you've grown to love.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Monday’s Don’t Suck!

      Apr 8, 2021 - Manager II in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I work with, the culture, winning in our revenue goals, solving complex problems, great transparency, love the perks

      Cons

      It is a bit of a drive from my house but that’s not a deal breaker.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thanks for leaving this review!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They really care about employees and keeping everyone happy.

      Cons

      Very fast paced but not necessarily a bad thing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast paced, hard working & results focused!

      Feb 5, 2021 - Director in Draper, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's incredible how much this company listens. At most companies, it seems voices are heard only through anonymous surveys. It's refreshing to work for a company that will hear you if you have a concern. Over the last 2 years I've felt pushed and challenged more than any other time in my career. In the 25 years 1-800 Contacts has been business, 2020 was the most productive year we've had. 2021 is starting off the same. The urgency, drive and focus of the leadership team is contagious.

      Cons

      It would be nice to have one consistent communication platform as we continue to work in a virtual environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      This is great to hear! Thank you for posting. We'd love to have you reach out to your business partner so we can discuss suggestions on how we can improve the multiple communication platforms. That's definitely something we've noticed and an area we need to figure out.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 30, 2021 - Operations Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a company that puts the employee first

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      1-800 CONTACTS Response

      Director, People Operations

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this and being an integral part of putting our associates first.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 300 Reviews

    Popular Careers with 1-800 CONTACTS Job Seekers

    Prescription Verification Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at 1-800 CONTACTS? Share Your Experiences

    1-800 CONTACTS logo
    or