1st Ayd Reviews | Glassdoor

1st Ayd Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
1st Ayd CEO Thomas R Schreiner (no image)
Thomas R Schreiner
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Salesman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1st Ayd full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s the perfect job if your a good salesman, unfortunately there are very few good salesman in the world. You have to be able to open new business not manage someone else’s accounts. The company gives you the true cost of goods and you split the profit with them. Every other company pads cost to cover expenses that rarely help the rep.

    Cons

    None. Unless you’re not really a salesman.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2018-04-18
  2. "Pyramid scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Elgin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Ayd full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing good to say. Stay away.

    Cons

    If you don't get 250 business cards a month they won't give you samples. They have no protected area for you to sell. 100 + salesmen going where ever they want. Most businesses have no soliciting signs on doors and they are locked . Their cost of products is high, if I was shown before I would never had wasted my time.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2019-01-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Own It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1st Ayd full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1st Ayd offers the best sales compensation package in the industry. With a 50/50 split on all profits, your income is decided by you! The schedule is very flexible. You need to work 6am - 2pm everyday, do it! You need to work 8am-5pm everyday, do it! You need to work 10am-7pm everyday, do that! You need to work 6am - 6pm, do that! Whatever you need to do to be successful, you can do that! Having access to well over 100,000 items and the ability to sell to any industry makes this your own business. Having control over what customers you want to work with or not work with is also a wonderful perk. This career is like owning the business without the risk. No guarded territories! No house accounts! No Paperwork! Account protection! Cold Call Compensation! New Account Compensation! Huge bonus for growth year to year!

    Cons

    One of the toughest parts of this job is just getting started. It is a grind! A high risk, high reward position. If your willing to put in the time and effort, it can pay off 10x. A very fast pace, result driven position. As a 100% commission sales rep, if your not selling your not making any money.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2018-04-16
  5. "1st Ayd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Bay City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Ayd full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed being on the road. I loved working with customers...they were the highlight of my day. My manager Pat Boomgaard was incredible. His knowledge of the products is a unmatched.

    Cons

    It takes a while to build a business.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2017-09-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Watch your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Ayd full-time

    Pros

    Have a decent line of products at a competitive price

    Cons

    Have to many products. Management does not support a new salesman. They have an 80% failure rate of new sales people. They change the rules if it helps them.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2017-08-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "My experience with 1st Ayd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Ayd full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product acceptance in marketplace. Residual income from sales efforts. Freedom to grow client base at your pace. Great training program with video's and monthly meeting which gives innovative sales tips from top sellers. Many area's to specialize in and become a real pro. Little direct competition.

    Cons

    No cons for me that would be deal breaker but where to specialize may increase sales anxiety.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2017-01-25
  8. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1st Ayd full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is the closest to owning your own business. You build and keep your customer base without limits to your income.

    Cons

    Too many people get to comfortable and loose their drive to keep building. You get out of it what you put into it.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2016-12-18
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Good company. Good products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Saginaw, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Ayd for more than a year

    Pros

    The company's president, Tom Shreiner is an outstanding example of what a leader should be. They give you all the tools you need to succeed. The product line is immense. Territory boundaries are limitless. I had a a first class manager (Pat Boomgard). This will be one of your keys to success with this company. Upside earning potential is without limits. The senior management group is filled with very quality individuals, from accounting, to purchasing, marketing, etc. The distribution warehouse is run by some extremely capable people, as well (Miquel and others). Distribution's efficiency is second to none.

    Cons

    Freight rates can sometimes be a hurdle, depending on where your territory is situated. Some of the office staff tend to stay at an arm's length from sales until you have proven yourself. It would seem the history of high sales turnover is partially responsible for this. Sales support, however, is very good. Ask for help and you will get it, just don't always expect a big smile on the other end of the phone.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2016-08-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "This is the company I should have been working for years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Grand Haven, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1st Ayd full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is all structured around a salesman's lifestyle and focuses on what matters and does not waste effort on things that are not important. You are not constantly reporting on your every step to justify your existence. Your sales are your proof of your efforts! I have been blessed with fantastic pay, close to $80k my first year and I just made $8500 my 15th month.

    Cons

    You are left with many tools and it is up to you to ask if you need help (ask your Supervisor they want you to succeed). Commission sales careers take time to build but you will never be asked or made to change territories.

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2015-12-18
  11. "Outside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 1st Ayd full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provide cold call, new customer incentives while you build a book of business

    Cons

    Many products to get familiar with. There is no sales structure on how to conduct business

    Continue reading
    1st Ayd2015-06-04
Found 24 reviews