1-800-GOT-JUNK? Reviews | Glassdoor

1-800-GOT-JUNK? Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 257 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Brian Scudamore
158 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No lunch break is provided, long hours, high turnover(in 22 reviews)

  • "It;s a 24 hour call center you have to be available from 5am to 11am(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Truck Team Member in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good money, mostly on the road, fun coworkers.

      Cons

      Can’t make plans the days you work because you don’t know exactly when you’ll be off.

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-04-26
    • "Broken promises and no care for employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Truck Team Member in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pros are you get to see some cool junk and you can get tips

      Cons

      Cons are they dont profit share like they say they do,they pay 10 an hour and never give raises they dont take care of the trucks or the employees and all they care about it getting routes. Always trying to make you come in on your day off or change ur schedule to there needs and make you come back later in ur shift cause they dont need you at that time.

      Advice to Management

      Take better care of us employees and stop lying to new hires about profit sharing and ect. We are told that money from items that are brought back and sold by management goes to a pot and is split amongst us employees but that's a lie. It goes to yalls pockets and we are left nothing in return. The pay sucks, the way we are treated is unappreciated and the turn over rate for the employees here is crazy due to management...

      Show More
      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-06-12
    • "Cool job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Truck Driver/Laborer in San Bernardino, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Team oriented / hardworking team

      Cons

      Smelly jobs / cut the employees some slack

      Advice to Management

      Cut employees some slack

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-05-27
    • "Decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Team Leader in Amityville, NY

      I worked at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good team atmosphere, decent pay, good manager (at least at office I worked at), and good experience

      Cons

      Inconsistent hours, unrealistic expectation of what people can carry and lift without proper tools, not having proper tools

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-04-24
    • "Good place to work hard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Driver/Navigator in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun, great exercise, get to meet a lot of people, small company feel, Independence

      Cons

      Longgg days hauling junk of ALL sizes, very tiring, Do not get done until schedule ends, which means whenever management stops booking jobs.

      Advice to Management

      Keep working hard fellas

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-04-08
    • "Hard work. Didn't feel valued."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Member in Ashland, MA

      I worked at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      New job everyday. Could be fun at times.

      Cons

      Don't care about employee wellbeing. Proper lifting technique was never taught. Very hard work.

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-03-21
    • "1800 got junk team member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Member in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It is a flexible schedule, and they give a lot of bonus money

      Cons

      No lunch break is provided, long hours, high turnover

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-03-20
    • "Got Junk All the Way"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Laborer in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Great Communication within the company -Incentives -Profit Sharing

      Cons

      -Poor Internal System -Lack of care for the laborers

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-03-05
    • "It was a gritty get your hands dirty job for sure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Driver/Mover in Converse, TX
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The guys I worked with were hilarious you kinda get a work out sometimes too an most of the time you spend driving from job to job

      Cons

      I don’t mind driving but driving those big box truck could be annoying sometimes when you had a full load to carry around

      Advice to Management

      Make sure y’alls trucks are always good an safe

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-02-26
    • "A great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Manager in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at 1-800-GOT-JUNK? full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The team atmosphere, management, culture, pay.

      Cons

      The lack of a 401k and work/life balance can be an issue depending on how invested you are in the company and how much effort you put in to grow the business. I love working for GOT-JUNK!

      Advice to Management

      I love what our local Franchise, Richmond Metro, does. Management and ownership does a great job investing in the teams and building a great culture. My only feedback would be to incorporate some sort of 401k into the benefit structure.

      1-800-GOT-JUNK?2019-01-20
    Found 257 reviews