1stdibs.com Reviews | Glassdoor

1stdibs.com Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
1stdibs.com CEO David Rosenblatt
David Rosenblatt
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "1stdibs operates in a luxury niche and is rapidly expanding(in 24 reviews)

  • "Beautiful office, strong community (lots of affinity groups), challenging work, great leadership(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you work at 1stdibs try to be an engineer(in 14 reviews)

  • "Having access to work at any time can mean your work-life balance is affected(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge Support Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1stdibs.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing company, great people, lots of perks.

    Cons

    None this is a great company to work for.

    1stdibs.com2019-08-19
  2. "Run for the hills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 1stdibs.com full-time

    Pros

    - Office is in a great location - Always free food around, free weekly catered lunch - Friendly colleagues - Free alcohol/bar area to unwind - Beautiful office

    Cons

    To those of you considering whether or not to apply to an open position at or accept a job offer from 1stdibs, I would strongly urge you to consider/ask about the following: Consider the inflated rating 1stdibs has on this site. This is largely due to the number of 5-star reviews given by employees that have been at the company for less than a year. The reason for so many of these reviews? HR makes leaving a Glassdoor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and ears to what your employees are saying. Most everyone who still works there is dead inside and would happily jump ship if a suitable opportunity came along. Like others have said in their reviews, the only people who are happy are engineers.

    1stdibs.com2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Team to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Java Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 1stdibs.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The BE team is run by dedicated, intelligent, and talented developers. If you leave 1stdibs, you'll almost certainly be a better developer than when you started. The senior developer core has worked together for quite some time, which can be hard to find in the field. FE is well-run and does a good job integrating with BE. DB and Sysops teams know their domains really well and are quick to support teams whenever...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lapses in cross-team communication can result in duplicated work sometimes. 1stdibs is very generous about allowing a developer who moves away to continue to work for them, but it feels like they're just running out the clock until the developer finds a new job. This is only a "Con" if you don't intend to live in the area long-term.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to incentivize employees to stick around, especially outside of the Engineering team. Try not to lose the "soul" of the company as it continues to grow larger and larger.

    1stdibs.com2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1stdibs.com full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture with plenty of supportive employees

    Cons

    No cons so far! Definitely would recommend working here

    1stdibs.com2019-06-28
  5. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1stdibs.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Building, location, snacks, friendly people, health benefits, opportunity for growth, tech jobs, marketing jobs, young people, parties

    Cons

    Hourly, work on holidays, work hours are different from most people, not great work life balance, must talk on phone with clients, must work at company for a year before internal job move

    Advice to Management

    Better work life balance, better hours, no work on holidays, help people make internal job moves instead of hiring outsiders, give everyone salaries

    1stdibs.com2019-07-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "fast paced, exciting and growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1stdibs.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THE PEOPLE - I really like everyone I work with and its clear everyone wants to help and support each other. Opportunity - I have grown in my role and been able to make an impact from starting in a more junior role.

    Cons

    I have seen other reviews about management and change in direction - I haven't seen any bad management. There is a lot of ambiguity and pace here as we are trying new things and growing quickly. This is pretty normal in growing companies, this is something I have been used to and I think the business is handling it really well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Share more around the strategic initiatives so that everyone has more insight into what is happening

    1stdibs.com2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Apply only if you like alcohol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 1stdibs.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food at the office

    Cons

    Alcohol culture Meetings hell Always doing artificial stuff to impress stakeholders Impossible to do an impact, seniors afraid of changes

    1stdibs.com2019-07-06
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Startup without any of the benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at 1stdibs.com full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, catered lunch 1x week

    Cons

    Extremely poorly run management, minimal growth, no raises

    1stdibs.com2019-04-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "great colleagues, poorly run management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 1stdibs.com full-time

    Pros

    fun office, travel, great industry, fun people

    Cons

    bad managers, lots of changes in direction without strategy or long term thought

    1stdibs.com2019-02-27
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Beware the Trade Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 1stdibs.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Amazing office in a great location Bar in office and weekly catered lunches

    Cons

    The Trade department is so poorly managed. Management has instilled a culture of fear among all its employees. Since the company values "saying it with data" the upmost attention to the sales reps who have impossible quotas to fulfill and therefore do not care about protocol or the other departments they work with to get their sales done. They think about a big idea and do not even test it or think about the consequences...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making huge changes just because you think it'll make you more money. Without a well thought out plan and time to transition clients from one new idea to another, everyone is miserable.

    1stdibs.com2019-02-12
Found 137 reviews