1185 Design Reviews | Glassdoor

1185 Design Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 1185 Design

    Pros

    The team is amazing, genuine, and caring. Everyone works hard and pours their heart into their work. The office is dog friendly (a major perk even for non-dog owners). They have an incredible sense of humor. The group is professional, gentle, and accommodating to everyone who works for them. There are plenty of healthy and delicious snacks, beverages, and meals. Peggy is an inspiration to the team and an... amazing role model for the community. She truly cares about her workers, clients, animals, and the environment. I would recommend working there for anyone.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no complaints about the work.

    1185 Design2018-12-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Competive Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 1185 Design full-time

    Pros

    From Office Manager to upper management was great. Snacks, Halloween parties, Christmas parties. peggy was very generous and got everyone a room during the party.

    Cons

    I can’t say there was anything negative.

    1185 Design2018-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team, Great Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1185 Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is friendly and kind and each member is exceptionally talented and skilled in what they do. They are experts in Branding and Identity. We get to work with incredible clients who are always doing something cutting edge that has the potential to change the way their industries work. Everyone is willing to help each other out whether by critiquing, creating assets, or just lending a helping hand when you have... a tight deadline. Overall a great company with great and interesting work and a team that is dedicated, fun and great to work with.

    Show More

    Cons

    We have a lot of late nights before deadlines and some projects have an extremely tight turn-around time that can seem impossible to achieve sometimes; but somehow we always get the job done with quality output.

    1185 Design2018-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 1185 Design full-time

    Pros

    Learned what not to do in my career. Get to laugh at how fake those 5 star reviews are.

    Cons

    Did everything I should not be doing in my career.

    Advice to Management

    This is also laughable.

    1185 Design2018-06-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dinosaur Agency Going Extinct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 1185 Design for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People, good talent, unfortunately, that's where the good things end.

    Cons

    Disposable Design (no forethought longer than a few months, with clients usually having to redesign a project after completion) Management is incompetent, no project schedules, only last minute late nights for a project that was in the works for months, due to having to work on principal/owners schedule and waiting on feedback. Will not update their process to industry standards, designing websites like it's... 1920. (printed on paper) No career growth and complacent staff. No communication on project status. No client/designer communication. Lack of transparency and project deliverables.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the yes men, set up a company structure that can run on its own and step back, or shut the door.

    1185 Design2018-06-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 1185 Design full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stimulating, comfortable, creative environment that constantly challenges and inspires us to bring ideas to life. Strong bonds, amazing talent, great brands— lots of cool startups. Projects are diverse and always interesting. Great place to build a portfolio and cultivate your creativity. In all my years of experience, I have never worked for a company that consistently delivered top-notch design like this one.

    Cons

    At times can be very fast-paced. Make sure you have stamina and good running shoes...

    1185 Design2018-05-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 1185 Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You working for the top agency in the Valley. The building is spectacular and charming all at the same time. Working in Palo Alto has it perks with all the restaurants a block away and there is a gym a street over.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working at 1185 Design.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT work one business at a time!

    1185 Design2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 1185 Design full-time

    Pros

    kitchen stocked, dog friendly most of the time

    Cons

    not a supportive work environment. Run by one woman whose attitude is all about her needs re: late night schedules due to her time management issues, very timid workforce

    Advice to Management

    retire

    1185 Design2017-02-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 1185 Design for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly and helpful. It is a great opportunity to learn and build your portfolio. I really enjoyed the opportunity and would recommend it to anyone starting their design career.

    Cons

    There are such a wide variety of projects to work on that you learn to balance your time.

    1185 Design2015-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Designer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1185 Design for less than a year

    Pros

    Expect to work hard in a fun environment where everyone seems to care for you. Work on cutting edge projects for cutting edge Silicon Valley companies

    Cons

    It's an agency, so expect to work hard and contribute to a team.

    1185 Design2015-08-08
Found 13 reviews