1st Financial Bank USA Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1st Financial Bank USA Chairman   Al Hegyi  (no image)
Al Hegyi
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years
    Featured Review

    Great Company! Challenging, Supportive and Family Friendly!

    Jan 4, 2021 - Director in Dakota Dunes, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After spending early part of my career with a Fortune 100 company and experiencing the "just a number" mentality, it has been refreshing to spend the later part of my career working for an employer who allows for full use of my skill sets as well as challenges and supports development of new skills! My coworkers are like family and the balance between work and home has been great! Our CEO is focused on the health and well being of his employees and has gone above and beyond in response to the global pandemic.

    Cons

    As with any smaller company with fewer resources, we still have many tasks and goals to achieve, which at times can be stressful, but it is a good stress with feelings of accomplishment when completed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good support during covid and Christmas

    Dec 21, 2020 - Collections 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Made good changes once covid began to help everyone feel safe. Safety has been a priority for them and I like how they handled everything so far. They also rewarded everyone at Christmas so you know your appreciated.

    Cons

    Office could be updated more modern

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work, poor work life balance

    Feb 2, 2021 - Senior Analyst in Sioux City, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Privately own, owner cares about employees. Lots of work to accomplish

    Cons

    A lot of of work for skeleton crew. Poor work life balance. Same excuse every year for the same yearly raise percentage.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    High stress, dirty workplace, decent pay.

    Jan 24, 2021 - Collections Representative in Sioux Falls, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pay is decent, they play games to get you off the phones and you can win money pretty often -Bonus can be good if you meet requirements which are kind of strict -Management is pretty cool for the most part

    Cons

    -Coworkers clipping their nails, sneezing, coughing in close quarters. Nail clipping is a major issue that management failed to address the entire time I worked there. -Job is very repititive and mind numbing. Leaving messages all day and stuck on the dialer for most of the day. -Absolutely no room for growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Employment Review

    Oct 26, 2020 - Customer Service Specialist in North Sioux City, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since I started my career at 1st Financial Bank USA in 1997, there have been many life-changing events, from a birth to a passing, from school shootings to 9-11, from natural disasters like flooding to man-made disasters like recession. In that time of conflict and uncertainty, I have always felt secure, respected and supported by my employer. I have profound respect and admiration for 1FBUSA for allowing me to raise my family with that support.

    Cons

    I have nothing to share at this time.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    1st financial bank is a good to place to work..very work friendly with co workers and manangement

    Oct 21, 2020 - Collections Specialist in Sioux Falls, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the reason I work I here I liked the causal atmosphere and good benefits with the company

    Cons

    I really have no con's to provide at this time

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Leaders With Integrity

    Oct 16, 2020 - Employee in Dakota Dunes, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership believes in supporting the individual and their growth/development; competitive compensation; great benefits; unique employee engagement strategies.

    Cons

    No formal strategies around mentoring, coaching, DEI or personal development.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Caring Employer

    Oct 12, 2020 - Security Services Specialist in Dakota Dunes, SD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Safe and clean environment. Casual Dress. Good Insurance, HSA and Vacation Benefits. Close to work. Affordable housing. Matching 401k. Spiffs for attendance. Monthly lunch for employees. People that really do care about employees and customers.

    Cons

    Very busy environment. Could always use more staff.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to learn -- do a lot with very little

    Jun 22, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn , learn new things forced to pick up pace and do what it takes to get the job done. Flexibility , pretty flat management. No lay off during recessionary times. -- Stable place to work.

    Cons

    Some people take advantage of the flexible hours, and ability to work from home, to the point where its being abused. management turns a blind eye to it. seen a person showing up only 60% of the time. Pay increase only keeps up with the inflation at lower levels. No bonuses or incentives. no formal training , expected to learn on our own.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Risk Chargeback Advisor

    Nov 1, 2016 - Risk Chargeback Advisor in Wilmington, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First USA has been brought out by MBNA

    Cons

    The biggest downside is they merged

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 English Reviews

Work at 1st Financial Bank USA? Share Your Experiences

1st Financial Bank USA logo
or