1st Light Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

1st Light Energy Reviews

Updated Jan 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Justin Krum
20 Ratings
  1. "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

    Pros

    The work environment was very relaxed and chill, as long as you did your work and showed up on time everything was fine. Good pay and benefits. Managers, executives, HR are all very friendly

    Cons

    Not too much oversight, potentially too much carelessness by executives.

    Advice to Management

    Pull the reigns in a bit.

    1st Light Energy2018-05-22
  2. "Not a reputable solar company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to working for this company. In terms of solar careers this is rock bottom. Good to get your solar career started, jump ship asap

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your people

    1st Light Energy2019-01-04
  3. "Worst job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay ( sometimes) But rarely

    Cons

    If your not in with the click or group of favorites your done for won’t last long before they find a reason to let you go. I have been in this industry for 5+ years and have never been called a complainer, nagger, or lazy I traveled with this company for weeks I worked hard every day and unfortunately I wasn’t cool enough for the crews or managers so I was let go ( no work) was the reason but it was obviously not this....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up !!!

    1st Light Energy2018-12-20
  4. "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

    Pros

    I cannot think of any.

    Cons

    Horrible pay, poor training, very disorganized, horrible leadership, poor products.

    1st Light Energy2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "How it was to work at 1stlight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and relaxed office atmosphere.

    Cons

    They just use you till they feel it’s time to let you go after traveling literally thousands of miles for them. Not a friendly culture.

    Advice to Management

    None because they won’t change.

    1st Light Energy2018-04-09
  6. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy. Make no mistake about it, you are on your own. Now, if you are an experienced salesperson in solar, then this shouldn't be a big deal.

    Cons

    You will get paid on time for your first couple of deals. This is your honeymoon. The goal of the company is to get you to put up as many sales as they can get out of you, then wait for as long as possible for you to quit. You will likely have to wait 6 to 9 months for your best deals to come in, and the company will use all kinds of excuses, legit and manufactured, to delay the installation. In NYC, it takes about 2...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave NYC alone because your clients and your competition think you are stain on the industry. Hire competent people to do installs wherever you go, and change your name because your reputation precedes you. Compensate your salespeople ON TIME!!!

    1st Light Energy2018-04-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place of Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive, overall work is for a positive goal

    Cons

    Ideas are encouraged but never turned into action.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with employees of all stature.

    1st Light Energy2018-01-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manteca, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay Everyone is friendly Everyone gossips about each other Good ol boys club atmostphere (if you like that)

    Cons

    -Lack of management; -Constant lying to clients/customers/employees -Upper Management is self-serving - existis only to protect its employment status and does not progress the company -Lack of training for most positions leads to isolationism and lack of team dynamics between departments and even members within a department

    Advice to Management

    Management is not manipulating your customers and lying to them, stripping life savings from 93 year old widows, nor is it witholding paychecks because the company would rather spend profits on the owner's personal goods; Management is an actual business process and set of protocols that must be followed

    1st Light Energy2017-09-20
  9. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solar Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1st Light Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leaders, potential to move up to management, great pay, great incentives like golfing/cruises/vegas I have been working at 1st Light Energy for over a year now and every time a sales rep comes and leaves with a sour taste in their mouth, it's their own doing. Many of these reviews here will blame management for not putting enough time into training people how to close, but we tell all the new reps the same thing:...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about, as long as you have a good work ethic, you will succeed at 1st Light Energy.

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay on company leads would be appreciated. Sometimes a lead is an hour drive away and usually ends up being a small system, so the pay is not worth all of the effort that is required by the sales rep for a deal to be closed and installed.

    1st Light Energy2017-08-09
  10. "1st Light Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at 1st Light Energy full-time

      Pros

      Unlimited earning potential if you are willing to knock on doors and market yourself aggressively.

      Cons

      No base salary or health benefits for salespeople.

      Advice to Management

      Consider base salary and benefits for salespeople.

      1st Light Energy2017-07-25
    Found 31 reviews